Workout Progress Update - Mixed Results - I Need To Royally Kick My Ass With Baseball Starting On 3/31

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

I got sick after my last update for 13 days, in bed for 5 of them. I missed my Mom's surprise bday event and couldn't exercise, so I was pissed. I rarely get sick, and with my goal to get in peak baseball shape, it was terrible timing.

After the initial bedridden part, I chose to skip antibiotics to challenge my body to fight it off naturally. I figured that as long as I was seeing daily improvement, it'd resolve itself on its own and I'd be stronger for it. Stubborn me. It took a lot longer than I thought it would, but I beat it.

I wanted to suffer through it at the gym, but couldn't risk getting anyone sick. I did some light stuff at home, but it was pointless because I was weak. I lost 5-6 pounds and saw my abs well for the first time in ages, but put most back on after I started eating normally again.

To stay accountable to my goals for my baseball season's opening day on 3/31, here's where I stand. No photo tricks. Just me in my professional photo studio/bathroom mirror in front of my amazing tiles. To those who keep asking what color they are so they can remodel, I'm still waiting on the answer from my landlord.

I feel strong and my left shoulder feels 99% healed after hurting it badly in early November. This is a relief.

Regardless of losing 2 critical weeks to stall progress, I'm thrilled that my baseball bat speed is currently at 84 MPH. <-Proof of my recent swing analysis linked there.

The typical "power range" for Major League pro baseball players is 85-95 MPH, so at 84 MPH in off-season swing shape, this is pretty good. I feel like I can crush the ball and throw harder with great endurance, but not as much as I wanted by now. I have two weeks left to attack the gym and improve before I'm on the pitching mound and hitting cleanup.

I spent 2 hours in the gym tonight hammering away at my core and doing simulated pitching/hitting motions with resistance. I'm going to push myself like I did when I first started this mission to close this process out. No pain, no gain.

I've been eating well all along so this has helped me stay in growth mode. I don't take any supplements at all except a few protein bars and now some Vitamin B+C. If I cut corners with supplements, my results would be much greater, but I don't believe in that.

Original progress pics (sigh):

I've come a good way, but have to make up some lost ground. It'll be important to keep pushing myself during the season as well. I tend to shy away from lifting because I usually pitch every weekend and don't want to be tight for it. I will overcome that fear/excuse.

I'll drop a new update just before my season officially starts.

Thanks for following along,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

@rmsbodybuilding - feedback?

If you are satisfied with your progress, not much I can say- good job!!! If you'll make some posts on Instagram would definitely will help to lose more pounds. LOL

I am sorry to hear you fell sick. Probably sure you are more stronger now

Go hard mate but if it doesn't work out, you can always start an Instagram fitness blog.

You'll need new tiles.

Don't use IG and doubt I ever will as long as it's overrun with mostly idiotic shorthand comments and emojis. Sticking with Steemit because people speak in full sentences. I also don't know how to photoshop myself to 5% body fat or use fake weights.

One more nudge and I'm going to the hardware store for spray paint.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @steemmatt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77