Running Again! Tools to Gamify Your Fitness

in #fitness7 years ago

10 months ago, I posted What Are You Doing To Stay Active?

This morning I decided to do a follow up video.


My jam is a good audio book (I'm almost done with The Rational Optimist by Matt Ridley), Pokemon Go, and Run Keeper.

IMG_7776.PNG

IMG_7774 2.PNG

IMG_7775 2.PNG


So what are you up to to keep your heart healthy and your body fit?

What gamification do you have in place?


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Currently, I have inspired co-workers to walk around the work site pre dawn. At the start of the year, my role at work changed but my habit of getting to work did not. I don't like twiddling my thumbs so I started doing 3 or 4 laps of 400 m each. Other people saw me and started doing the same.

I am impressed by one walker who was a challenge to get moving, excuses, it is raining, I will do it tomorrow. He is now doing 5 laps a total of 2 Km and has lost over 10 kg.

During the weekends I do Tai Chi and cycle 26 km most weekends. I use to ride more but was getting too fatigued. When I started working for the organisation I was cycling to and from work a total of 21 km per day.

My fitness level is becoming less over time. I do have an active job where I am cleaning buses for between 4 to 8 hours. I live in the tropics of Australia, the conditions can get testing at times.

I do enjoy being active.

8 ) infinity happiness

Wow, congrats! That's very cool how you've positively influenced others.

I can't agree more, we live for a short period of time and a healthy life is definitely the best way to enjoy the time we have.

I primarily motivate myself to stay healthy with Apple Watch achievements. Based on your activity you receive some awards. There are many kinds of awards and sometimes you can earn special awards on special days like the “Earth Day Challenge".

In addition, I share my activity with a couple of friends and it's fun to beat your friend's daily goals.

Speaking of audiobooks. Do you know about https://www.overdrive.com? Basically, you can borrow audiobooks and ebooks from your local library. They have a wide selection and you can request a book if they don't have it. This can save you money if you listen to a lot of audiobooks.

Yes! Overdrive is how I found Daniel Suarez, my favorite Cyber Punk author. I haven't used it for a while though since many of the books I listen to aren't available through my library.

i use the Strava app, it really keeps detailed stats in combo with the apple watch. will readily admit i should use it more.

and since i hate running (with a passion) i tend to go cycling, which is tough in switzerland...

also bought an ISUP (inflatable stand up padleboard) last month, really love that (might do a Steemit review on it later)

have created a review of my new Isup in the meantime : give it a looksee https://steemit.com/sport/@felander/review-inflatable-stand-up-paddle-aqua-marina-sup

Oh, my business partner has one of those and they are so fun! I was looking at getting an inflatable kayak yesterday. I don't yet own a bike, but I need to get one. I also don't like running, but it's better than doing nothing. :)

I don't remember if you have dogs or not, but I spent weeks researching dog-friendly portable/inflatable kayaks before Christmas last year, so I could get the best one for @uberbrady. I ended up with this one: http://amzn.to/2umZmos

Any inflatable will have some limitations, namely the amount of time you have to let it sit out in the sun to let it dry so it doesn't get musty when you fold it back up. As long as you plan your trip well, that shouldn't be much of an issue though.

It was the most durable/portable/spacious/affordable of everything I looked at.

If portable is the requirement but inflatable isn't, check out this one: http://amzn.to/2vjPVDk (they're discontinued, but I'm sure you can find them used or figure out whatever the next-gen is.)

My sister has it and loves it. Expands from a 1-person to a 2-person easily and it's very sturdy. The only reason I didn't get it was the higher price point, as I wasn't sure we'd actually like kayaking enough to buy one.

Hey Snipey! :)

Nah, no dogs, but sometimes I think they'd be easier than our three kids. Hahah.

@brettflorio has this one and says it fits all their kids, so I'm thinking that's what we'll probably get. Seems like a good deal. I hadn't thought about the drying time. Maybe I'll just bring a towel or a cloth diaper. That's what we usually do when camping and need to dry off the floor tarp.

That expandable one looks really interesting.

I had so much fun a couple weekends ago on the Harpeth River. I really want to get one and go more often.

I forget you two have, like, a million kids. :P

That three-person yak looks pretty cool, although at that point it's more of a canoe than a yak. Still a boat, and boats are awesome, so who cares.

We needed a two-person kayak because we had never taken the dogs on a boat before, and weren't sure if they'd stay in, so the plan was to keep them between our legs. It sort of worked, though Lucy ended up on the bow for some reason and Ripley jumped out twice.

I think the diaper/towel thing should work, but you probably won't get it bone dry, so just be sure to leave a little time for air-drying so it doesn't get musty in the tight bits. (Which, incidentally, is the name of my new Cure cover band.)

TIGHT BITS!

I like it.

That's awesome that Ripley's like, "What? Why are you still in the boat?" Dogs are awesome, but @corinnestokes doesn't want to own any and they make traveling a pain, so we'll probably just admire those who belong to others.

I didn't end up pulling the trigger on the kayak yet... I actually kind of wanted a canoe instead, so I'm cool with kaynoe. I may buy it next week, though I learned the paddles are kind of expensive too, but all in all, it looks like a great deal for a lot of fun and memories.

