The FOMO of Social Media and Decreased Well-Being

in #fomo5 years ago (edited)

Crypto and social media share the fear of missing out (FOMO) psychological angst. Users of Steem are positioned to experience both. People who get into crypto can get addicted to the drive to make money, like gambling. The fear of missing out on something important also happens a lot on social media. People get excited and interested by reading things happening in social media, or peering into the lives of others.

Getting and giving attention in the attention economy has many desire the "connection" provided. Missing out on things happening elsewhere and the missed opportunity to be part of that inter-connected attention economy can bring anxiety and the FOMO.

The University of Pennsylvania has a new study out that suggests extended exposure to social media might cause depression and loneliness. It appears that reducing use of social media to 10 minutes per day can reduce that depression and loneliness. But realistically, is that going to happen in our modern day and age?


Source

The study, titled "No More FOMO: Limiting Social Media Decreases Loneliness and Depression", was published in the Journal of Social and Clinical Psychology. Other studies looking at social media have been less comprehensive and realistic to show how social media can harm one's well-being. Instead of running a battery of tests in a lab, or asking people to completely avoid using social media, this study tapped into usage data that is tracked by iPhones.

Data was collected from screenshots the 143 student participants submitted. It showed the average time they spent on the top 3 most popular social media platforms: Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat. Participants were put into two groups: one was control group that asked them to keep up their average social media usage; and one experimental group that had to limit their social media usage to 10 minutes per day on each platform.

The resulting psychological state of well-being would be measured for the experiments duration, which included assessing states of fear of missing out, anxiety, depression, and loneliness.


Source

The study period last three weeks of sharing social media usage with the researchers. Surveys were requested from the participants which tracked their mood and well-being, to which the data was compared. After analysis, the conclusion seemed clear: decreasing social media use improves both mood and well-being. Melissa Hunt, associate director of clinical training in Penn's Psychology Department, said:

"Using less social media than you normally would leads to significant decreases in both depression and loneliness. These effects are particularly pronounced for folks who were more depressed when they came into the study."

As some might have realized, social media doesn't necessarily make you more socially connected. Using social media less can make you feel less lonely. Hunt explains it as:

Some of the existing literature on social media suggests there's an enormous amount of social comparison that happens. When you look at other people's lives, particularly on Instagram, it's easy to conclude that everyone else's life is cooler or better than yours."

Since the study only looked at Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat, researchers don't want to conclude that the same thing happens for all social media platforms. But it seems to indicate it does. The study only looked at students o average between 18-22 years old. Other age groups and different settings than school may have different results as well.

Any social media user could benefit from learning about this study, and possibly implement some changes to follow. Hunt says:

" When you're not busy getting sucked into clickbait social media, you're actually spending more time on things that are more likely to make you feel better about your life... In general, I would say, put your phone down and be with the people in your life"

On Steem we may also tend to fall into the FOMO of social media and crypto, since there is money involved that we may try to not miss out on making. I think this can apply a doubled pressure on our states of well-being. We don't want to miss in the attention economy or the monetary economy.

What do you think? Do you feel like you're missing out when you're not on Steem, and maybe feel more depressed or lonely being on Steem?


References:


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

Man it’s a bizzare future we have quickly jumped into. 10 years ago I think it was all beginning, 15 years ago there was no sign of it and we would have to entertain ourselves. There were still lazy and productive people, but now it’s so easy to be lazy... not only that, but even if we are productive and on the go to constantly be documenting it, essentially showing off and running ego trips for everything. Some people find it so important, it’s madness dude

Yes, it changes so quickly. And damn right, its a big ego trip, all the selfies and showing off your life or others gobbling it up... As if that's a psychologically positive behavior to engage in... Privacy is willingly being thrown away for more attention.. :/ madness indeed

I think (and I really do mean 'think', I have no basis) that the larger your social group is in real life, may correlate to the more of the 'disconnect feel', with the more time you spend on social media.
And hence depression, as somewhere in your head, you know you are trading 'reality' for 'non reality.'.

I live like a hermit nowadays, which suits me fine after decades of the most opposite lifestyle you could imagine, which is relevant...

I would say, looking back, that if had I used social media at the expense of my 'real' friends, then it could lead to more depression, but with less effect on those where the social media intercommunication doesn't interrupt so much with 'real' relationships....

Just throwing it out there...

Yeah, we do have limits to the level of interactivity and connections we can hold before it overwhelms and acts to disconnect :/

I think everyone will FOMO to some extent and being active in social media platforms just exposes one to more reasons to FOMO :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup, we're all FOMO crazy I guess :P

For myself, I found that honest work pays out much better than Steemit. Some did well for themselves but adding the time spent and author rewards over the past two years, I have decided to put more time into other activities.

Yup. A good job is MUCH better than Steem. That's time better spent than on Steem for 99.9999% of people here.

News media makes us emotional, and where we are emotional we less likely to THINK

Yeah, and social media hardly has any thinking :P

So true. Even though the price of every Crypto keeps falling, we're still buying because it might go up... One day. 😂😂😂

Nice article. But that was only about STEEM. That's one of the few stuff I keep on buying, since I can use it.

The others? Not so much. I am hoping the day arrives when they can be used. For now, they're just dreams.

One day :P

Interesting thoughts. I've been going over similar in my mind the last couple days as I've had a lot of spiritual thoughts and changes and I've been having a difficult time finding things I find passionate to write about and just am enjoying taking a break.. And I do feel like my well being has increased the less I feel like I have to pressure myself into posting interesting content every single day.. It's nice to just chill and disconnect for a bit.

Longterm I dunno, I still think social media is the most powerful tool to help change the world for the better, so.. I don't really see myself ever quitting completely, but hopefully I can reduce my usage a lot in time.
I do feel like I spent too much time on computer in my life and need to drift back towards being more balanced with nature and my personal physical life.

Hi @krnel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 7.288 which ranks you at #65 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 257 contributions, your post is ranked at #14.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I know it’s feeling well. I’ve gone in and out of it at traditional social media and even worse on steemit. Now I feel bad that I’m not able to stay as up to date with everyone but I’ve got to take some time to work on my own projects and enjoy nature and my surroundings too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99