The Legendary Foodie Eats Keto Lasagna

in #food5 years ago

I haven't done a food post in a LONG time. I am just about to remind you why.

This is in direct response to a wonderful post by my friend Lizelle. Where hers is elegant mine is blunt and where hers is beautiful mine is edible. But today is market day and it did get a lot of stuff out of my refer that was ready to go.

Cooked.JPG

I had hamburger on the edge of freshness so I started there. Brown the meat.

Brown the Meat.JPG

Set the meat aside and use the same skillet to saute the veggies. I used bacon grease to saute with rather than butter. I don't suppose it tastes any better, but my kitchen smelled divine.

Bacon Grease.JPG

In this case bell pepper, red onion and mushrooms. The mushrooms were really at (or just past) usable and reasonably slimy to cut, but they cooked and tasted just fine.

Sautee Veggies2.JPG

When the veggies are done to your liking add the meat back to the pan to bring everything to the same temp.

Add the Meat.JPG

I used an 8 x 8 baking dish that I sprayed with Olive Oil to facilitate clean up. I used these wraps as pseudo lasagna because they are only 5 net grams of carbs each and reasonably tasty. They aren't a lard fried tortilla by any means but...

Wraps.JPG

I trimmed one up and used it as the bottom layer like so:

First Layer.JPG

Then I added a layer of meat and veggie mixture and topped that with cream cheese and sour cream.

Cheeses.JPG

Another wrap as trimmed and another layer of meat and veggies and cream cheese and sour cream then topped with a generous quantity of 'Mexican Mix' shredded cheese that just happened to be in my refrigerator.

Cheese Topping.JPG

Into the preheated 400F oven for 15 minutes and it was dinner time!

Served.JPG

On the plate.JPG

I have to tell you, this was a pretty darn tasty meal. The whole thing had 30g of net Carbs, 134g of Fat and 85g of Protein. I ate 1/4 of it which puts all the numbers in a pretty happy place as far as my allowed carbs and fat and protein.

My sincere thanks to @lizelle for giving me the inspiration for this experiment. Worked really well!

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@broncofan99 Sports Teaching Fishing BBQ. Not necessarily in that order.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@princessmewmew Food Antiques Food Life Food Cats. Anything of beauty could show up here.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All

@sultnpapper All the truth you can take and then some. The monthly BBQ is worth the price...

The STEEM Engine

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!

Sort:  

My mouth is getting suspiciously moist after seeing those pictures. Probably because I'm really craving a meal like this and I'm stuck eating healthy for a month. (Can't eat too much fatty foods due to an ulcer, so no cheese for me)

I understand. I left dairy foods almost entirely alone for over 10 years. When I started the low carb life about 3 years ago I started using some dairy again. Now that I'm on Keto it's darn near required for low carb and high protein and fat. So this IS eating healthy for me. It's a good life if you don't weaken :)

That looks and sounds so good, cooking with bacon grease does give the kitchen such a nice aroma :)

Oh, did it ever smell good. I have bacon every day, but that cooking with the grease was really aromatic.

Hey! I grew up with plates just like that! We had them in our camper for a while before we got rid of them. Looks like it turned out really nice. I like that the wraps have flax seed in them. @mrsbozz has been making "power balls" lately with hemp seed and flax seed in them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahahahaha. When my mother sold her house here in Yuma (in 2012) my brother and I cleaned it up and got it ready to sell. These were my mom's plates but the were a significant upgrade to mine so we donated them to me instead of Mom's favorite charity!

These wraps are pretty darn good. I've tried some that I'm pretty sure the packaging would have tasted better but I've been using these for a couple of years.

Good to know! I have been there with healthy wraps that taste like crap.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loved the part about slimy mushrooms. I think that's the reason why you don't do more food posts. Thank God.

So. Here's how things work in my kitchen. I really planned to make a huge (2lb) batch of taco filling. Plan was to have it for a few tacos, some for salad, and a 'taco pizza'. Really good plan but I didn't have enough taco seasoning and when I went to make more I was completely out of chili powder. How can I run out of Chili Powder? Good question.

So the whole plan went away. Then I fooled around trying to figure out what to eat and how until some of the ingredients were 'less than optimal'. It actually worked out quite well...

How can I run out of Chili Powder? Good question.

Exactly. What is wrong with you?

I was just amazed. Seriously. It's a primary spice for me, and one of those things that I always have 3 of. I have taken everything out of the cabinet to be sure I'm really out :)

I did find an envelope of powdered Hatch Chili. I was tempted to try to get by with that but have now bought chili powder and will use the Hatch powder in a responsible manner.

See how one idea sparks another, this is brilliant @bigtom13! Now I'm going to be searching the food shelves for low carb wraps! The sour cream addition must have made it extra special too, definitely does not look shabby at all, very well done my friend!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. It really was a great project to clean out my fridge and it ended up tasting really good. I really appreciate the idea and I'll definitely try this again and again.

Anything smothered in cheese I'll take! Lol

Enough cheese and butter makes most anything edible :)

Looks absolutely delicious to me and I would not mind, not mind at all, to try that. Do not sell yourself shorts, this looks more than just edible ;)

I have to admit it was pretty darn tasty, and I can tell you that it kept well in the refer for the second day.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 416 (03/02/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36