Okay, so this is really dumb, but make sure you buy enough of them lol. I accidentally only bought one (it has TWO sides, so maybe that's what I was thinking? I have no idea.) The ones I got were $29 each and they're perfectly fine.

Yeah, that's the exact same one I was looking at. I almost did the exact same thing! I was like, "Yeah, cool, $29 for two..." We'll probably need to get at least 3 and then some smaller canoe paddles for the other two.

I just looked up your book, seems interesting, is it worth getting it?
sorry to go off topic on this but it caught my eye and if even bill gates has an opinion on it ...

and STEEMIT is kind of trading as well so...

Not off topic at all, that's why I shared it! Yeah, I think it's a really good book and would definitely recommend it. I also enjoyed his The Origins of Virtue which I highly recommend.

cool will take your word (and Bill Gates) for it and give it a read

have made a review of my sup in the mean time, check it out if you were thinking of getting one (updated my original answer)
the brand also does the kayaks and they really seem to be good in price/quality

I had my right knee replaced about a decade ago (old basketball injury). It's not that I'm all that old - in the general pre-op orientation meeting, I think I was the youngest one there by about 25 years!

And I'm very thankful for my new knee, but running is not much of an option unless I want to get that done again if I wear it down. But I can sure walk! I take our 11 year old chocolate lab out at least 5 days a week for a 3-4 mile adventure around our neighborhood, looking for men with beards and hats (ever seen "Sad Dog Diaries"? Hilarious!).

And I just use my good ole Fitbit, and it will map our walkies. I really like the feedback I get on my resting heart rate - down to 57 for the first time a few days ago. I'll take that.

Congrats! That's a great way to stay active. Running is actually pretty rough on your body but at least it's active.

I have two German Shepherds and no fence.

5 walks a day, each walk about 1.5 miles.

I'm not getting my heart rate up as high as jogging, but they like to walk at a good pace.

I'll have to re-evaluate when I build my fence.

I used to have a keyboard and mouse platform on my treadmill, my record was 9 hours of playing DAOC (Dark Ages of Camelot) at 2 mph. When I got off, my legs were Jello.

Haha! Wow. 9 Hours of treadmill gaming. Impressive!

My exercise strategy is similar to how I like my BBQ.

Low and Slow

Low and Slow

Dang it! Don't do that to someone so close to lunch time! That looks amazing.

If it makes you feel better, I just finished my small salad for lunch.

Everything in moderation.

I saw this tweet last night and thought it was hilarious: https://twitter.com/neiltyson/status/894689139853012992

A cow is a biological machine invented by humans to turn grass into steak.

Yet I still haven't figured out if eating meat is consistent with non-violence. It may be tasty, tasty murder.

But, as you said, everything in moderation. :)

I grew up in farm country. Most of the local farms had around 100 head of beef cattle.

I have also had many conversations about whether eating meat is tasty, tasty murder. And the fact that vegetables aren't food, they are what food eats.

All kidding aside, it occasionally give me pause to wonder whether I have a right to eat the meat - but seeing the natural killing (wolves and deer, wolverines and basically anything) ... at least humans slaughter their prey quickly with as little pain and suffering as possible.

One of my ways, and probably my best tip, is to always challenge one of your friends (ideally one that you hate losing to) to join you in a competition (can be anything from running, skiing, first to lift X amounts of kilos etc). Having something to work towards, rather than just working out for its own sake, seems to motivate most of us.

I'm actually a bit competitive so I think this might be a bad thing for me. I'd push myself too hard! Heheh. :) Even just competing against myself can mean I over do it once in a while.

Nice topic. Ive always been fond of exercise. Between age 20 and 28 i only lifted weights. After i quit because of injuries and well..a life , i was inactive for a couple of years. 220pounds of muscle turned into 230pounds of fat. At 32 my bloodpressure was mid high and i had tomake changes. Been running and biking thd last 3 years and at 190 pounds (6feet) im almost as fit as when i was 19. My goal is to be the fittest ive ever been at 40. Ran my first 10 miles recently. Not fast, but i believe its the longest ive ever ran. I also do yogastretching and mindfulness. In the autumn i chop wood. Every other day i do pushups and some biceps curls 😆 exercise is veeeery important in order to feel good both mentally and physicaly.

Sometimes i use endomundo. But i try not to. Im way too competetive and get obsessed with times and records. Its better to run on feeling. Its amazing how you learn to rely on yourself and your tempo. I believe its important to listen to the body and use all your senses when you run. I can almost guess my average speed dead on without any tools other than my memory and feeling. Im pretty amazing!

Run Keeper is the best..too bad they don't reward you with currency for your run :))

I know! This would be such a killer app to somehow reward things like that. This gets close.

I also listening to books or podcasts when I run. Some people find that weird, but I find it more motivating to keep going until it's over. :)

I used to use my lunch break at work to head to the YMCA and run. I would watch Sean Spicer give his daily press briefing on the treadmill tv. It was the most entertaining run I ever got. Sarah Huckabee Sanders doesn't have the sizzle that Spicy had so I have noticed a decrease in my YMCA trips :(

Hahah... Sean Spicer. Man, what a tool. But now I say that about most everyone involved in politics. Unfair of me, I know, but I've just seen too much ridiculousness to care about those people pushing their monopoly on the use of force. Democide is bad, m'kay? We should shape voluntary society instead. :)

Love him or hate him he was really entertaining!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83