Following and Followers... I went through my list

in #followers7 years ago (edited)

steemit.jpg
I haven't messed with steemstats.com much though a lot of people swear by it. I like under the accounts tab is shows followers, and who you are following and it does this nice thing of telling you if it was mutual or not.

I used this to go through those people I was following. If anyone was following me that I was also following I left it alone. I suspect some of those have been dormant for awhile.

I then stopped following people that were not following me under the following two criteria:

  1. they had been dormant for several months
  2. they rarely post any of their own thoughts and mostly resteem stuff.

I did keep some people that were not following me that have a tendency of posting stuff I am really interested in. I wasn't doing this to have that reaction of "I'm not going to follow you, unless you follow me" as that kind of defeats the purpose of why I follow people in the first place. I follow people because they have interesting things to say, whether they are new to the platform or old to the platform. Doing so makes my home feed much more interesting.

After I had done that the people I had been following was a smaller list (still pretty big) but then I took a moment to go through the people following me that I was not following (I didn't get to all of them yet, but I'll keep adding people) and I did start following some of the people that are following me that I like their blog.

I thought I'd post about this to explain why my number of people I follow may dip. People were only removed due to inactivity on their account or because they only resteemed. If they followed me I didn't remove any of those. Mutual follows I'll keep for sure.

Those of you that would like followers without feeling obligated to follow someone in return. I have some tips for you.


I often follow people based upon an interesting post of theirs.

I also use the resteem feature, as I believe it is important. I try to mix my own posts in with that.

A thing to note about a lot of resteems. When I see a resteem I am more likely to become a follower of the person you are resteeming. If you would like me to follow you then make sure your original content is fairly close to the same amount as you're resteeming. If it is a little less that is okay. Yet, if I have to scroll past 10 resteems to find an original post by you then I likely won't follow you.

Resteeming/Channels


I did have an idea for people that don't really want to write, but do like to resteem. Have you considered creating a new account and calling it something like gamingchannel, gamingnews, politicschannel, republicanchannel, democratchannel, anarchychannel, philosophychannel, etc?

Then if you consistently only resteemed articles that were of that type then it might actually be worth following you as you'd be essentially a gathering point for INTEREST.

Anyway, I wanted to explain my activities and share some observations and perhaps some tips that some of you might find beneficial.

EDIT: I already lost one follower as soon as I posted this. I doubt they read this and thought I was pruning people that followed me, or pruning people that didn't follow me. I only pruned those I was following that do not follow me and that have been inactive for months, or seemed to be only resteeming stuff. I actually went through those following me that I was not myself following and started adding people back in from there.


Steem On!




Sort:  

I never understodd those "I follow you, so you have to follow me" attitude. I mean WTF?
The own feed is to give me things I think are interesting. Write things I find interesting and I may follow you. If not... who cares?

Damn Dwin hates me. :( j/k I'm pretty eclectic and I try to get a few posts in a week. My topics are kind of all over the place based on where my head is at. I don't even know why anyone follows me lol. Maybe to watch my travel through sanity.

Nope not at all. I just hadn't made it all the way through my list. You are actually the type of person I would follow. So I fixed that. :)

Lol I think I cover all the bases. I will probably be posting meat alternative recipes mixed in with the other random political, spiritual, love, music, crypto, and whatever else blogs lol.

Me too... I tend to go in waves.

I feel like as long as I'm writing about real shit and not forcing content that I have quality posts. When I force myself to write quantity doesn't matter. Quality > Quantity

In the 7 months that I've been here I did a follower purge and started from scratch twice. The first time was because I was new and had big shiny dollar signs in my eyes from all the lucrative posts. I thought if I followed them I might get some of their ju-ju even if they were blogging about things I didn't care about.
The second time was because I wanted to have a fresh feed and rediscover people. I suppose I should go through deadfollowers to see how many people are inactive but honestly, if they're not active they're not messing with my feed anyway. LOL

I remember when I decided to follow you. I had read some of your comments which I appreciated, than checked out your page and thought "This is a genuine guy".
I still feel the same, so I know I will keep you on my list ;)

You are on my list our follow was mutual. I didn't remove people that don't follow me if I was following them and I thought their blog was interesting.

