Beetroot soup with chili

in #food6 years ago

DSC_01.jpg

Delicious soup. Beetroot is one of the «superfoods». Eating beetroot, whether it is in a soup or baked in the owen, we fill our bodies with powerful antioxidants, in adition to several different vitamins (folate, B, C, E) and plenty of minerals such as calcium, iron, potassium, magnesium, copper, phosphorus and zinc. We should definitive eat more of this root :)


Ingredients:

- 3 tablespoons olive oil
- 2 cloves of garlic, cut into small pieces
- 1 big onion, cut into small pieces
- 6 beetroot, peeled and cut into small pieces
- 1 carrot, cleaned and cut into small pieces
- 2-3 small potatoes, cleaned and cut into small pieces
- 15 dl vegetable or chicken broth
- 1 bay leaf
- 2 tablespoon lime juice
- 1 dried red chili
- salt and pepper

Instructions:

- fry onions in oil a minute or two,
- add all the vegetables, broth, chili and the bay leaf
- cook until everything is soft
- use a food processor until the soup is smooth
- taste it with lime juice, chilipowder, salt and pepper

Serve with plain youghurt and bread.


Enjoy :)


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next recipe. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Other recipes, check out :

BEANS & TOMATO STEW - can be served with allmost anything
ICECREAM - with raspberry on a bottom of chocolate and liquorice
PURPLE SALAD – with lentils and feta cheese
HEALTHY JAM – without sugar
CARROT & CHICKPEA SOUP – a hot winter soup to warm the body
SUPER QUINOA BURGERS – a meat free dinner
«POWERSALAD» - that keeps you full for hours.... 


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen    

Sort:  

the soup seems very delicious . i will bake it with your recipe

:) It is first the last few years I have started to use the beet root. I do not know why, but is actually easy to cook, healthy and tasty as well. I have to use my imagination a bit more I think :)

I ate this a few times, when I was in Lithuania. It's very addictive. And for 0.20€ only? Bring me more, please! 😂

that is definitive cheeper than the one I can make....

Beets are one of my favorite root vegetables. This soup looks so vibrant and the simplicity of this soup highlights the earthiness of the beets. Yummy!

Agree. It has become one of my favorites as well, but it took some time for me to really start using it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26