FYSER - Episode 01: Puritan Irish Stew

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Puritan1.jpg

I think that most anyone can relate to say that sometimes you see things in stores that make you say "what? why?!?"
That's what this is all about. Companies stalk these items, and for some reason or another, SOMEONE is buying them. That's what FYSER is about. I can't use my words any longer, lets get this started!


Episode 01: Puritan Irish Stew

Good Evening, morning, or afternoon Steemit crew.


I've been ultra excited to start this program, and have never done anything like before so bear with me, I'll get better.

I read a post by the Pope: @jacobtothe the other day reviewing a cider he had tried. We mentioned some of the labels, or things on labels are sometimes ridiculous, and sometimes make you scratch your head. For example - gluten free cider, or "healthy snack" tiny portion chocolate bars, or:Puritan3.jpg

"Oh goooood! They're FAT FREE so I can eat a ton of them!!"

Today's product isn't the least bit guilty of this as you can see in the first photo. Which was also garnished with some homegrown parsley, which on a side note: explained to me why people like parsley. (the homegrown part)

Two directions on the can for eating it up. Stovetop or microwave. In the event of a need to survive, and THAT'S why you're eating this: stovetop or fire is going to warm this.... I was going to write that I bet you could eat this cold so this is what that looks like:


Puritan7.jpg

As I write this, I realize why this needs to be video rather than text.
I've finished eating my part of the Irish Stew.

Puritan8.jpg

The moment I opened the can, it smelled of canned dog food. I'm not partial in these reviews - wife said the exact same thing.

Here's proof that I ate it:
Puritan9.jpg

Puritan11.jpg

I ate a small bit more than half of the can. The serving size suggested half the can, so I set that as my minimum. Here's that nutritional info for you if you're looking at it from a calories taken in standpoint. 200 cals for 205g of Irish Stew has some value to it in a survival scenario? Or that it has a two year shelf life?

Puritan4.jpg

No apologizing for the sodium, the container doesn't claim to have forty percent less than previous recipes. Likely why it's got the shelf life that it has.

Here's the ingredients. The one that got me and made it really tough to stomach was the "FORMED MEAT" ingredient:
Puritan5.jpg

Oh, and this Irish Stew is Made in CANADA eh!
Puritan6.jpg
"take that President Trump!"



Here's my thoughts. I paid one Canadian dollar for this can of Puritan Irish Stew. I'm not exactly "satisfied" but the thought of eating much of anything else is obscene. The food was not good. The texture was funky, the smell was worse. I'll go back to what I mentioned earlier. No false advertising here.

I like the approach that they took with the advertising on the label. It could have been part of a complete breakfast. Or: "school safe" because there's no chance of peanuts in it. They didn't even go so far as to dress up the container to try and put a silk hat on a pig. I don't suspect they didn't put a lot of consideration into the idea that Puritan isn't so different from Purina. In fact, I suspect when they realized their labels were so alike the guy was just like "ah, we've come this far"...

Puritan2.jpg

I'm still ultra confused about who is buying this on a regular basis? I feel disgusting after eating it. If anyone was more confused than me, it was Rex. He sure was willing to help me with that yummy smelling hound chow.

Puritan13.jpg

That's my first review! If there's something else you'd like for me to cover in these reviews, just say so and I'll take it into consideration! As always I long for your interaction. Tell me the post was crap, tell me it changed your life... Just tell me you're more real than that "formed meat" and I'll be thrilled.

If you've got a brand or product that you'd like to see a FYSER on, just say so in the comments!

Thanks for the read.

Yours,
brockolopolis

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

No apologizing for the sodium, the container doesn't claim to have fourty percent less than previous recipes.
It should be forty instead of fourty.

All I had to do was miss spell something to get your upvote, score thanks grammarnazi! Edited. They're, all done.

lol NICE!

Ew.

Yo, watch out for monosodium glutamate. shit is suuuuper bad for living things that prefer to stay alive for a while.

I actually feel like death from eating it. I dunno about all the hype around MSG.. is it really so bad? I'm more anxious to condemn someone using aspertame (sp?)

Both are super yuck. Aspertame is like a chemical lobotomy. Msg is the literal recipe for fattening rats in a lab. Don't feed the rats more calories. Don't take away a rat's exercise wheel. Feed the damn thing msg.

I've heard tons of people talk about how msg is a natural occurring substance that comes from cooking vegetables? Is this wrong? I mean the same can be said about many things out there that are no good, like BTK insecticide. It's naturally occurring.. not to say it's naturally produced.

I've not heard that, so I can't speak to it. Just because it's naturally occurring, doesn't meant I want a big ol concentration of it though.

Idk, maybe I'm being overly cautious, but I feel a whole lot better physically since specifically switching away from msg and toward more natural whole foods. I'm not super religious on the whole foods, but I'm religious about the msg. @burntoblog turned me on to the movie Hungry for Change on Netflix. That's what set me against msg. It's the one thing that stuck, though there's a lot more info in the movie.

Oooh like margarine!

Congratulations @brockolopolis! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hahaha, I ate a huge can of that on Canada Day. We were camping and my wife tried a bit, but I polished off the 700ml can over a 24 hour period. I won't need to do that very often.

I'm going to nominate you for @comedyopenmic round 22.

Congratulations @brockolopolis! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Play-off for third result


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05