So I basically was giving people some tips. Most of the people I removed that were not following me have not been active on steemit for months. Some of them I removed that were not following me I looked at their blog and it was all resteems. This means to follow them I wouldn't get much original from them in my home feed, just a lot of resteems. I like resteems, I find interesting people from resteems.

But, I do prefer to follow people that do some original stuff mixed in with the resteems.

If people start doing the channel thing where they are resteeming certain topics and are consistent there are a few topics I might follow.

EDIT: Thank you for your follow, and your posts (I follow you) and your interaction. :)

Glad to be a part of your world ;)

I only follow people that have good posts. I use steemstats because you can see who's voting for your posts in real time.

I only follow people that have good posts as well. So that must be how people made it onto my list of followers. However, going through steemstats and seeing who was not mutual I looked at some of those and I found I was following people that haven't posted anything in some cases for 5 months.

It didn't make sense to keep following them.

Others that were not following me, I thought I had a reason to follow them. If I opened up their blog and the first page was all resteems, I'd scroll a bit to see if I could find something of theirs interesting, and if I could that usually would remind me why I followed them. :) Those I kept.

Some I pruned.

I even follow quite a few people I disagree with frequently as long as they seem to be rational and put some thought into their posts. These are people that don't follow me.

I didn't actually stop following anyone that I was following that was also following me.

I figure if it was mutual then there was a good reason it was there.

And of course I follow you. You and I have too many interesting discussions and articles to share. My home feed would get a lot less interesting without you in it. ;)

Thanks my friend...I feel the same about you and your posts. I too follow a few that I don't agree with @Krnel and I disagree quite a bit but his posts are generally well thought out and presented well. We disagree philosophically sometimes, but hey- that's what makes life interesting.

Yeah @krnel uses his head, and puts some serious effort into his posts. He and I don't agree 100% on quite a few things. Though many we do. His recent posts I agree with I simply take a different approach. I was posting similarly months ago and intentionally not naming people. He thought I should be honest and name them. I didn't do so because I was hoping people could see themselves in what I wrote and maybe change without being stuck in a spotlight. Now one of them did ad hominem and insult me and then I made a post specifically for that person where I laid out months of information about them by other people, and my observations. I did not insult them. I tried to avoid naming until they attacked. Yet, it turns out Bernie didn't even read the post anyway. So not much point there.

Yet, I DO completely get why @krnel is doing what he is doing now. He is not even close to the first person to do it. Others people have tried to do the actual naming approach and they were not civil about it. It didn't work out too well for them. @krnel I believe could raise awareness. So I will support his efforts. If he is ever unreasonable I will say something to him, and I know he will at least respect and be civil with someone giving him a reasonable argument.

So yes, I like @krnel, but I also disagree with him on some things. He has my respect, and I am glad he is speaking up. We need to get this stuff worked out if we can so when it is no longer "beta" we don't have these problems amplified if we do have a sudden influx of people joining.

I was wondering why I heard from you tonite LOL!!! The Pruning hahaha

I don't care, I love hearing from you.

SteemDB is very similar in many regards. Have a look if you have not Rich or anyone else reading this.

I've gone through my following list twice and removed inactive users too.

I think on my next one I will removed inactive ones and already successful ones to being able to focus more on the ones that don't get enough attention/rewards. :)

I could see doing that, but I also follow people that write things I like to read. If I removed them my feed would get a lot less interesting, and I like your idea for the helping the platform aspect. Yet I like to keep the existing garden growing as well, and keep the garden in my mind entertained and engaged.

So if I did those steps it'd be probably a little of both.

Yeah :) a little of both is good, and I forgot to mention that about the successful part I meant mostly users who don't need helo with visibility anymore and who write posts which I personally don't find that interesting.

I haven't been too picky about my followers since with the curation trail I was generally following new users who needed a boost or I didn't want their first content posts to be overlooked after reading their intro posts.

