Filmmaker's Diaries: Letting projects go and embracing focus!

in #filmmakersdiaries5 years ago

Hello and welcome to another Filmmaker’s diary! - 02/02/2019

Last night was terrible…Had very, very little sleep. Went to work and had a headache all day.

Last night before the insomnia time, I worked quite a bit on some t-shirts. As I’ve mentioned I’m also launching a clothing brand… but get this the t-shirts I worked enlist night were not even part of the brand…

So I had all this work… for the side hustle of the side hustle of the side hustle. Then when I was about to lunch some facebook adds… I realized I couldn’t. My plan was to target people who had liked some particular pages… well … I could not use a single page.

But here is the epiphany:

I’ll stop working on the T-shirts for now. Maximum I’ll get all the designs for the first collection ready. I have been working on it forever but I believe I must achieve it for now.

Hard choices must be made. I do have the problem of doing too many things at once… (Talking about having a resting day a week)

And like it says in one of Napoleon Hill’s book “No other activity is more dangerous to achievement than to do several things at once” It’s not written exactly like that, but that’s the idea.

The amount of energy and time and money is just too big at the moment. I can not cover it. I still need to figure out international taxes… brand registration… a bunch of things and expenses.

I’ll focus 100% on the video production (and filmmaking of course) It’s already all set in, company web site… all of it. Maybe the drone I have will even be ok for a few gigs…

So for now, videos… 100% all my time and energy. If I can still get the clothing thing this year, great if not next year it is. Plus the potential income with videos is quite interesting.

So that’s the “lesson” of today. Not easy to make, since It’s been a long, long time… and now I’m almost very close. But it’s just not the right time. Too many other things going on and I need to focus.

(Plus maybe I can use some video income and who knows, really lunch it with some nice marketing and everything) Oh yeah… ash’s another one… really need to do lot’s of marketing for the Tees… and get like 5 Eur for each customer… Videos less marketing and more word of mouth.

Today I'm way too tired... to do anything else. Listen to a writing video and that's it.

As always, thank you for reading.

By Upvoting this post you are helping independent artist!!

If you like this, you can see the previous diaries for more reference:

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-welcome-to-droneland

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-welcome-to-the-sabbath-31-01-2019

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-been-a-bit-sick-29-01-2019

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-i-also-need-to-rest-26-01-2019

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-the-future-of-music-licensing

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-excited-about-the-next-three-days

Photos (except Logo) from Pixabay.com

Word Logo- croped.png

Sort:  

From the still here, I imagine the films are stop motion? I hope so, I love stop motion.

P.S. you wrote "lunch" several times, and I think you mean "launch".

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the tip. I was Launch indeed. Thanks.

No it's not stop motion... I like it, but I'm more experience n life action. HAve some ideas for stop motion.

Este post recebeu 5.00% de upvote da conta @steemitportugal!
Obrigado por fazeres parte da comunidade @steemitportugal .


Telegram_PT2.jpg

Sounds like a wise decision to me. You are not an octopus. Nobody is made to multitask or focus on too many projects at the same time. It just makes you scatterbrained. I'm pretty sure that doing less things also makes your sleep improve, eventually.

I remember reaching a point, about 4 years ago, when I was working as a teacher, where I felt so stressed out with my work load that I decided to make a list of all the separate classes that I was teaching and the projects that I had on the side. The sheer amount of it made my head spin. From that moment onwards, I realzed that I had to do ( way ) less.

These days, I'm trying to do as little as possible and enjoy it more. I also prioritize what is most important. Everything that does not really need to happen, will be cut out.

Take it easy, amigo! :>)

Yeah, for sure. That's also the thing when you have way too much you can't really enjoy it either... there's always a part of your brain taking you away from the present moment.

And I could be better at prioritizing also...

"It's a hell yes!! or a No"

exactly, it’s hard to enjoy and - let’s be honest - enjoying life is the most important thing we can do :>)

btw, I would love to hear your opinion on my latest movie post, if you got something to say about 1970s movies

Posted using Partiko iOS

For sure!!

I'll read it tomorrow and leave a comment.

Hello @maxjoy, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78