Improving for Steemit: Food photography workshop. (Photo album)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemers!

For the first time I took a long time to write a new post. And it's not that I did not feel inspired, indeed after having understood the intellectual and economic benefits of Steemit, I could take some time to invest it in myself and in my new family.

I have done and been able to obtain so many things that I feel good about myself and I want others to feel the same, not only having money income in Steemit to pay bills, but also understanding that it's about improving as human been and as a community. Money is the main reason, but there is also something extra that is gained while enjoying and doing things well.

One of the things I did for myself this week is to advance professionally as a chef taking a basic photography workshop and I look forward to sharing what I have learned in all these years of my career, with a nice presentation.





The food photography workshop was directed by the Dutch Chef Robert Barry, together with the Venezuelan Chef Mariela Contreras. Basically, some of the fundamental concepts of photography were discussed: taking the camera correctly, focusing, depth, hyperfocal distance, backlighting, ISO, adjusting targets, stabilizers and another 6 concepts.

After the theoretical talk, the activity continued with the sample of how to put together a professional studio and how to create a homemade photography studio. And finally some photography practices using cell phones, domestic cameras and professional cameras. In the previous photo the example of the homemade photography studio is shown and how some of my mates took their photos with their devices.


The perfect opportunity to learn the most relevant in food photography.
An excellent investment for those who love the art of culinary photography and wish to improve the presentation and photographs of their dishes or products. Achieve a beautiful image using the tools we have on hand every day, from the cell phone through a tablet to a digital camera.
Sketch001.jpg

Robert Barry.

We took several pictures of some dishes that were prepared in the workshop, using haute cuisine techniques. The presentations and portions were designed for a 5-course tasting menu. Not all my photos were successful, but I'll show you some that I liked, despite the bad shots. I used my first digital camera that I bought with my first SBD a month ago: Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-W620, 14.1MP, Optical Zoom 5x, ISO Automatic, f 3.2-6.5.

You can click on the images to enlarge it.

Sea bass ceviche with compressed watermelon marinated in anise, honey and orange gel.

Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur


Sea bass tiradito, mandarin, vegetables, pink pepper.

Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur

Imgur



Confit tahalí with creamy celery, sweet chili powder and sea salt.

Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur


Micro beef tartare with mayonaisse foam.

Imgur
Imgur

Imgur



Salad of cherry tomatoes, dried olives and goat cheese.

Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur


That day was fantastic! I met very nice and kind people, many of them with very cool projects. The irony is, we are all chefs or gastronomy enthusiasts and we ended up having pizza in lunch in a popular franchise, hahaha. I'm not a photographer and I don't know anything about photography, but in this workshop it was incredible to enter this world and achieve what I've always wanted, show my talent in the kitchen.

I invite you to follow the Instagram accounts of Chef Robert Barry and Chef Mariela Contreras. All the photos are uploaded in my account Imgur, also invite you to follow my Instagram account or contact me at Discord.

Imgur

Thanks for reading and leave your comments!

Join to the Discord servers of the supporting communities. Click on the images


ReveurPAL
votovzlaCervantes

VOTU

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Tasty! I want to get in to cooking more. I'm not a chef (although I have worked in kitchens in the past) but I want to get a bit more creative and dedicate a bit more time to it. I tend to go for convenience, it would be good to improve a bit in that area… perhaps I need to go to a workshop myself ;). Good job!

Hey @dcardozo25, great looking food, but I'm not too sure about the snails on the rock :). I usually end the day with a pizza as well ;). I know it's said in these parts, "Come for the money and stay for the people", my version is "Come for the cryptos and stay for the serendipity". Thank you my friend.

It's not snail, lol. Is a little fish with a swordfish's form, it looks like a belt. And that quote is pretty nice! :D

Ooh good job! I love that you took a workshop to do this. I should do that cause these look pretty darn good especially with the different angles. Good job.

Yes! I loved! Above all for trying to reach my goals to get out of my comfort zone, this workshop has helped me to advance enough on it. <3

Comida! I love comida, my favorite being *arroz con habichuala y chuletas. Not to big on the fancy food, but it is okay I guess.

It's really okay, sargento. We love to eat chuletas ahumadas, arroz y coleslaw a lot in Venezuela! Maybe I can cook the fancy way of those dishes. lol

excelente amigo! un abrazo

Congratulations @dcardozo25! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This was a really enjoyable article, @dcardozo25, and I learned a few tips, too! But now I'm starving to eat some of that amazing looking food. I can't believe you guys went and had pizza. Didn't anyone eat any of the photography models? I'm crying just thinking about all of that yummy food going uneaten.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 01 FEB 2018.

Cheers!

This workshop was amazing, the tips were so usefull than I never imagine we can do those amazing photos with only papers, box, good lighting and a cellphone!

Those dishes was so smallers, we were never gonna be full with that ammount, lol. But still some of us tasted those dishes because it will be so mean to drop those beautiful foods into trash.

Thanks for reading and consider my post to the curation trail. I'm a huge supporter of your project!

I really appreciate your support of my curation trail project, @dcardozo25! Those pictures really looked great for just those simple things you used for taking them. I love getting the chance to participate in a workshop like that. Keep on cooking, and don't forget to take some pictures to build your portfolio, and write more articles with.
Cheers!
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.94
ETH 2763.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70