Bedevilled: The most upsetting movie i have seen in ages

in #film6 years ago (edited)

Let's put this out there right at the start: If you are easily shocked or offended - do NOT watch this movie.

However, if you like good storytelling that has a fantastic buildup and actually makes you feel something while you are watching it.... then watch this movie. Just be expected to get upset at some point during it. I did.

heropage-980x560_25.jpg
it really is something else guys

So, if you don't know anything about Korean movies the main thing you need to understand is that they first off, tend to be in Korean. Therefore, if you are not comfortable in reading English subtitles (likely to be the only ones available) or just happen to be completely fluent in Korean, than this is probably an unlikely interest choice for you.

That being said: Korean film (in a general sense) is truly remarkable. I continue to buy these films on a regular basis because at least for me, as an American, they break all the rules. You don't know the outcome of the film when you sit down and let's be honest... if you go to the latest Tom Cruise blockbuster you already know.... you KNOW , that regardless of the insurmountable circumstances facing his character that he is going to eventually win. Oh sure, he might occasionally have some sort of terrible setback that makes it appear as though the baddies might emerge victorious but well, Tommy always pulls it together in the end, normally with very little time remaining.

007 movies, although polished and entertaining always result in James winning in the end.

From the moment the credits of "Gladiator" started you knew that Russel Crowe's character was going to come out on top.

You do not know this when you sit down to a Korean film. Such is the case with Bedevilled.

bedevilled-02.jpg

At the start of the film it isn't even terribly evident what the film is even about or even who the main characters are. It isn't until well into the (very engaging) story that we, the audience, even understand where they are going with the storyline. But the entire time, you will be drug through emotions that make you want to throw something across the room. To me, this is good storytelling.

If you recall a few days ago I blogged about a game called "INSIDE" and i liked this game because they didn't tell you how to feel.... they let the art tell the story for itself.

I want to see a movie that will make me feel something and not just attempt to "wow" me with 100 million dollars of special effects.

I can't say too much about this movie without doing a spoiler thing... So i am going to be intentionally ambiguous and just say go and watch this movie if you can understand that it is shocking and graphic and also you will likely need to read it because it is in Korean.

220px-BedevilledPoster.jpg

The film premiered as an official selection of International Critics' Week at the 2010 Cannes Film Festival. I don't know much about what goes on at Cannes, but I'm pretty sure you have done something pretty special if you are invited. Especially if your movie happens to be from Asia.

Seo Young Hii, the top-billed actress in this movie has won multiple awards for her role in Bedevilled and she definitely deserves that

The film was made for under $700,000 and i don't know how much they made off of it but I am sure it was much much more than this.

I have intentionally not included the film trailer and if you are interested in my point of view on things I highly recommend you do NOT watch the trailers either. They spoil entirely too much of the movie. That's the thing about Korean cinema. You have to trust the directors to not rip you off. They have a good story and they tell it. If they fail, you avoid that director in the future. Simple economics.

again... before you watch this I want to warn once again that parts of it are very shocking and graphic.

Thanks for reading, and i hope you enjoy what i do here.

Sort:  

Oh man, finally, you posted on something am totally in sync with, i mean 100%, Korean movies are the best, sorry i saw the post so late anyway, i encountered Korean Movies when i was in high school, what lead me to it was the fact that i wanted to improve my lexicons and facilitate my reading process so i started watching movies that demanded i had to read to subtitles to understand and that was when i came across my first Korean Movie "Boys Before Flowers", it was full of everything, action, drama, romance, thriller and above all totally unpredictable, from then i got hooked up, it was like taking getting addicted to hard drugs i couldn't stop.

I haven't watched bedevilled yet though so am grateful for introducing it to me, i will be sure to watch it. Great post

i hadn't ever seen a Korean movie until just a few years ago and now I keep searching for new ones to watch. The thrillers are my favorite. They are just so unpredictable. Thanks for reading!

oh really? lemme go through my collection and get you some nice recommendations

When I know the end of a movie after two scene, I consider such a movie as wack. Actually most of the locally made movies of my region are exactly like that, two scene and you could narrate the whole movie.

