Fifty Words challenge - Halloween horror

in #fiftywords6 years ago

This week's 50-word challenge hosted by our dear @jayna, has a funny prompt: pumpkin.

How can you not think about Halloween and the funny jack-o-lanterns? All the joy pumpkins bring to children. Or at least this is what we, parents, believe. 🙂

The photo I used for this story is a portrait of my son's favourite lamp.


PSX_20181013_230051.jpg
Huawei P20, f/4, 1/13 s, 3.81 mm, ISO1600, Photoshop Express edited

Fear was making his little feet tremble. Those starry eyes seem to follow him everywhere. And the toothless mouth grinning... It was too much to bear, too much to cope with. Why is he supposed to endure this ordeal every single year?
"Come on, Chris... It's just a harmless pumpkin."

steemit-border

Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif

WorldWildFlora Discord server: https://discord.gg/sRY4du9

QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Oh yes, some jack-o-lanterns are scare for little kids! I remember being afraid of them when I was little. And every year since seeing Halloween, the movie!

And when you think that parents believe they make a good thing for their kids.... 😂
I don't like horror movies. If I'm not mistaken Halloween (the movie) is to be blamed for this. 🙂

Self-inflicted fear, I guess. Our society does a lot of self-inflicted punishments :)
Horror houses, for instance. Why would someone pay to be scared? It beats me

I cannot imagine why either. We have a place here in Romania which is supposed to be Dracula's castle. Scary stuff all over the place and the special beverage: vampire blood. This actually being a very thick red wine. And quite strong.
The rest of the props consists of funny things: plastic fangs, kitschy masks etc. I wouln't pay a dime to see this place (I was invited once by a friend and this how I ended up there), however they make constant profit. I really fail to see the fun in this.
Thank you for your comment. 🙂

Wow. That's fascinating. Thank you, for the thought provoking story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65988.06
ETH 3414.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67