Healthy Eats | Chocolate Caramel Coconut Shortbread Wheels

in #food5 years ago

DSC_0051 (2).jpg

Anyone in the mood for Cookies?


Good day my foodie friends! Finally made the trip to Colorado…geesh it’s really cold here! And snow! Well lots! It’s okay, it’s well worth the trip to spend time with kids.


Before I left I told you I was making cookies! And I also mentioned my love for Girl Scout cookies. Well today I wanted to share another favorite. My recipe is definitely not the same recipe used by the mother master chef of Girl Scout cookies. This recipe is gluten and dairy free, with no processed sugars.


With that being said…I think you'll like them!


todaysjourney.jpg


Chocolate Caramel Coconut Shortbread Wheels


Shortbread

  • Gluten Free Flour (2 cups)
  • Baking Soda (1 tsp)
  • Sea Salt (1/2 tsp)
  • Non-dairy butter (6 tbsp.)
  • Maple Syrup (3/4 cup)
  • Vanilla (1 ½ tsp)

Caramel

  • Coconut Oil (melted) (1/4 cup)

  • Maple Syrup (1/4 cup)

  • Almond Butter (3 tbsp.)

  • Unsweetened Dried Coconut (1 ½ cup)

  • Dairy Free/Sugar Free Dark Chocolate Chips (1/2 cup)


The Shortbread of it!

Blend the Maple Syrup, Vanilla and butter in your mixer until blended, and then add dry ingredients. When well combined roll into a ball and place between parchment paper. Flatten and refrigerate for at least an hour. This will be pretty sticky, that’s quite okay! When you’re ready to make these little treasures take the dough from the freezer and roll the dough to about ¼” thickness. (Keep the dough in the parchment when you’re doing this. Your life will be so much easier, trust me!) Then using a 2” glass or cookie cutter cut shortbread rounds and place on a parchment lined baking sheet. Use your thumb to press a hole in the center to make your shortbread wheel. Bake these at 350 degrees for 14 minutes. Don’t overbake! Allow them to cool for about 20 minutes.


DSC_0056 (2).jpg


The Caramel!


This is so easy you’ll love it! Place all of the ingredients in your favorite blender. Blend until everything is smooth and well combined. It is so tasty! (Try not to grab a spoon and eat all of it!) I use this caramel in so many recipes. It is so versatile!


DSC_0059 (2).jpg


Layer a thin layer of caramel all over the top of each cookie. Mix the coconut with the remaining caramel and press the caramel/coconut mixture on each cookie. Place the cookies in the freezer for 20 minutes.


DSC_0068 (2).jpg

And finally…Chocolate!


Melt the chocolate in a double boiler or microwave. Be careful you don’t want to burn the chocolate!
Bring the cookies out from the freezer and “paint” the bottom of each cookie with chocolate. Place them back in the freezer for about 15 minutes to allow the chocolate to harden.


DSC_0079 (2).jpg


Chocolate has hardened! Now let's drizzle, drizzle the remaining chocolate on the tops of the cookies.


DSC_0033 (2).jpg


Cookie Time!


DSC_0042 (2).jpg

Wonderful with Coffee, Tea or Milk!

DSC_0064 (2).jpg


So glad to see you today! Thanks for stopping by the Bird nest. These were welcomed with open arms in Colorado! I hope you’ll try them and let me know what you think!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Oh my a healthy take on one of my favorite cookies! You had me at “Eats” 😂! Your food posts always cause mouth watering and today it caused it a little too much lol! Now I want to go out and get the ingredients for these...they look sooooooo good! Thanks so much for sharing ~

Oh good! I hope you will try them and let me know what you think. We have always had just a weakness for Girl Scout cookies but I just couldn't do the sugar thing...so I played around and made these. We always loved to warm them a bit and dunk them in hot tea or milk....yikes ;) Let me know what you think. Thank you @c rosheille, you're so kind, I truly appreciate it.

Magic gluten free cookies, the Bird family certainly are lucky!

You'll have to try something like this for t he hubby! Perhaps one cookie? Thanks my sweet foodie friend!

Hug the little guy for me. Several times a day. Especially from me. In addition to all the ones you do. What he's going through has got to be confusing and scary. Hugs help. Hugs heal. Honest.

Thank you @enchantedspirit. It's been a bit tough and scary for everyone. Surgery went well, first couple of days were very sad but today seems better. Whew, not fun but I am so blessed to be able to be with them. I really appreciate your kind words. We can't hug him enough, truly a sweet little guy. Thank you my friend

Your cookies look amazing. You did a great job caputuring the process and prsentation in your photos.

Thank you! I bet you and your daughters would have so much fun making them! Although I warn you....they're messy to make! lol But hey, little chocolate-y hands are the best!!!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 373 (01/17/19)

Thanks so much! Truly appreciate all you do! Love the Daily Whistle Stops!

These are just gorgeous. Each one is its own tiny work of art.

But ok ... let's say you don't want to live to be 150 years old and be healthy enough to look down on your neighbors. I assume you can make these same things with "real food" -- you know. With flour like you buy in the store. Not made from wheat you grew and reaped and milled all by yourself (like that little red hen in the story.) And butter that came roundabout from an actual cow ... whether or not you spent four hours yesterday churning it. And real chocolate chips ---> Hersey's dark chocolate minis. Yeah, I could get excited about this. Especially when I look at those babies again and see what a great job you did with them.

Actual cookies. Like grandma used to bake. Or is that too big a leap?

lol, sure you could make these the old fashioned way! I just can't do that with my family....otherwise they spend the day in the bathroom. Love your honesty....and humor. I certainly don't plan to grace this earth at 150 years, woo that would be scary for everyone. Call me crazy! I love it :) If I lived near you, I would win you and cw over in no time! lol

They look like the Samoa cookies! Yummy! You really are sinful, but, I would not be able to resist!

Nice presentation on these! You are a foodies fairy godmother! Thank you!

!ti[

:) I am so glad you liked these cookies. I have to tell you Samoas never stayed around our house very long. My favorite was to warm them in the microwave for a few seconds and them dip them in my morning tea....ahhh so wonderful! So I thought, hey I could make them and make them a bit healthier (I know they're not really Samoas, lol) They work! You so nice to compliment! Thank you @dswigle I truly appreciate it!

OMG, I love your post. I just discovered steemusa today and I am so glad to find people who post healthy foods. These cookies look amazing and I am most sure they taste as good as they look. I have all the ingredients in my pantry right now, I just might make them tomorrow. Thanks for your post.

Thank you! I like to modify recipes so they are healthier for our bodies! We used to eat these as Girl Scout cookies all the time. I hope you'll try them and let me know what you think!

If I saw these when I was out somewhere i would never have guessed they were healthy

Awwww, that is so nice of you to say @tatoodjay. I really enjoyed making them, my daughter says they taste like "the real thing!" That says alot! Have a wonderful, warm day!

Ohh yes that is a big compliment from our daughter :)
I just saw the forecast for the next few days, and if I can stat indoors then I may be able to sty warm but outdoors not a chance

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42