What Are You Doing To Stay Active?

in #fitness8 years ago

A couple months ago, I put out a challenge to fill out the fitness category on Steemit. I was excited by the response, but I haven't seen much activity there lately. Have you been staying active? How do you stay motivated to exercise?

Here are my thoughts this morning (less than 4 minutes) after a nice run and almost two full weeks of running every weekday.

So that's how I'm staying motivated right now: Pokémon Go, Audible, and Runkeeper.

What's your motivation? Do you need a helpful reminder to get and stay active?

Thanks for watching!
Luke

P.S. I'm working on a post on a topic most conscious beings on the planet care deeply about: sex. Follow my blog to catch that when it comes out.

Sort:  

Oh, sweet. I just opened my email to find this:

Gamification for the win!

I didn't realize how hard it would be to keep up the routine when the schedule you adhere to flips upside down. And it's about to happen again for me. About 5 weeks ago, my work schedule threw me a curve ball by flipping my schedule from nights to mornings for training. Then it got flipped back, got thrown a bunch of mandatory overtime, and it's about to flip to mornings again soon. Once that hits, I'll be in my desired schedule of 9a-6p M-F. I'm going to start my daily exercise videos again when that happens. Hold me to it. ;-)

Daily videos may be a bit much, but if that's what you need to stay healthy and active for yourself, your family, and your friends, by all means, do it! As I said in the comments over and over again, it's a marathon, not a sprint.

That said, we are creatures of routine and when that changes, all bets are off. Good luck finding a schedule which works for you for the long term.

Yeah, I won't post them daily, but I'll film daily and post a weekly video of the clips from the week. :)

Update:
Been running daily and feeling great. :)

I actually got three new records this morning. Hurray gamification! I haven't run this consistently since I did Track in college.

I just started running 2 weeks ago too. Feeling better and better each day. I'm going to look at Runkeeper.

Cool! Congrats. Yeah, I love Runkeeper. It really makes it fun.

Just do it at the same time everyday. I do it first thing in the morning.

My father in-law has a saying (he's from Arkansas):

"If you eat a toad first thing in the morning, it'll be the hardest thing you do all day."

Basically, get the thing you want to do the least done first so it's out of the way, and the rest of the day is yours.

first thing in the morning done and done

I have to admit, I've let Steemit drain all of my time for fitness and exercise lately. My tan is gone from my almost daily walk/run in fact. You should see the pile of dishes in my sink for that matter. I'm a bad man!

Hahah! Yes, this was me the first couple of months on Steemit also. My business was being neglected because I kept wanting to publish more content. :)

Interesting. Up voted and following. Welcome to follow me after read my recent posts. Thanks and good day!
Be Free Always, All Ways!

This kind of looks like spam to me:

You might have more success building relationships by being real with people and connecting to them personally.

Sorry, new here. Did not know this was consider spaming. I was trying to be too efficient...my brother always talks about efficiency...I am open to your advice.

Thanks for this article @lukestokes! I will totally support this new fitness section. My next post will be tagged accordingly, promised. Exercise is important although some might say that it´s not :-) Our body´s our vehicle through this long and sometimes tiring life. So sports do keep us energetic, healthy and happy during a loooooooot of years! There is a scientifically proven correlation between physical and mental stabilty. My motor is surfing. In the water I got completely lost! I love to be exhausted when I get out of it and when I feel the muscle soreness the next day. I think everybody should find his/her sports and people in general would be more balanced. BTW: thanks for upvoting my last travel article :-) BR Marly

Thanks Marly! Being land-locked now, I'll have to surf vicariously through your travels. :)

Haha, this is also a nice form of travelling :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31