A shot at this weeks #fiftywords FAIR

in #fiftywords6 years ago

jaumark 34.jpg

Out of the still mist she rode.
Grim black atop a white steed.
Scythe in hand poised to strike.
Teeth flashing eager white
_
Below hordes fought with clashing steel.
So close to her with each strike
The King clothed in glorious red.
Catches her familiar stare.
_
Old friends finally united.

So, the prompt for this weeks Fiftywords challenge put together by @miniature-tiger was FAIR. Now, originally my concept was going to center around an idea of a fair lady. Describe her beauty and some relevant story...

But, in the back of my head another concept in my subconscious was brewing. It's been doing a lot of that today. Brewing concepts outside of my control. The concept was fairness. What is fair. What was a beautiful lady riding out of the mist for some romantic reason evolved into something more.

That old adage, 'live by the sword, die by the sword,' which is what happened to this king. A man who had fought countless battles, seen lady death so many times, become so familiar with her as to warrant a strange, morbid friendship, is finally united with her.

Was he right, was he wrong? Was he the good guy, or was he the bad guy? In the context of this story it doesn't matter at all to me. What's fair is that he died the way he lived. Did he want to go, probably not. I don't think anyone ever really does.

I hope you enjoyed this short #fiftywords story. I had a blast writing it, and look forward to checking out some of my fellow writers works :)

Michael

the header photo was shot a while back by me with my buddy Jaumark, who happens to be an amazing Mua/model combo

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 03:24:56
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 697.48/800.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 66
Total contest wins: 10
And have also received a 1.17 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Cool short, did you do the photography too most excellent my man well done sir

Yeah! Was from a random get-together with a buddy a while back :)

Nice b&w picture 👍

And yes I did enjoy the short story and learned a couple of new words, thank you

Steed and scythe, had to google that 😂

That is so cool! The more vocabulary the better! Knowing different ways to say things can really improve writing :) Thanks for coming by and taking the time to read!

Fantastic writing and photo to go with it

A short tale, but one that tells a much greater story indeed :)

I like to plant seeds, hehe. :)

They certainly grow through well sir :)

A novel concentrated into fifty well crafted words. Peace

Hehe, beautiful response. Thanks @platosgroove! :)

A poem instead of a story, you little rebel you... :D
It was a nice thing to read.
Until I've read your explanation I didn't get that anybody died, that's not in the poem. My take on this is that the king got his fair opponent, an equal one so the fight will be fair. But I suppose if you think of the actual "death" riding to meet him than you explanation makes sense :) I envisioned a female warrior using a scythe :)

Hehe, the death is kind of subtle.
The King clothed in glorious red. <----where he's killed by the ones he's fighting
Catches her familiar stare. <-----they make eye contact, familiar for so many fights
Old friends finally united.
<-----he dead. real dead. lol :)

Thanks for reading and let me know what you thought!

Yes yes, I get your point, but he could have worn red (like most kings do), opponents at battlefields catch each other stare and old friends often became enemies. Why does always someone have to die in your stories? :D

I loved it and I love how it can be interpreted in different ways. Metaphors are funny that way you know, they leave a space for the reader to take from the story what they want. If a writer wants everyone to have the same take on the story and the same opinion, he or she needs to be direct and obvious. You are not like that and I adore that about you 💚

When I write, there is nothing that makes me happier than seeing different people figuring out the story in their own different way.

Wow, that is a very different little piece than I expected based on the photo. I thought you were going to take me into a futuristic world, but instead I found a steed, a warrior woman and a king. What a surprising little combo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43