Bike, Hike, Run contest (Win SBD)

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

I'd like to try a small contest for active Steemians. This is the initial post and is an 'experiment'.
Norco.JPG

The contest is simple, post an activity that you did that was tracked via GPS (a hike, run/jog or bike ride) and post it along with a few photos. A story about your activity is a plus.

You can use the GPS in your smartphone to track your activity. There are apps like Strava or Mapmyrun that you can use for free to start, stop and save your activity.

1st place - 3 SBD, 2nd place - 2 SBD and 3rd place is 1 SBD. (I'm still a minnow) =) The current price of SBD is $5.75, so as of this writing 1st place is $17.25.

My activity posts will show the GPS route and the associated data. I'll usually have 3 photos and may write a bit about my activity. Here is an example of the GPS screenshots and a few pics:

Mountain bike ride at Quicksilver park in South San Jose, CA
strava.jpg

Data
data.jpg

Looking south towards Morgan Hill / Gilroy
IMG_1625.JPG

Overlooking south San Jose
southsj.JPG

I'll choose the winners by using the hashtags below by Sunday Jan 21st.
#steemithike
#steemitcycling
#steemitrun

If this series attracts physically active Steemians and gathers momentum, I may continue it a few times a month. (and have someone else choose the winners) An upvote on this post helps the payout. (Outside of my paid post promotion upvotes)

Sort:  

Does it have to be a new post? Or can I use one that I wrote a few days ago.

The activity should be this week. It's probably not the best time to do this contest as it's winter season in the U.S.

Its the best time to have the contest, because you'll find out whose committed! I'll be going for a nice ride Saturday so I'll be sure to post about it!
Love the challenge!

I would guess there would be more people when it warms up, but yes only committed people in the winter.

Gotcha, guess I'm riding tomorrow morning!

Because this is the first one, you may not have too much competition!

I really like your idea, it's a pity I already posted exactly what you are after a couple hours before you posted this. Check below for links to the cycling articles. I'll add some more to your tags this week.

https://steemit.com/cycling/@bullettoothtony/today-s-ride-had-views-and-a-crowd-3ccc224d10b31

https://steemit.com/cycling/@bullettoothtony/today-s-ride-had-no-legs

Sounds good, your ride post is pretty much what I'm looking for. GPS track and a summery of your ride!

I have no activity at this time since the weather in NY is crazy, perfect to catch and spread a flu, but all I can help is to spread the word.
RESTEEMED!

Its hard to work out in the snow, there is always skiing

Good photos, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Keep it up and grow your blog, the key for Steemit is being consistent and staying with this platform.

Excellent idea man, completely support :) It's just not time for me to have anything worth competition, since it is snowing around me ;) But I may post one small hike from other day..

Post any hike as long as it was the week of this contest. If there is snow, go skiing or snowboarding.

oh boy i saw this post and I'm doing it! but we'll see what happens haha.I live in PA not in California so will be a little bit more difficult for me but i love challenging myself!

Hope the weather is OK in PA, glad your on board. This contest is just shows that you worked out, there is no need to overwork yourself!

i love the shots you are perfect in taking shots love that

Thanks, they were just taken with a iPhone 5s

the trail bike is the best, and running too,that is not easy to do

You can always do a hike, running is hard especially if your not a runner.

Thats right ,but if you go that less to more ,grow up your meters running, you can

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

You got a 1.69% upvote from @upme requested by: @glennolua.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47