Honeymoon: A story in 50 words

in #fiftywords6 years ago

connor-dugan-588512-unsplash (2).jpg

"Get the bow down" he screamed as the kayak, picking up speed, careened across the lip of the fall, pitching her forward to dash her head on the cockpit rim and sending her hurtling headlong down through a curtain of water to be enveloped by the pillowy white pool below.

===========================

Posted in response to the 50 word challenge by Jayna which you can
see here

Sort:  

death, death death Ms Weirdy, I am beginning to wonder about you. Why not a love story for a change. Once upon a time................

Great short story with a VERY strong ending! No kayaking on honeymoon for me. Actually I'm going to extend that to no kayaking, period! #yeahnotworthit. ;)

Hey brisby, welcome welcome and thanks for your comment.

May I also take this opportunity to thank you for your recent random act of kindness. It was so generous of you and quite unexpected.

You're welcome! It was one of the ways I wanted to tell you thank you for always being so helpful with visiting and delivering the prompts to the freewriters! From the beginning when help was asked you jumped right in and I appreciate that so much! Have a lovely weekend!

Ouch... That's going to hurt in the morning... At least the pool was pillowy, should help break the fall :o) Really good 50 words, very descriptive language and you managed to paint a great believable scene..

Thanks for your sweet comment and your optimism but regret to report she's dead as a dodo.

Nothing good ever comes after "regret to report...."

Regret to report that in breaking your fall your cat was killed, however, the bang to your head has completely restored your eyesight. There's always something to be glad about;)

Ever the optimist!! :o)

Commendable, if perhaps a tad difficult, in this veil of tears;)

oh she's totally going to be fine

Perhaps Pollyanna, perhaps.

Ouch!! In so many ways. But wow, this is really good.

Just as excellent as your story is the comment thread, which made me laugh out loud multiple times.

I have to agree with all the Pollyannas... maybe she will magically be okay. At the very least, if she must die, maybe she will instantly be transported to paradise and wonder why she didn't check out that action sooner!

No. I'm afraid she won't. Allow me to state definitively that she is brown bread, a goner, deceased. No magic, no paradise, no bugles. Sorry about that. Maybe next time.

Wait, wait, wait, because you're the author you get to say whether she gains access to paradise too? What are the rules here? Ha ha ha. Okay fine, you win. :-)

p.s. I'm commenting but only upvoting in a limited fashion at the moment because of a user error that caused my SP to drop below the required level to control my upvote percentage. As a result, all of my upvotes are at 100% (including upvotes on all comments) until I can fix it.

My blog, my rules and since this is the only narrative over which I appear to have any control, I'm afraid her doom is firm and irrevocable;)

As for upvotes, you have already given me at least a fortnight's quota, but the fact that you felt the need to explain speaks volumes. My thanks again for the challenge, the support and the laughs.

Well, you'll be happy to know that a) I figured out my user error and how to fix it by setting your VP percentage on busy.org, b) I wrote a post about how to do it, and c) I forgot that I was not on busy.org just now so I accidentally upvoted your comment 100%. Hee hee.

Oh no, it was accidental? I thought my comment was of such depth, such wit and perspicacity as to warrant a 100% upvote at the very least;)

Well yes, that too. And for that reason, no regrets!

I have to say it girl, I really like your style.

Terrifying :S I can only imagine how I'd react in that moment...

Sometimes morbid things are the most fun to write about though haha. Look forward to your next one!

Somehow there is more inspiration in the terrible and terrifying.
Thanks for the visit.

Oh noo!

Well yes, I'm afraid so!

Great post. You made a very clever use of the title. It is almost the first word in a 51 word story. Well done.

Um, ah, thanks...... I think.
Have you posted your comment on the wrong blog or is your abacus broken?

Screen Shot 2018-04-11 at 13.08.49.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51