Contest Time! Who is ready for a Plank Challenge??

in #contest6 years ago

Hey everyone!  So if you have followed me since the beginning, you may remember a little daily pumpkin exercise series I did counting down to Halloween last year.  To celebrate my blogging anniversary I decided to do something similar but all plank-themed!  I figured it would be an appropriate focus given my aptly chosen username. ;)



To up the ante a little bit I wanted to incorporate a contest into the workout series this time around.  I talked about how much the communities I am a part of on here have helped make my experience so enjoyable back in my anniversary post, so I am going to highlight a different community each week and not only award a few individuals who join in but also give back to each of the community pages or contests.  I thought it might also be fun to try to get members from each of those groups engaged even if it is just for the one week (out of a total of four).

Here will be the rundown of the groups I’m looking at paying it forward to and hoping to see some participation from:

  1. September 2-8: @steemusa
  2. September 9-15:  @vegansofsteemit
  3. September 16-22:  @runningproject
  4. September 17-29:  @cookwithus & @lenasveganliving’s #fruitsandveggiesmonday

Of course if you are not in any of those groups, please feel free to join in regardless!  Though I am going to share a whole range of plank variations and use a few different pieces of equipment, I will make sure to provide modifications and adjustments.  Each day I will post a different exercise with a quick video and cues in the post.  You can try out each exercise daily, or put them all together for a core workout at the end of the week.  Another fun way would be to start with the first variation then add on each day (example:  Day 1 you would do the first exercise, Day 2 the first and the second, Day 3 the first, second and third...all the way until you complete the full series on the final day of the week).

Challenge Guidelines:

1)  Comment on this or any of the exercise posts that you intend to join for the week!

2)  Upvote and resteem to get your friends involved!

3)  Create a single post at the end of the week based on your experience joining in and leave a comment with the link on the final exercise post of the week (8th, 15th, 22nd & 29th). I will accept entries up to 4 days after the final post of the week is up.

4)  Since I know some people may not like taking pictures or video themselves I’ll give you a few options to qualify for prizes.  Your post must follow one of these formats:

  • Include a video of yourself doing each of the variations and include your thoughts from the week.
  • Include a still shot of yourself doing each of the variations and include a small write up of how you felt doing each of the moves.
  • If you really prefer not to have pictures or videos, write up a detailed description of your experience completing the exercises.

Prizes:

I will pick two individual winners each week and give out 1 @steembasicincome share to each.  The winners don’t necessarily have to be in the featured group, but you may get special consideration for one of the tops spots if you are. ;)  For the group I will donate the earnings from the initial challenge post each week (splitting it on the final week between the two contests), so make sure to share around to make sure we can give some good rewards to very deserving and supportive communities!  This will count as the challenge post for @steemusa week!



Please feel free to reach out if you have any questions!  Check back in tomorrow for the first day.  I know we’re on a holiday weekend my USA folks, but that doesn’t mean we can’t get a little activity in.  If anything you should have more time to get moving, haha!

*Make sure to consult your health professional if you have any current medical concerns that may prohibit starting a new exercise program.


Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa 
Sort:  

I'm happy to join along Katie! This will give plenty of motivation and be a perfect way to make September into a core workout month. Always great to see these initiatives here on Steemit.

Awesome! I look forward to seeing what you think about all of the variations!

I'm looking forward to them, doing side planks was already something of a revelation to bringing some variation to it all. Thanks for hosting this challenge!

You'll be very familiar with today's. Happy to see some of you guys excited as I am about it! :)

Woohoo! @dksart is working on finishing up my demonstration videos for the first few weeks now. :)

Awesome I am definitely up for this RESTEEMED 😍 and by the way I just nominated you for the best pie competition
https://steemit.com/bestpie/@sallybeth23/best-pie-nomination-triple-layer-nice-cream-pie-carrot-pineapple-and-coconut-by-plantstoplanks

Yay for joining in, and thank you so much for the nomination! That is so sweet of you!

What a smart way to include all your communities. So i'm not understanding which plank exercises you want us to try?

I am going to post a new one each day, starting today! I am about to get the first one up here in a few minutes. :)

Cool I'll check in!

This is such a great idea! I mayyyyy have to join :) Not one to take pics of myself and post ;), kind of shy about that. I love this, a great incentive to get started working on you physical health!

I would love for you to join! I thought about the shy folks, too. ;) I can imagine some people will be just as eloquent writing about it even without any photos!

this sounds like just what I need. Let's see if I can hang with you all LOL

This sounds like just what
I need. Let's see if I can
Hang with you all LOL

                 - mariannewest


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Alright!! Love to see my USA folks joining in this week!

This is a great initiative you have started! And as much as I need to get in shape, I may try it, but it's kind of hard to get a selfie or video of myself. I will try to get someone to take a photo it I can participate, but as you probably know, this week my boyfriend is on leave from the military and coming up for a visit so I may not have much time to do a lot of these! I hope I can! I also resteemed this in case someone might be interested in participating!

Thanks so much! I am hoping to get a good crew of folks joining in from week to week. :) If you can't swing it this week, you are more than welcome to join in on the next one. I totally understand wanting to spend some time with him while he is around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45