I Finally Baked Some Bread!!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

First off, I have to give a huge shout out and thanks to @tanglebranch!! She bakes some awesome looking white bread and posted her technique for me and all her fans!! According to @edthecanadian, it’s pretty dang good too!! This is the technique here if you haven’t seen it. It’s past payout so please show her some love on a more recent post! That’s why I say that I finally baked some bread! Sorry it took me so long but between some health and financial issues it couldn’t be helped. I got the ingredients fast enough but it took me awhile to buy some new baking dishes. I can’t use non-stick pans with teflon so I decided to go with ceramic. One really good thing was that I bought them using reward points that I had saved up from Walmart so I didn’t pay anything out of pocket…yay!!
I haven’t baked bread in over twenty years and I’ve never baked white bread. I used to make wheat bread and braided breads. I did it for awhile and then I was going through a breakup so everything got packed away or given away. Fast forward to 2018 and that bread by @tanglebranch looked so good that I wanted to bake bread again and white bread as well. I got the ingredients and, finally, the pans and I had a recipe or two to try.
My first attempt didn’t go so well but it had nothing to do with the technique. I think it was mostly operator error and elemental error. I didn’t get enough rise in the bread and it came out a little dense..kind of like me..lol! Actually, it was a lot dense. I think part of the problem may have been that our house is a little cold and I added the salt without a buffer. It looked great and tasted fine but it was pretty heavy. I may have also added too much flour after the first rise when I was forming the loaves so, again, it could be and probably was operator error. I did use a thermometer to make sure the water temperature was in a good range for the yeast to work so I think that part was fine and it was freshly bought yeast. I read up more on possible things to try differently and I decided to try another loaf using a different recipe. By the time I made the third loaf, there was only one loaf left out of the two I made previously. I was careful not to use too much flour when forming the loaf and let it rise both times in the open oven with only the pilot light on for some warmth. The first two I turned the oven on low for a few minutes then turned it off and left it closed with the two loaves inside for the second rise which may have also kept them from rising properly. The third loaf rose a lot more than the first two and I liked the flavor better overall so I think I will stick with that recipe when I bake it again. I think with a couple more little tweaks here and there that the next batch will turn out to be even better!! Below are some photos of the third loaf and the first two that I baked and a comparison photo as well!

Third loaf cut
bread1.jpg
Third loaf whole
bread2.jpg
First loaf cut
bread4.jpg
First two loaves whole
bread5.jpg
Comparing the difference in rise
bread3.jpg
I like bread toasted with butter and a dash of salt & pepper
bread9toast.jpg
My two new ceramic baking pans
bread6pans.jpg
YUM!!
bread1.jpg

steemusadeerjay.png

thealliancelogofromalliance.png

Sort:  

Congratz, your post has been featured in The Daily Spotlights of 26 February 2018!

Awesome!! Thanks @pixresteemer!!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 23 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks so much @pixresteemer!! ❤

You just planted 0.39 tree(s)!


Thanks to @edthecanadian

We have planted already 5966.04 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20681.67
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 6.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.22
Server time: 01:11:43
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 347.87/400.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 136
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has received a 2.75 % upvote from @boomerang.

I can smell the bread fragrance and now Im hungry ! ^_^

Thank you @barbara-orenya...that wonderful aroma in the house was a bonus on top of yummy bread!!

That looks gooooood stuff! I am now going to the kitchen...
Great post.

Thanks so much @article61!! 😊

WOW!! You did such a great job!! Even though the first attempt ended up a little heavy, i always chalk up those "oopsies" as part of the learning curve. And they still taste plenty good haha

Thanks bunches @tanglebranch!! Two loaves down and part of one to go..lol!!

Looks tasty! :)

Thanks @dksart!! It came out pretty good and now I'm looking forward to baking more!! :)

I just had lunch and that is still making me hungry. It's been forever since I've had homemade bread. It looks like you did a fantastic job!!

Thanks so much Deb!! I really enjoyed baking it and now I think I'm gonna try making some banana bread next weekend as well..yum!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45