How I Get Beautiful Bread

in #baking7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, steemfolk! This morning I have a Tanglebranch Special Edition Post coming your way!

Inspired by a little nudging from my good steem-neighbor @deerjay, I'm here to show you how I have learned to get my bread to look nice.
20171119_182309.jpg
What you will NOT find in this post:
-the 'perfect' bread recipe
-the science of how bread works
-how to get your bread from the recipe book to the dough stage
-Herobrine.

If I included all those things, it would be too large of a post! I could maybe come back and revisit some of these topics on a different occassion.

So!

First, you'll need your favourite bread recipe. This is method is for 'conventional' bread, not sourdough types. Prepare it as you normally would, whether by hand or with the assistance of a bread machine.

The secret to nice looking finished loaves, in my experience, is how you fold the loaves!

This dough has been mixed, kneaded, and allowed to rise as per recipe instructions. It is ready for punching down and shaping into loaves. It is a 'double' batch as I intend to make some sausage buns as well.
20171119_164235.jpg

I punch it down and divide the dough into three equal blobs, enough for three texas-toast pans. This same amount I would break into five pieces if I was making regular size loaves! Some bakers use a scale to get perfect portions, and if you're a stickler for size, that will help you acheive it. I tend to just eyeball things, and it usually works out 'close enough.'
20171119_164821.jpg

Now for the shaping. You can have a great bread recipe, but if you just blob your dough into a pan, you don't get as nice of results as a thorough folding will get you. Apologies for the slight blurriness of the following photos, my husband was being my photographer and I was moving fast. He did his best!

Flatten your dough into a rectangle. Use fingertips or a rolling pin. Crush out all the bubbles you can. Use a light dusting of flour to keep it from sticking to counter, or a light smear of butter or other grease. Not too much though!
20171120_092840.jpg
Fold one third back to the middle and firmly press it down to eliminate bubbles.

20171120_092905.jpg

Do the same with the other third:
20171120_092926.jpg

This is why it is important not to have too much flour or grease on your counter, or else the dough won't stick to itself very well where it overlaps. If it isn't sticking well, you can brush a bit of water or milk where the layers overlap to encourage the sticking. Press firmly to get bubbles out and layers stuck.
20171120_092945.jpg

Now the stretch. Pick up each end of this rectangle and slowly pull.
20171120_093019.jpg

If it is being stubborn, you can do a bit of 'skipping rope' movements with it to encourage the stretch!
20171120_093039.jpg

Return the stretched dough to the counter, then fold both ends to meet in the middle.
20171120_093059.jpg

Press and seal as before.
20171120_093121.jpg

Then, fold in half, again squashing firmly to seal.
20171120_093220.jpg

Don't forget to close the ends of the fold!
20171120_093244.jpg

Then, I give mine a good roll, to lengthen the loaf a little. If your loaf is already nearly as long as your bread pan, you can skip this step.
20171120_093316.jpg

Place into your greased or parchment-lined bread pan with the final seam on the bottom. Leave it to rise in a warm place! Here's mine after about an hour's rising:
20171119_175506.jpg

The same principles are applied to making sausage buns,just on a smaller scale:
20171119_170834.jpg

Here they are ready for the oven:20171119_174334.jpg

Once your bread has risen to the size you like it's time to bake, of course. I put mine in when they're just a bit smaller than I want for final size. They always fluff a bit in the heat of the oven! 20171119_182100.jpg

Get them out of the pan, gently, as soon as you can after baking. This keeps the crust from getting soggy.
20171119_182309.jpg

All those layers we folded give a nice even rise with a lovely domed top.20171119_182324.jpg

And that's it! I really think its less about what specific recipe you use and more about how you prep the dough for rising. So if you have a tasty bread recipe that just tends to look mediocre, give this method a try. It might be all you need!

Sort:  

If anyone out there is wondering I have had the bread from @tanglebranch and it is probally the best I have ever had.🍞🍞🍞

Haha thanks for the back up, Ed

Wow I want it too! I wish I was one of your neighbors 🥖 🍞 🥖 🍞

The end result looks so good thanks for the tips
One day I want to try making bread

Its not as hard as you might think! At worst, you have a new canoe for Bahbahra

Mmmmmmm I want to try it!

I want to come to your house and eat your bread.

As long as you bring bacon with you. Otherwise all bets are off

You Are Awesome!! ~ Great description and photos! I have a recipe and this looks like a much better technique so I shall give it a go and geez...the rolls look as great as the bread! Thanks so much tanglebranch! I haven't baked bread in a long time but you have inspired me!

Good luck! Make sure you tell me about your success!

Definitely!!

These are good tips for making the loaves look nice. My bread always tastes good but the loaves sometimes look a bit misshapen. I will try this method next time.

Good luck to you! My loaves were often lopsided or shaggy before i started prepping the dough this way, so I hope it can help you too!

I've made some yeast wheat bread this weekend, but I think I still prefer the sourdough and a but of rye. Your loaves look very pretty!

Thanks! I've tried to do a sourdough, but i just cant get a good starter going. I keep trying and waiting and hoping, and nothing happens. I think i need to get a good organic flour to make the starter with rather than just using my regular all purpose stuff. Someday I'd like to make the switch to sourdough but until then i have to stick with my yeast bread!

Buy a wholemeal rye flour, start a starter. If you want a clean one, tak a bit of the rye one and feed it with all purpose.

Thanks! I can almost smell it baking. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44