Day 173 Planking Report

in #fitness6 years ago


I started a challenge of taking 100 days off to mainly focus on my health and overall personal development and used this account as a personal blog. I enjoyed it to the extend where I turned it into a year long challenge were I try to find a good balance between health, work and my personal life...

This week I joined the planking challenge of @plantstoplanks. (See Announcemen Post). The idea is to make september into a month where I mainly work out my core knowing I would get some motivation from this challenge (These things always make a difference) and it is also nice to swith up routines and learn something new. A week has passed and this is my report.

  • Day 1: This was about the basic plank and how long the position can be maintained. I did not expect to break my previous record of 150 seconds but to my surprise I was able to last 180 seconds.

  • Day 2: This was about side planks. I intended to to 3x60 seconds on each side but only got around doing it twice.

  • Day 3: This brough the shoulder tap variation. By this time of the week I was less focussed on my core work outs and more occupied with learning how actifit works trying to make it into the top 5 that day. So I backwards rationalised to make this into a week getting to know the variations and just doing them at least once trying to also incorporate the previous plants into it.

  • Day 4: On Day 4 I got a bit more serious about building some actual muscles and went to buy some weights to strap around my ankles to get some resistance on my pull-ups and knee-ups. I also started testing out the creatine supplement just to see if that makes any difference. For as far as planking went, I did each of the previous variations once and also added the new leg raise plank into it for 60 seconds.

  • Day 5: This was by far the most productive day having a lot of motivation to do more with the idea of being to see some real progress soon. I did all plank varations including the new arm raise one and went for a run in the late afternoon first stopping at the public weitht lifting stand doing some weight exercises there and later stopping in the park to do an exta set of each of the planks.

  • Day 6: This was an off day and I took a break from all kind of planking. There was still some activity thoug as I went out to play tennis and really felt fitter than ever.

  • Day 7: yesterday was one of those days I really had to drag myself through. I had high ambitions at the start of the day planning to do 3 sets of each variation including the 2 new ones but I barely managed to do them all once.

Overall, I really enjoyed learning some new plank variations this week. While the amount of core workout I actually did was nowhere near what I planned to do (I tend to set high goals). Something I really learned during these 170+ days so far is that doing smaller efforts over a longer period of time while systematically reducing bad habbits really makes a huge difference. In that regard, I just keep grinding away slowly trying to imporve where I can knowing results fill follow.


Day 1 Day 2 Day 3
Day 4 Day 5 Day 6

Day 7


This post will be upvoted by some upvote bots after 24 hours which should give everyone who showed support some extra curation rewards! This is the best way for me to convert all earned SBD into more Steem Power so I can continue to increase the support I'm able to give back on Steemit over time!

Thanks !

Sort:  

This is perfect! Just what I was hoping to see. The good thing about having lofty goals is that even if you don't hit them 100%, you are probably still making progress! I would definitely agree though that small steady changes are a good way to continually move forward and be able to sustain positive growth. I hope you enjoy this week's planking, as well! :)

I'll join along with the planks again this week looking forward to see some more variations.
I'll probably have to stick to doing them during a couple day more intensively instead of daily, I'm already running right now. Thanks for the challenge.

Sounds like a good plan!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by byebyehamburgers from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 8.10% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @byebyehamburgers! Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @oceanwhale. Visit www.OceanWhaleBot.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45