Daily Movie Recommendation: Philomena (2013),Genre- Drama (very good)🎬🎥

in #film7 years ago (edited)

maxresdefault.jpg

Philomena (2013)

a Themovieplace short review and recommendation to the Steemit Community

Today I selected the movie Philomena (2013) for the daily movie recommendation which is directed by Stephen Frears and his most popular films are:High Fidelity (2000), The Queen (2006), Dangerous Liaisons (1988), Florence Foster Jenkins (2016).
Is a director from which I have not seen many movies but I'm interested in seeing a few and they are:My Beautiful Laundrette (1985),Dangerous Liaisons (1988), The Grifters (1990), Dirty Pretty Things (2002), The Queen (2006), Florence Foster Jenkins (2016).
I have avoided this movie ever since I heard first time about it on the Golden Globes in 2014 and only three weeks ago I decided to see it and despite the small expectations it turned out to be a very good movie with Steve Coogan at the forefront being also an actor I have not sympathized so far until this movie.
Let's get started and see why I liked this movie and I'll explain a few things about it.

Review

1.JPG

I want to start saying that the movie is based on real facts and the story was very captivating but also sad at the same time.
The movie begins with the dismissal of Martin Sixsmith who served as press secretary and because of depression he came to see a doctor.
The doctor suggested him to make jogging instead of writing about the history of Russia something that Martin wants to do in his free time especially now when he is unemployed.

2.JPG

Jane meets Martin at a party where she works as a waiter and she accidentally heard that he is a journalist and she wants from him to write a story about her mother Philomena who gave birth when she was very young at the monastery Sean Ross Abbey known as being a mother and baby home operated between 1930 to 1970, and was sent there by her father .
Martin refuses for the first time Jane's request but eventually accept and is ready to meet Philomena to find out more details from her.

3.JPG

Philomena tells Martin that she was supposed to stay 4 years after she gave life to Anthony at the monastery where she had to work hard daily and was allowed to see his son just an hour a day.
Anthony has been taken away from Philomena and was adopted by a family when he was still a baby and nearly 50 years passed since she has not seen him.

4.JPG

Philomena and Martin they start looking for Anthony and the adventure begins at Sean Ross Abbey but they find out that the adoption records were destroyed in a fire years earlier and the nuns they can't help them with anything and they get into a very difficult situation .
That's all what am I going to tell you about the story because the rest you can find out if you see the movie and I don't want to ruin the movie and I think it's enough of what I said.
As I said above in the post, I avoided long time this movie and I'm sorry I did not see it earlyer but it is better later than never.
Is a drama that saddens you but appear also the British humor which is very well included I really enjoyed the actors how they played especially Judi Dench who had an Oscar and Golden Globe nomination for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role, but i liked also Steve Coogan being his best role so far from what I saw and I changed my opinion about him in a good way.
I'm curious about your opinions,also don't forget to request the movie genre which you like to be recommended for tomorrow.

My rating 8/10

Movie Trailer

Director

Stephen Frears

Writer

Steve Coogan
Jeff Pope

Cast

Judi Dench
Steve Coogan
Sophie Kennedy Clark
Mare Winningham
Barbara Jefford
Ruth McCabe
Peter Hermann
Sean Mahon
Anna Maxwell Martin
Michelle Fairley
Wunmi Mosaku
Amy McAllister
Charlie Murphy
Cathy Belton
Kate Fleetwood

If you like my posts just FOLLOW ME @themovieplace and Upvote my post.

My recent recommendations:

https://steemit.com/film/@themovieplace/daily-movie-recommendation-the-sure-thing-1985-genre-romance-very-good

https://steemit.com/film/@themovieplace/daily-movie-recommendation-rec-2007-genre-horror

https://steemit.com/film/@themovieplace/daily-movie-recommendation-my-man-godfrey-1936-genre-comedy-a-must-see-movie

Sort:  

great

I will love to watch this movie

You will not regret it.

Great. Thanks for sharing. I'm starting to follow you.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 100.00 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @themovieplace. Steem on my friend!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by themovieplace from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67