I'm Making Rhubarb Gin! ๐Ÿธ๐Ÿ˜€

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago

What more can I say I love my garden, greenhouse and the great things it grows for me, one other thing that I love is sitting there as the sun goes down with a cold crisp drink, To be honest most of the time itโ€™s a soft drink or a coffee but if Iโ€™ve work extra hard I can claim a treat.

Flavoured ginโ€™s


Iโ€™ve made a few of these over the years and I have always found them great with my favourites been homemade damson and sloe gins, this year Iโ€™m thinkgin of branching out and trying some new types.


lets make some gin!

Storm damage


Iโ€™ve been away a few days and came back to very sorry looking rhubarb plant either the winds have been to strong or someone has taken a dive in it as its looking rather limp and has a fair few stems broken. Rather than let them go to waste and to have a change from the usual rhubarb and crumble Iโ€™m going to give this a whirl, hopefully it wonโ€™t result in the wasting of a bottle of gin


Stems broken due to wind

This was super simple to get to this point and it involved the following

  • Lots of rhubarb
  • A glass jar
  • Some sugar
  • And a bottle of gin

The first thing I did was to wash and cut out any damaged or bad bits of the rhubarb

Once this was done it was cut into smaller chunks that were then put into the jars that had been cleaned.

Once I had managed to get enough rhubarb into the jars I then added roughly 50-100g of sugar to each and then gave them a good shake, the recipe online I saw called for 500g of sugar for one of those jars, the thought of that amount of sugar just make me feel sick. depending on the taste I may have to add more down the line, but we will see.


Adding in the sugar to jars


So the last bit to do is to give it a good shake to get the sugar around as this will help to draw out the amazing flavours of the rhubarb, leave it for 24 hours to let the to top it up with gin. The hard part is it needs to be left to infuse for the next 5 weeks then it will be decanted into bottles and drank at every appropriate opportunity haha ๐Ÿ˜€


Waiting for the gin to be added


As always thanks so much for stopping by and if you liked what you saw think about giving this an upvote, resteem and even maybe think about hitting that follow button ๐Ÿ‘Œ

All the best

Dan

Sort: ย 

That's actually pretty awesome.

I'd probably recommend following the directions though if there isn't enough sugar it may not fuse well as Alcohol is pretty much just sugar itself.

Worth the upvote and I'll give this a try myself.

Thank you

Thanks@melbournewest I'll have a read up on what you mentioned. One thing i saw in the comment for the recipe was people recomending less sugar as it was to sweet. Last thing i want to do is waste good fruit and alchohol ๐Ÿ‘

Omg. I've made sloe gin and rhubarb champagne.. but this!!! Yuuuummmmm......

@riverflows great shout on the rhubarb champagne, I'm sure ive got a few bottles gathering dust that would love a rhubarb twist. Thanks for commenting ๐Ÿ‘

WHAT a great idea! I just started making my own wine this past year and have done three batches to date.
We live in an area where apples are EVERYwhere so this fall I am going to try my hand at hard apple cider.

Never thought about using rhubarb... how unique!! Where I used to live we had so much rhubarb and I was always giving it away to other people. Wish I had known about this gin then.

@goldendawne that sounds great ive got 3 apple trees in the garden but have yet to get any real returns this should be thier 4th year so hopefully this year will be better. Thanks for commenting ๐Ÿ˜Š

would be great to taste, looks awesome ๐Ÿ‘…

Thanks you @renesmee i cant wait to taste it either ๐Ÿ˜€

hope you enjoyed it! ๐Ÿธ

Yummmm yummmm rhubab gin! Very unique

I know, id never thought of it but stumbled on it while looking for some recipes to use with my surplus. Also going to try rhubarb champagne like @riverflows mentioned ๐Ÿ˜

โ €

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-05T07:33:54
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 37.55/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You got a 2.71% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @digitaldan!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You got a 1.28% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @digitaldan!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Congratulations @digitaldan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59