My Weird Ethical Considerations while Curating

in #fknmayhem-tumbls6 years ago (edited)

When I introduced #fknmayhem-tumbls around a week ago, I explained the concept of the advanced form of resteem with added commentary.

This is an old form of curation and one which has been popular since long before Facebook Shares, Retweets (or quoted tweets), and many other principles. For online publishers, the topical selection has traditionally been part of their brand but there’s another interesting detail, an additional incentive, to it as well: page views.

Of course, most do curate first and foremost because they love sharing the awesome stuff they discover.

Considering that this practice has started long before social networks became popular, and even before RSS was the default method for nerds common, it was also a rather simple way to accumulate additional page views and thus improve the revenue via advertising.

5EA44232-FD03-44E0-AE79-2CE86A75FC43.jpeg
Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

Back in those earlier years page views, and not CPC, were still an important metric when selling ads slots. A prolific curator would regularly be visited, often multiple times a day even. That each of these asides, as WordPress calls that content type, were monetisable was normal and never led to any debate.

Here on Steem things are slightly different though.

Community Decided Value

A core concept of the Steem platform is that the community decides the worth of content created by means of financial upvotes, or also using financially penalising downvotes. A whale can easily decide that a post has received too many rewards and correct that, also in order to return distributed rewards to the rewards pool and thus made available to other creators.

Not too long after I started my curation efforts, I immediately started wondering what the real value of a curated post is. Is there any value t them, and if so what is reasonable a reward.

While on most posts I add at least one paragraph of commentary, sometimes even three or four, the reality is that without discovering the original content, there would be no post at all. Because no content, no curation, right?

What is Discovery Worth?

Because I curate on an alt account (@dashroom), I add a footer to each post in an attempt t explain what the alt is about. Currently the footer sports following:

Once Steemit has an option to integrate beneficiaries when posting, 50% of each curated post’s rewards will go to the original content creator.

I know that can easily be done via steemwhales.com already, then again nothing is easy on steemwhales.com. I don’t even want to consider using the site daily, let alone multiple times a day. Sadly enough, so far no other popular app to the Steem blockchain has the beneficiary feature integrated in its UI.

Donating 50% of each posts rewards would result in 25% of all rewards for me, if we stick with de facto 25% going to the curators.

Now, I’m under no illusion and don’t expect that alt to make any SBD/STEEM whatsoever, or at least not a lot. I also know that given that I most often add additional commentary nobody will expect me to share the revenues with the original post creator. But ethically
weirdly wired as I am, it is one of those things which keeps my mind active.

What do you think, Steemians? Would you share with the original content or not? And if you would, how much would you share?

separator

Hi there, you’re reading this on my main account, @FknMayhem.

I also tumbl awesome content I find across the Steem ecosystem, and sometimes not on a Blockchain [gasp!]based sites, from my alt account @dashroom, AKA FknMayhem².

If you wish to keep updated with those discoveries, don’t hesitate to follow me over there. I think you may like it if you love Steem and thought-provoking reads. Be warned though, there may be days on which It Might Get Loud.

I am also on zeh Titter. Feel free to pitch me your worthy suggestions there. But make them worth my time, please.

Sort:  

Ah, I see. Because without the original content, you wouldn't have posted anything. But then, if you hadn't posted your stuff, maybe the one you're featuring wouldn't have been spotted.

It's not as clear cut as a 50/50 split because your comments hypothetically add value, otherwise why would you provide additional content instead of just re-steeming?

But you don't know the value you add, because the community decides that. But there's no way for the community to indicate that on your post.

Well, the community can up vote you and then up vote the linked article, to indicate there was value, but it's a bit of a guessing game as to what the real division of value is.

So, make part of random.

Take the amount remaining after curation, split that 50/50. Then generate a random percentage to further remove from your cut and use to increase the amount going to the original post author. The ceiling of the random percent can be based on how much value you think you've added by providing both follower eye-balls and by adding your commentary.

Or roll dice...

Edit: You could actually write a python script to do the work for you after the payout happens. It could do the math on the post and do a transfer. It could even post a comment to the bottom (or the memo, or both) for more blatant disclosure of how much was sent for why.

You got it, @not-a-bird. It’s entirely different in each case depending on how much commentary I add. Right now the account has little following but that can of course change with time.

The beneficiary setting in the steem blockchain allows the rewards on a post to be directly distributed to whichever account is set there to the percentage stated. It’s how apps like dmania (25%), esteem (5%) and Utopian (~22% for backers of bot and mods combined) work/earn. If we had it in the interface one could easily decide how much for each post, just like you can with upvote slider.

Once that is set it’s in the chain and can’t be changed anymore btw. Why would I use that? Well... because I’m lazy. A nice part of automation. Imagine I have 100 posts/week. I’m not going to manually do that and send to OPs each day.

Imagine I have 100 posts/week.

That's why I was thinking it could be automated with a python script... but now I'm wondering if maybe someone should create a nice fat client for steem using Java or something so that it could have a decent UI and support all these features without having to wait for the steemit web site to add them... but I suppose that would lead to an ugly fat client with too many options that would just confuse and confound... I wonder if anyone has created something like this to aid in curation.

I suppose the easiest solution is just to wait for a steemit update and hope that all the manual stuff in the mean time doesn't become too cumbersome.

I think @netuoso is working on it. Most recent shares have also been posted via https://mspsteem.com which has 5% beneficiary set, within the interface's parameters, to directly go to the Minnow Support Project (msp).

I’m thinking if netuoso test runs the integration of it, we will first see it on mspsteem before it becomes a condenser pull request.

I think ethical considerations are always worthwhile, @fknmayhem, and we are the richer (long-term) for having them. Thank you, for this.

Thanks for your reply, @yahialababidi. I love ethical (self) debates, they tend to keep me straight and guarantee me consistent good nights of sleep. ;)

I envy you your sound sleep. Yes, as a German proverb has it: a good conscience is the softest pillow. Keep up the good work 🙏🏼

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! To join the ResteemSupport network and be entered into the lottery please upvote this post and see the following rules.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 66997.36
ETH 3681.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77