Square Mile Cider Co. Rosé Apple Cider: An Amateurish Cider Review

in #cider6 years ago

No beer tonight, just a 12 oz. bottle of "dry apple cider with rose hips and hibiscus flowers made in the city of roses." This cider hails from Portland, Oregon and is 6.2% ABV. I don't know why they also had to add "gluten free" to the label though. Apples don't have gluten. Not even the hybrids.

Snark aside, I rather like this stuff. It doesn't have the cloying sweetness of many commercial ciders, but it's not too dry. The rose hips add an interesting astringent note, and the floral hibiscus enhances the flavor. It's not overbearing though, and in fact the overall profile is fairly mild. It's inoffensive, crisp, and refreshing. If you can find it, give it a try.

cider bottle
Image credit: Square Mile Cider Company

Sort:  

Wife enjoys ciders, the water that they use in sweden is like perfect water. Ultra clean. So the swedish ciders are her favorite for the most part. I suspect that she might like this one though because of the hibiscus. Now to see if it's available in our province. Also, we just had our baby girl yesterday- so will be some time before she'll be having any ciders.

I too enjoy when they put labels on foods and products... "this lip balm is vegan friendly"
That ones my favorite, because it begs the question..

"The other lip balms are made from bear grease and baby harp seal tears!"

Congratulations for your new daughter!

Hahaha!
Thanks a bunch!

Based on your review I think I will try this! Yum! Where did you find it? I may be making a Costco run here this weekend, so I'll be in CdA.

I don't shop at Costco, so I don't know whether they carry it, but I got it at a grocery store. Super 1, I think.

Dude, just stop. Please. Spam does not help your cause.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39