New Editorial Role: Inside CFO

in #finance5 years ago (edited)


Image from Pixabay.

Those of you who have been keeping up know that I've been editing two niche online publications for the last couple of years. I started publishing Lending Times in August 2016 and picked up Blockchain Times in January 2018. Two weeks ago, I started editing Inside CFO, a new client.

Who Is Inside.com?


Inside is the brainchild of venture capitalist and longtime Internet entrepreneur Jason Calacanis. I love the concept. Instead of focusing on search engine optimization, social media shares, and content going viral, Inside seeks to build a loyal readership by focusing on high-quality content. That's right up my alley.

As a content writer and editor who has written more than 10,000 blog posts, who once owned an article directory, and who has made his living writing search engine optimized content for 13 years, I can tell you that quality of thought and quality of the content is way more important than quantity, virality, the number of social shares received, high traffic counts, or any of the typical metrics online marketers use to gauge their success. Readers are loyal to those who bring value to the relationship. And that's why I'm excited to be a part of the Inside editorial team.

Inside publishes quite a few email newsletters. These are subscription-based, so if you feel like you aren't getting the value you deserve and which is promised, you can unsubscribe. Here's a sampling of some of their titles:

And, of course, Inside CFO.


This is just a small sampling of Inside publications. There are plenty more. Chances are pretty high that you'll find a topic of interest no matter who you are. From recreational to professional, from political to social, Inside.com is sending out email newsletters every day to thousands of subscribers interested in specific information on their interests.

My Path to Inside.com


My online writing and editing career started in January 2006. It might have started sooner, but I was a National Guard officer in 2004 when my unit was activated and I spent all of of 2005 in Iraq. Prior to that, I was a newspaper editor for a small town weekly from August 2000 until I went active duty four years later. As a newspaper editor, I was able to secure several industry awards, including first place awards for editorial writing, headline writing, page design, and general excellence from the Texas Press Association. I also won first place awards for editorial writing, column writing, and special sections editing from the North and East Texas Press Association. Additionally, I won multiple second and third place awards for various categories from both organizations. But the achievements I'm most proud of are the three first place awards I received from the Dallas Bar Association for excellence in legal reporting.

I believe it was my experience as a newspaper editor during those early years of the new millennium that most prepared me for editing online publications. From 2006 to 2013, I worked as chief operations officer of an online content production company that specialized in blogs, articles, and website content. Under my watch, we managed more than $10,000 per month in content production for practically the entire seven years. In 2013, I started Taylored Content LLC and went out on my own.

I'd kept my eye on bitcoin and some of the larger fintech companies for a few years. In 2015, I snagged my first client in the fintech space, a pioneer in real estate crowdfunding. That assignment, though short lived, led to my relationship with Sharestates, another real estate crowdfunding platform, which is still one of my most loyal ongoing clients today.

I pride myself in keeping my clients for longer durations than the average freelance writer. In this business, there is a lot of turnover, for a few reasons. But my clients tend to stick around longer.

It wasn't long before Sharestates introduced me to the owner of Lending Times. At first, I wrote a few articles for him, then, when he began looking for an editor, he tagged me. I ended up taking the job, and he's still one of my best clients today, one for whom I manage two ongoing projects. I've also written or edited white papers, e-books, blog posts, pitch decks, infographics, and more, for a slate of other clients such as global management companies, cryptocurrency hedge funds, lawyers, real estate professionals, accountants, and more. It is this pedigree that makes me proud to add Inside.com to my list of clients.

I'm looking forward to bringing the latest news about the world of finance to chief financial officers everywhere. If you have something you think I'd be interested in, send me a note and let me know to [email protected].

While you're here, check out the backside 5:

review me
Review Me, Please

speculative fiction writers of steemit
Created by @EdibleCthulhu


PHC-Footer-05.gif


promo mentors

helpienaut

Narrative
Join me on Narrative

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://tayloredcontent.com/new-editorial-role-inside-cfo/

Sort:  

Congratulations that look like it will be an interesting venture.

I never been a big fan of SEO and trying get social media numbers. I swear every self-proclaimed “expert” I see on twitter is just doing a massive f2f train.

I have been putting a little more effort in on my own content including what people search for in some of my posts. Still rather new to it so always something new to discover.

I hope their business model of just creating good quality content works out. Consumer loyalty seems quite important these days. Some brands just don’t seem to get that. I knew I would rather focus on quality over quantity any day of the week. Just feels personally more rewarding.

SEO still has its benefits. But if you aren't producing quality content that brings value to your audience, you can SEO your content all you want. If you manage to get a No. 1 ranking in Google and no one visits your content or engages with it in a meaningful way, that No. 1 ranking won't pay your bills. So SEO is important, but quality is much more important. SEO + quality is a real good combination.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blockurator from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi, @blockurator!

You just got a 0.64% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I love your work and commitment to quality content! I look forward to exploring some of the Inside newsletters, too. Thank you ♥

You made a perfect shift from printed media to online publications my friend and I am honored that a man of your stature commented on one of my posts.
Blessings!

You have an impressive background and career in editing. You must be making really good money.

Thanks. I'd make more money if I didn't play around on Steemit and Narrative so much. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31