Legendary Foodie Cooks For You!

in #food6 years ago

Actually I may not be a legendary foodie. I may have overstated that case just slightly. This is my first ever food related post anyplace.

I am, with out doubt, a legendary eater. I have the profile to prove it.

This all comes about due to several factors. I have changed my diet to a more plant based consumption. I have read and tried several recipes in my time on Steemit, most notably by Princess MewMew, Heart to Heart and MissDeli. I am inspired by the three of them to give some back.

Chicken Stir Fry

I've been cooking for a long time. My mother gave me a good background in the kitchen and I started in self defense during my first marriage. I have been cooking ever since.

The key, as you will see, are perfectly measured and placed ingredients. Everything in it's place and a place for everything.

I start with a chicken breast bought fresh from the local meat market.



Sorry Heart to Heart. Guess I wrecked your Vegan fantasy pretty early.

I want to slice it into bite sized bits. Yes, I use an old school butcher knife that was my mother's. Sue me. Three quick licks on the steel and it is sharp as new.

I slice the long way first about 1/2 inch wide. 12mm is close enough, and you don't have to get your ruler out to do this. I then turn the cutting board 90 degrees and slice the short way. That will pass for bite sized in my kitchen.

Now comes the first real secret. I want to use some plum sauce in my dish so I use the first precisely measured ingredient. I put the cut up chicken into a 1 gallon (4 liter) plastic bag with the plum sauce that I have left. Probably 2 TBS exactly. I leave plenty of air in the bag and mix the plum sauce thoroughly with the chicken like this.



Imagination required.

Pop the chicken in the bag in the refrigerator. It's time to cut the vegetables.

It's the day before market day so my vegetable choices are limited. There are some that are past the peak of freshness and must go into the mix. Bok Choy, I'm looking at you.



Just the Facts

I love Red Onion. The Asparagus was such a good price when I was last at the market, and it's ready to go. It sorta looks like bamboo so that's how it fits in a Chinese dish for me. The orange bell pepper was really ready as was the Bok Choy. There should be fresh Ginger in this picture, but I forgot and it's time is later.


Unstirred Stir Fry.

I put a precisely measured two glugs of Sesame oil in the bottom of the wok. Not enough to deep fry, but enough that I won't have to spend the rest of the day chipping chicken particles out of the wok. I then put the marinated chicken in the pan, followed by the onions. Next are some frozen veggies that I had on hand. I put them in the pot early because they taste so much better thawed than frozen. Fire up the burner to just under medium heat.


The Joy of Cooking Hidden

I actually just included this picture to show of my newish wok. It's really cool and cleans up really easily. Very important to me. I actually use a kitchen timer for this phase. 7 minutes (7 metric minutes) because while my time sense isn't as lacking as my dogs I have been known to get distracted from time to time.



Peeled Ginger

It was then that I discovered I had forgotten the Ginger. I peeled this precise amount and sliced it fine. It really should have been in the oil with the chicken right at the start, but, you know... I put it on top and replaced the lid.


Ready to Stir.

Plop the rest of the veggies on top and prepare to do the stirring part of stir fry. I wish I'd have had some mushrooms and snow peas left, they would have worked really good here too. Ah well. It takes a bare minimum of 27 stirs to finsh stir fry. 241 times is too many, so take your favorite number in between and go for it.


Luncheon is Served.

That's it, that's all there is. I spent quite a bit of time arranging it on my finest China so the picture would do it justice. This is only a precisely measured half, the rest goes in a Tupperware for tomorrow. I think I'll serve that over rice since the cooking is done.

Bomb Aptly! Which is some fancy language for enjoy!

This is done with the deepest apologies to the fore mentiond real cooks. Connie will return from a short hiatus soon. I really know what I do well. Ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

I always thought it was bone happy tit, but I never thought it made any sense, so you could be right. Dang ferners anyway.

When you precisely measure half, do you do it by weight or by volume?

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Well. I only have one eye so it is always precisely my perception of half. Your Mileage May Vary.

Well, you could be right, I barely speak Anglish. Though why you would bone a tit I just can't imagine. Different lands, different customs I guess.

Mjummm! Just ate and am hungry again! Gorgeous meal. I can almost taste it. And old knives rock, I'm sure those carry the knowledge and skill of it's previous masters with them while you cut your chicken breast :D

Maybe that's the reason why I'm a good cook. My mother was spectacular and I use as much of her stuff as I can. Plus I have most of her old cookbooks and recipes. Maybe just get it by osmosis.

I make similar stir-frys from time to time, but only I seem to think they are good. The rest of my family seems to give me a 5/10 score.

I do similar things as you describe except the mixing the sauce in the bag and refrigerating it. Maybe that's the key thing I'm missing?

Some times I just plop sauces in the pan. Particularly hosein sauce. It really doesn't seem to make a great deal of difference.

I can't believe your family doesn't just love it. Mine sure does...

Lol you have aptly bombed me this morning. I could try this with goat meat. I don't like chicken much and I am a terrible cook.

Ahahahaha. You got it. Thanks. It'll work just fine with goat.

This look so delish.
Never tried plum sauce on chicken yet. Will definitely gonna try this for a new chicjen recipe
Thanks for sharing!

I just love it. It's a fairly delicate flavor that comes through the whole process.

Thanks for stopping by.

Welcome🙂
Do you blog other recipes?
I also blog about healthylicious recipes sometimes.
Followed you & Looking forward to read more ❤️

LOL. Vegan fantasy, te-heee. If I start listing my favorite dishes, it would not be fantasy bubbles popping, it would be the whole new dimension of hell, lol.
Everything looks fab, I am doing Chinese today for dinner.

Speaking of fantasy bubbles, I had bacon as the basis for pork friend rice last night. I like that I can get the taste and smell in my house without eating a half pound :)

I just love cooking that way because it is tasty, healthy and really easy clean up. A winning trifecta for me!

Thanks for stopping by my friend!

Loading...

I love your recipe, looks really healthy and delicious. I must say I really love you writing, it always brings a smile to my face. Such a great post, please do some more food posts.

you rock.gif

I've promised at least one more. I'll fire up my brother's Traeger (wood fired smoker/grill) for a meal when I am visiting there. It's a really fun process and he takes BBQ at least as serious as I do.

Thanks for the kind words. I really do appreciate them.

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 19 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

OH man!!! You can cook this meal for me ANYtime! Looks scrumptious!

I love it cause it's quick and easy. And it's never the same twice in a row.

Thanks for stopping by.

Well, amazingly, it looks like @bigtom13 is good at cooking too, it seems delicious, have you ever been a chef before, this is very good ;)

No, I've never been a chef. Just a really good defensive eater that eats all mistakes.

Thanks for the support elmicta.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88