What Tackle Do I Use! Freshwater; Rods/Reels!!!

in #fishing7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1717.JPG

To start I don't use expensive gear, unless its absolutely necessary. As long as it can catch fish and not break I'm happy. My father always told me" the fish isn't going to see your rod and reel", which I can't really disagree with.

IMG_1698.JPG

Above is a South Bend Microlite, 5ft rod. I have it spooled up with 8 lb test mono. This is my favorite rod and reel for freshwater fishing, especially in creeks and rivers. I have caught loads and loads of fish with this and the pleasure cost only 30$ at Dicksportingoods (not including a freshwater fishing license, although most Dicks do provide them)

The light action makes this rod great for live lining bugs and working small lures, especially spinners.

IMG_1720.JPG

Next is my Plusinno MB3000 A fairly cheap telescopic rod reel combo, $40 on Amazon.com. It folds to 1.5 ft and extends to 6.5 ft, medium action. Spooled up with 10 lb braid but I typically use a lighter flourocarbon leader. This rod is much newer to me and still has more fish through the guides than can be counted. Its seen many sunfish, big largemouth bass, and trout all the way to the salt water catching Atlantic herring. I can't wait to try it on the cocktail blues even snapper.

IMG_1692.JPG

All folded up Its hard to believe its actual size, though this makes backpacking easy. I prefer to use live baits over lures with this one. Often when I use live bluegill as bait I will catch them with the ultralight and throw them out with the Plusinno.

Both of these rod/reels will be coming with me tomorrow as I check out a river I barely know.

IMG_1748.JPG
IMG_1747.JPG
A pouch I made from a soft tanned cottontail fur obtained on a December hunt.

IMG_1721.JPG

Last but not least, my newest addition is my handline. I made this myself using a piece of maple and some thick string lead with 10 lb braid. the bobber is made from cork and the stops were made with maple as well.

IMG_1733.JPG

This is so new to me I have only practiced with it on my lawn. I cant wait until it warms up so it can be used without freezing my hands off.

These are the freshwater tools I have made and plan to make home in my heart. Cheap though they may be, the fish caught is the reel value. With their reels greased and fresh line spooled they are ready for a boat load of fun.

If you would like to see the the S.B. Microlight and the Plusinno in action check out my last fishing video.

https://steemit.com/fishing/@nickbuha/5vx19chl <<<
And If you haven't already tried take part in my latest contest (guess the fish in the picture)
https://steemit.com/contest/@nickbuha/guess-guess-what-fish-this-is <<<

Thank you for reading!
For more upvote & subscribe.

Sort:  

It is so nice to read a real fishing post by a real fisherman and not some spun and re-spun gibberish that most fishing posts here seem to be. I love your handmade hand line rig, that is really neat. Can't wait to see what you catch with it and your Plussino as well. Good luck!

Agreed!, and great point...

We agree and think you will find more posts like this in the @myhuntingfishing community and #myhuntingfishing tag. Thanks for stopping by and making such a great comment on @nickbuha's post. He is a highly valued member of our community!

Thank you very much, I guess you can say I try and keep it reel! lol Also Thank you @myhuntingfishing the community has grown a lot and its my favorite place click about these days.

Nice post, I have a SouthBend rod as well that use to be my grandfathers. He taught me the same as you were saying about the fish ain’t going to see your rod and reel. I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts!

Thank you very much, I hope I don't disappoint.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62647.29
ETH 2439.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66