Maybe I should instead just create another more personal account for a more interesting home page. :)

Those are all pretty good ideas. The @chaospoet account is mine and I only use it occasionally when I am using the novelty of prose to communicate. I could setup a more personal account there if I chose to take a similar path.

I mainly wrote this post because I was seeing a lot of people that ONLY resteem stuff. I thought they might want to know that this makes them not a very attractive account to follow.

Hehe I can't wait for a seperate posts/re-steem section. It would be great to have posts in one page and re-steems from your followers on another since I often miss some posts because of timezones or just not being online and some of my followers have great re-steems!

Yeah I've found some great people thanks to resteems. I like resteems and I use it too. I just prefer to follow people that also post some of their own stuff once in awhile. I didn't prune people in some cases that their last 20 posts were all actually resteems, because I'd find a good post from them a little way down in their blog and say "Oh yeah, that's why I follow you..." :)

I like people who use their head, and are not afraid to share with all of us. Especially when they share stuff I've never heard of.

I realized awhile ago when it comes to curation rewards I may be approaching it totally wrong. I don't factor curation rewards into how I vote at all. I vote on what I like, appreciate, etc. I stopped worrying about whether I thought it was going to blow up and trend long ago.

My steem power is low enough that me voting on something I thought would trend would not give me much anyway. Plus, I realized doing that would cause a dogpile and would make the overall platform much less interesting clusters of the same thing over and over again.

If I was going for curation rewards I'd be voting on all the sports posts. @bacchist, @ats-david, and @steemsports type people were brilliant when they went that route as there truly are a lot of people that consider sports more important than virtually any other thing on the planet. It is smart to tap into that.

If maximizing curation rewards were my goal those are the GUARANTEED WIN topics. Yet, I personally have no interest in them. So I don't vote on them. Occasionally, I'll glance at one and it might be so damn well written that I feel the need to up vote it, but for the most part I don't.

So I may be odd that way. I honestly could care less about curation rewards. If I were not a fanatic content creator and if I found content creation challenging I might look at that in a very different light.

Hehe, yeah the curation rewards aren't bringing much food to the table... yet atleast :P

I used to be very low on voting power in the beginning when there was no votescaling for low SP accounts, but figured if I keep my VP high and scale my votes more evenly to more users they get the most out of it in the long run. This also gave me room to not just vote on low payout posts but also on posts from regulars and the ones you knew would get a lot of rewards.

At first I felt a bit bad about not voting 100% on every post and some users also asked me why 40-80% but it got a lot easier when I got a following on my curation and I knew that my 50% vote now is still worth 10-100x more thanks to the following, so it equaled it out and the distribution could be wider and I was able to vote on a lot more posts while still making some curation rewards for everyone involved.

I did have an idea for people that don't really want to write, but do like to resteem. Have you considered creating a new account and calling it something like gamingchannel, gamingnews, politicschannel, republicanchannel, democratchannel, anarchychannel, philosophychannel, etc?

Then if you consistently only resteemed articles that were of that type then it might actually be worth following you as you'd be essentially a gathering point for INTEREST.


SUPER idea.

Thanks for following me now!

Yep I like a lot I've seen you say, and I was going through my list and saw you were following me, so definitely needed to follow you.

Here (and elsewhere) I tend to only follow people who post things that are consistently interesting to me, or they make me think in some way... and I don't have to agree with their perspective. I guess it's partly linked to the idea that I look for things that seem "of value" both to me and to the greater community.

I just never was much into the "automatic followback" thing... perhaps a hangover from when I spent more time with twitter. If someone's content is of no interest to me, why the heck should I follow them, regardless of whether they followed me? I may be out in left field with this, but mindless mutual backscratching doesn't really add that much value to the greater picture.

Nah I don't care about the auto followback thing either. I simply didn't prune anyone I was already following that also happened to be following me. I figured there was a reason that they and I chose to follow each other.

And by the way I followed you too now. I'll keep an eye open to see what you share. :)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28