Korean movie are indeed a wide contrast to my region's locally made movie, for the few I have watched, I commend them.

I will go get the "Bedevilled" movie to watch.

Now you talk about things that interest me the most... Lol

Korea, Indian and Philippians movies are my top three movie. I love watching their movies for every fact you mentioned up there. The suspense, emotions, qualities and the likes.... The main character would not appear as such, you yourself would start wishing he or she have some magical power or something to defend him or herself.

Please, I will like you to see any of this movies too.

  1. Rustom
  2. Dishoom
  3. Dangal

You cannot regret watching any of the 3, the storyline, the graphics and everything was just too awesome.

I've not seen bedevilled, but I will surely love to see it.

if you go to the latest Tom Cruise blockbuster you already know.... you KNOW , that regardless of the insurmountable circumstances facing his character that he is going to eventually win.

Lol, that's the main reason I don't watch American movies again, you can predict the end from the beginning. Not all anyway.

correction

It should be bedevilled and not bedivilled sir. Lol

Those films you suggested. Are they something i can easily find/ buy online? Hope so because i will look. I am happy tosee you are a fan of Korean cinema... for realz

Yea, you can download any of them online... You will surely love the story line...

Okay @gooddream, I will watch your movie suggestion because you have yet to steer me wrong. Just a few questions .. not looking to spoil the thrill, just want to be prepared.

  1. Watch this with light on or off?
  2. Eat before or after?
  3. Wear an adult diaper? Yes or no?
  4. Go to bed right afterward?
  5. Have a coulsler on speed dial for post discussion?
  6. Watch this alone or with others?
  7. Will I develop any additional phobias after viewing?

BAHAhahaha. Obviously I’m playin with ya...except the one about a diaper. Thinking it May be a good idea.

You’re description of the movie was as though you set the suspense rolling in my head. I’ve seen some Koreans movie with my sister as she loves to watch. Wonderful storyline I must confess with most Korean movies I’ve seen so far.

007 movies, although polished and entertaining always result in James winning in the end.

That’s one thing I love 007 series, he wins strategically and of course I admire the technologies

Tom Cruise to me is a master of suspense and one of my favorite actors.
I’m definitely follow this movie up and I’d tell you my opinion when I watch it .

thanks for reading pal. I enjoyed your comment back.

You’re most welcome my friend

I really enjoy what you do. With the way you have spoken about the movie I sure will give a try at watching the trailer.

It’s just that sometimes it is really tough catching up with the subtitles in Korean movies. But they sure have good storylines.

i specifically said to NOT watch the trailer. haha

😄
I did. I loved it

I actually did follow the little instructions by not watching the trailer which was kind of tempting by the way. I really dont do much of writing so I would be straight honest. Am blown by this movie, Korean horror movies are definitely part of my favorites right about now. The subtitles were kind of lil stressful though because I made sure I followed every scene with all the details init. Blessing you for opening me up to korean movies in general. Not watching the trailer such made it amazingly Worth while.

What is the movie actually about though? Now I want to watch the trailer for a glimpse!

i don't know how to tell you about that without revealing the story. If you have never seen Korean movies (and i hadn't either until a few years ago) .... dude, dive in with this one. You wont regret it. The story can't be revealed in Korean movies because well, it isn't transformers.

If this is a really scary movie, I might not be able to handle it...

Movies? hmmmmm
I do love intelligent movies, but I am usually not a die hard for movies, if hear that a movie is great, I go for it.

Sincerely I have not watched this movie, but I trust your judgment.

I am good with subtitles, just recently watch an indian movie that required me using subtitles, and I was able to follow through the movie.

I will check the movie out and you are right their movie are actually not predictable.

I have to say that the warning of "don't watch this" only increased my curiosity for this film.

I usually enjoy watching out of regular / not mainstream movies, and coincidentally some days ago a friend of mine asked me if i had come across an interesting movie recently, so now i can tell him exactly what film to watch, although i dont think this will upset him, because he enjoys angst and stuff like that.

Anyways, thanks for the recommendation, or it wasn't ... Haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82