Food in Beijing Series #1: PIZZA at Tube Station

in #food7 years ago (edited)

20180130_163231_副本.jpg

Craving for Comfort Food

We all have our days right? Those kind of days where you just want to relax, eat and munch on your favourite__(fill in the blanks)__. The kind of food you eat when you have an exhausting day, the kind of food that makes you happy and relax as you bite onto it and watch a movie. Everyone has their version of comfort food. Some are Mac and Cheese, pancakes, burger, anything! My comfort food is a nice slice of pizza with olives and meat of course. I love how the aroma of cheese, marinara sauce and pizza dough infuses and create that “pizza smell”. And when you bite on the crust…….(take a deep breath) Heaven.

I don’t know how to describe it more in words; I guess I reached the vocabulary limit of describing the perfect slice. Pizza is one of my favorite comfort food whenever I need a taste of something besides rice and noodles in Beijing. Let’s be honest here, if you love pizza, you want a good pizza. ATT: Pizza Lover Alert

“So, where can I get a good slice of Pizza?”

There are a couple of Pizza outlets in Beijing but one of the best pizzas around the university is the ones from Tube Station.

Tube Station was founded in 1999, and went from a humble a hole-in-the-wall streetside sandwich joint to a fast-expanding pizza brand with 15 branches across Beijing.
Thanks to its authentic American-style pizza served in a trendy environment, as well as being home to “The Biggest Pizza in Beijing,” Tube Station Pizza has gained legions of young local and expat fans along the way. With our international F&B Research and Development team, handpicked ingredients from across the globe, and strict quality requirements, Tube Station promises to deliver the most authentic NYC-style slices in a relaxed dining environment fit for even the most discerning of China’s foodies.
source

Being in China, there is less expectations since Pizza is not part of a Chinese diet. Spoiler: Pizza Hut in China may disappoint foreigners, lots of our friends including me find their Pizza dough a bit too thick to our liking, it taste a lot like bread for us. Sorry Pizza Hut (China), that pizza I ate should not have corns.

Why would you like Pizza from the Tube Station?

It is H-U-G-E, HUGE!!!!

IMG_20180109_123702.jpg

mmexport1515516311326.jpg

The 32-inch Party Monster can be shared among 12 adults or more. It cost around 500 Chinese Yuan (about 83USD)

You can click the very short vlog to check out more =)



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

~~~~~ CURIOUS? Check out other posts that might interest you ~~~~~

Unfolding My Steemit Story: Origin of asianetwork
China's Winter in 3 minutes
Has Crypto disappear from China?
Exotic Tibetan Skull that cost 83k USD!!
Living in Beijing Series #1: Getting your coffee by using your phone

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔◥ ◤▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

Hi there, thanks for dropping by! How do you find this post? Let me know what is your comfort food in the comments below! Do not forget to support
Cheers
Reena.K

Appreciator.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Today is one of those days that I am craving comfort food. I have to run to the gym first then I won't feel so bad. Great photos.

Good for you!!! the Gym will kill the guilt of craving, lol. what's your comfort food then?

Chicken and masala fries (Chips masala)

maxresdefault.jpg Source

drool..............😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

Tube Station is awesome (I love the "Spicy Godfather," even if it's not nearly as spicy as it used to be when I first got to Beijing in 2014).
But Kro's Nest is even better, in my humble opinion.
In any case, you have won a follower.

woohoo!!!! found someone who has been to beijing!!!!!
I haven't try the Spicy Godfather yet, maybe i should give it a try. =)
Tube Station is famous for the size, but I do agree that Kro's Nest is better in terms of taste too.
Well, you earn yourself a follower too! i'm surprised that you find this post even though it is 5 days old now

I was browsing through the topic "China," since it's kind of the focus of my blog, although I tend to focus on political issues, and... well, you can tell from the two flags on my profile pic where I stand on THAT score right now. Nothing against the people, but things since Xi came along have been... well, tense.
But yeah, I've been to Beijing. I actually still live there. And despite the political tooth-gnashing, it's a great place to visit. The food is an adventure in itself. Did you ever get around to the fried scorpions at the Night Market?

I was there when my friends eat it. I wasn't brave enough though... maybe when i have the guts i will make an attempt for it. I don't even eat chicken feet although it taste alright. lol

I may be wrong but you look like a Filipina. Kumusta po? I may be terribly worng. Haha. Apology if I am.

haha, nope, not from there.

:( Pizza is my favorite meal. Now you've awakened my craving!!!

I think my favorite moments in my life have been while eating pizza, maybe hot dogs and hamburgers too. Those are the default junk food here in Venezuela, and they are all very very tasty. Pizza, however, has this nuance of also having different levels of sophistication.

A Hindu uncle of mine gave me a vegetarian pizza a few months ago and it was just as you describe it. No more words to it than heavenly. It was the best pizza I've ever eaten. It reached such a sublime level of perfection that I was left mute, entranced by all the flavors it contained.

I think I need to go eat some pizza soon. O.O I've been eating in a bit of a monotone trend. Thanks for showing me the right way in life. o/

hahahaha, enjoy yr pizza. Don't refrain yourself from enjoying what life offers, i usually eat moderately so i still get to enjoy food from time to time. I can't eat too much meat because my body don't react well to it unfortunately, but i do enjoy a slice of pizza if i can. =D

32-inch Party Monster is frigging insane. :D

Don't have to eat for days after this meal. The pizza is so gigantic that you must go with a large group to share.

I could've resided with family in Beijing in 2009 but gave up eventually for some reasons. Good to know you're loving Beijing. Do consider working and living there for good!

2009? that is just a year after the olympics, and beijing was developing that time! Beijing has changed a lot ever since, do visit China to explore went you have the time =)
life here has changed so much that I missed the technology when I'm away from Beijing

Ya almost 10 years ago.

Beijing is a place of east meets west. Chinese history is greeted by new buildings and westernised things across the city. Also nice and friendly people.

Two downsides I can think of are traffic jams virtually morning and evening and smog sometimes... That said, I still hope to give it a short visit around end of this year or in two years time, but have to see if my boy wants to hit Beijing. If he will say 'I prefer elsewhere", then no luck for me.

Enjoy Beijing while you're there.

oh true, gotta admit traffic can be really bad at rush hours. I usually avoid those hours when i get on the subway to go places. Sure, i will enjoy the life here as much as i can, and hope u can visit china(not necessary beijing ) for yr family vacation

That is big and does look delicious! Don't remember eating Pizza when I was in Beijing. No I feel like I missed out on that one.

hahaha, its alright, i bet yr place has better pizza than in beijing

We do also have a Pizza Hut :D...
What I actually liked in Beijing was the McDonald's, they had something on the menu with rice and vegetables, I thought that was really cool. (Btw, I'm talking about back in 2004, haven't been since).

Mm mmm pizza.
We love pizza here in canada. Pizza shops everywhere.
I usually make it from scratch, dough and all, I love to customize the toppings :)
Take care,
@amymya

do you know there is a brand call Canadian Pizza in south east asia? Cheers <3 =)

Holy moly now THAT is a HUGE slice of Pizza! :D

Would definitely love to OM NOM NOM NOM it
Cheers!

wow pretty cool pizza!

thanks!! It's the biggest in Beijing, China. 32 inch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45