ADSactly Food - ๐ŸŒHome Made Banana Bread ๐ŸŒ

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago

cover.jpg

Hi Steem Fam! Remember in my post last week, I mentioned how I like to show you THE BEST recipes? Like the best chocolate brownies, and the best soup etc? This week's recipe is my literal best Home Made Banana Bread.

Once again, it's a recipe that I have been making for years and years, and over time I have made small changes here and there. It's based on Joy the Baker's recipe (in my eyes the Queen of baking), but I have made some small changes to make it, in my humble opinion, even better. It's important to make the original version of a recipe first, before you do try to implement any changes, as you may completely stuff it up!

IMG_5375.jpg

I love banana bread and am sure you will love this recipe too. It's got a lovely crunchy crust, and a soft and crumbly inner. The muscovado sugar adds this deep, dark depth to the flavour that is just soooo amazing. Served warm with lashings of butter and coffee, it is such a treat!

๐ŸŒDID YOU KNOW? ๐ŸŒ

๐ŸŒNational Banana Bread Day is celebrated in the USA on the 23rd February

๐ŸŒThe first Banana Bread recipe ever published was featured in Pillsbury's 1933 cookbook, Balanced Recipes.

๐ŸŒ It is thought that Banana Bread is the result of housewives utilising bananas going off during the Great Depression, not wanting to waste the expensive bananas.

IMG_5391.jpg

INGREDIENTS

๐ŸŒ170g (6 oz) salted butter, melted and browned to just over 1/2 cup of butter
๐ŸŒ2 cups self-raising flour
๐ŸŒ3/4 cup muscovado sugar
๐ŸŒ1/2 t salt
๐ŸŒ3/4 t ground cinnamon
๐ŸŒ1/2 t nutmeg
๐ŸŒ2 large eggs
๐ŸŒ1 t vanilla essence
๐ŸŒ1/4 cup buttermilk
๐ŸŒ1 1/4 cup mashed banana (from about 3 medium bananas)
๐ŸŒ2 t treacle syrup

IMG_5394.jpg

IMG_5392.jpg

METHOD

Preheat your oven to 180'C, and grease a loaf tin. To prevent the loaf from sticking, you can sprinkle some flour over the greased tin.

Now, for the browning of butter! My favourite part. In a small saucepan, over medium heat, melt the butter. The butter will start to bubble and spit a bit. Once it stops, it will start to turn brown. Once brown, pour the melted butter into a small bowl and place in the fridge to cool.

Next, in a large mixing bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients. In another bowl, mash the bananas with the treacle and buttermilk. Whisk in the eggs and vanilla essence.

Once it is cool, you can add the butter. Then, add the wet ingredients to the dry, folding slowly and carefully. Do not over stir.

Pour the batter into the greased and floured pan. Don't worry if it looks like a little bit of mixture, it will rise and spread out.

Bake for 50 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean. Leave to cool in the tin.

IMG_5384.jpg

IMG_5378.jpg

footer.png

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Sort: ย 

I haven't really tried homemade banana bread before. From the bakery, yes, but never made at home. I am hoping that this might change in the near future as I have just moved into a nice apartment from the hostel that I was living in.

Having a personal kitchen could be a boon. It only has been six days here and I havn't once eaten outside and have been making my own food (its a record for me). So maybe a this recipe will be in my near future as well :-)

PS: @princessmewmew that's a great new logo :-)

Iโ€™m glad to hear youโ€™ve moved into your own place! It can be fun, especially making your own food. Cost effective too! If you do make the banana bread Iโ€™d love to hear!

Thanks for the compliment on my footer, I am so pleased with it too!

It's important to make the original version of a recipe first,...

Thatโ€™s true. Even though you are inspired by โ€œJoy the Baker's recipe the Queen of bakingโ€, everyone is different, everyone has a diferent taste. I do love banana bread as well, even more when I have these days thinking about something sweet and nothing else. Iโ€™ve already made banana bread my self before few times and it has always satisfied my cravings. Baking banana is definitely great way not to waist or throw out any, especially in the summer time when it can go bad very fast. Thatโ€™s also one of the main reasons Iโ€™ve been making banana cake myself. There are few ingredients I havenโ€™t used before in my bread such as cinnamon, nutmeg, treacle syrup and vanilla essence. All are great ingredients that I find very tasteful and I will use when I get to baking banana bread again. I like the trick with the butter. I will remember it. If not, I can always check your blog ๐Ÿ˜†.
Looks tasty and delicious @adsactly & @princessmewmew!

yeah, this recipe is not so sweet, the muscovado sugar is more of a caramel taste than sugary. ANd the trick with the butter is literally LIFE CHANGING! lol. it really changes the taste. thank you!

@princessmewmew, First of all in my opinion Banana Bread is really unique itself but i really liked the Combination for sure. And in my opinion when it comes to food then we should have creativity.

And literally speaking, these pictures hold the appealing essence and whenever we see delicious stuff then automatically it creates an great essence in our tummy for sure.

Those Banana slices giving that refreshing essence and in my opinion anyone who will watch these kind of banana slices, they will prefer it in their own foodie stuff.

And all these Ingredient Details and step by step "How To" to process is really appreciable, and hope that many will going to try this recipe for sure because it's really creative.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. ๐Ÿ™‚

thank you so much for your lovely comment. Very much appreciated

Welcome and thank you so much for your kind appreciation. Stay blessed. ๐Ÿ™‚

NICE POST, Want to try it..
Seeing photos and recipes of this banana cake seems very tasty. in our hometown, bananas are very abundant. We used to make fresh fruit, some cakes and even banana chips. but with this creation you have made a significant contribution to the development of cakes with banana ingredients. By making our own banana cake we are more experienced, adding to family members and of course very economical when compared to buying at a pastry shop.
as we know, bananas contain important vitamins and minerals for our body. The vitamin C content is beneficial for the body. Eating bananas is also very good for healing. Large potassium content is very useful for good health for heart health. Moreover, we know that bananas contain calories and sugar which are very well eaten after exercise because they can immediately restore energy. Also for those who want to lose weight bananas can be used as an alternative diet.
And what's great is that even in America there is a national banana bread day commemoration ...
With this banana cake recipe, we will taste the delicious cakes and get the big benefits.
Teima thanks @princessmewmew
Thank you @adsactly
thank you steemit
Warm regard from Indonesia

That looks yummy...after banana and banana shake this is something new....never heard of it but now thinking of giving a try...banana is always at home but it can be put in this unique never thought of. Here in India we use banana in multiple dishes like 'pua' ..though bit oily ..but we love oily stuff...thanks for sharing such amazing usage of banana.....๐Ÿ‘

It is a very simple recipe, but you make it look wonderfully appetizing, I will try to make it at home :)

Awwww @princessmewmew you're so good at this! I love the photos and how the post looks! Of course, I like how the banana bread turned out to! :D Though, I can feel the texture is much different from the one I've been eating in Thailand since I was a kid. Prolly it's a bit different everywhere?? Wow, I'm now curious!

thank you babe! thats a lovely compliment.

It's got quite a dense texture, but super soft and crumbly. I've had banana breads that were more moist, and this one turned out a litttle bit more dry than those, which was quite refreshing. Almost cake like.

you'll just have to make it to see what i mean!!

Haaaa :D I suck at cooking but good at eating โค๏ธ

I love banana bread. This version sounds yummy. Im going to use this receipe next time.

great stuff, thank you

love it!

thanks girlfren!

This looks amazing!! I will definitely upvote this post!

Thank you so much, very much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82