The Blue Balcony - a 50-word short story about money

in #fiftywords6 years ago

blue-balcony.png

line8.png

Boy Jeremy stood on the blue balcony, when grandfather visited. „What will you do with the money I gave you for your piggybank?“

„Buy time!“

„Why?“

„Mom works hard and barely has time for me. With money I can buy one day with her. With money I can buy everything!“

line8.png

Thank you very much for reading!

This is my entry for the 50-word story contest by @jayna - If you love writing, you can join here https://steemit.com/challenge/@jayna/new50-wordshortstorychallengeandannouncement-6oh5ldwft7

Sources: Photograph and Short Story @anutu

line8.png

footer-anutu-2a.png

Logo - 300px - The Welcome Wagon.png
@welcomewagon - Welcome Wagon logo designed by the amazing @penderis

Sort:  

Nice story, @anuty. It reminds me of a parable I read once in college. Made me decide to always have time available for my kids, even if that would cost me a job. It did cost me a lot of things and at the end i ended up not having them with me. But that was worth it, every minute.

It also reminds me of Jamey Johnson's song (The Dollar).

A beautiful message. Time and money have always had an oximoronic relation, dramatized in recent cinema in In Time

Thank you @hlezama! This is hard. I would have made exactly the same decision.
Yes, I think in life it is about the moment. Every valuable minute, that we hold in our hearts forever.

Cesare Pavese once said "We don't remember days, we remember moments."

I really enjoyed your story, @anutu. It makes me want to hug that little boy!

This is so kind of you, so glad you enjoyed it.
This is so true, Jeremy has his very own way to deal with money, but for sure wants more time with his Mom. I wanted also to show the impact of our modern society and the difficulties that parents are facing today.

If only it were possible. We sell most of our lives by the hour too cheeply to people who dont deserve it. This is a lovely capture of a child's innocent take on life 💕

This is so true @eveningart, time is so valuable, time together with people we love even more. <3

That's really touching!! There is only so much money can do, a quality time spent with family or loved ones is just priceless..

How sweet and innocent that child is..

Oh I am so glad you like it @audreybits. Time together with persons you love is priceless. When I found my big love it felt like time stood still, like stopped. Oh I would love to have the power to stop time for just a moment.
xx

There are times that I so wish I could do that too, some moments are just too beautiful to pass by so quickly. But well, we have no power over it, all we can do is enjoy those beautiful moments while they are here.

Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, the moment is what counts, this is so true.

Congratulations @anutu! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you very much for this!

oh my goodness!!!!!!!!!!!

i absolutely love this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

the mind of a child. Simple - and yet straight to the heart! in this way - you almost CAN buy time!

Excellent post @anutu!!!!!!!!!! this one is giving me chills!!!!

Yes, this is something I always wanted to do with money ... buy time :)
So I tried to put my childhood experiences into 50 words

Thank you so much @dreemsteem!! <3
xx

was this you???? I didn't know! hehehehe

that blue balcony stirs my heart, by the way. I don't know why.... it just does :)

Moved my own experience with this story to the blue balcony, that I have photographed here before. Wanted to have a connection with our beautiful island.

Had not really an idea about money at this time, I was very young. Sitting of our terrace still believed I could buy everything for money, even time. I felt lonely and different in a way there.

but.... it's a little bit true... that you can buy time! :)

if you can purchase the time so that someone doesn't have to go to work.. hehehehe then... accomplished ;)
well.
i guess it's still up to them to spend that time with you, right?

i'm sorry that you ever felt so lonely and different. I'll have to send you a special post of mine in SM :)

Yes, so true ... there is still the free will ... you are so right @dreemsteem <3
xx

Very strong words, @anutu! Somehow the image of this gorgeous old and timeless building stays in opposition of the always slipping time. This is the feeling your post evoked in me. Great job done here!

Thank you very much @ravijojla, this was indeed my idea when I wrote it. You did describe it so great. So happy you enjoyed it <3

Love that you did it like this!

Do you know something, that's such a great piece. One of the best I've seen... A sad consequence of modern society... Too much distractions and 2 parents working to try and make ends meet.. Where did it all go wrong.. Kids just want our attention, not half of it or 30%, but undivided attention even just for a little while. They crave it. They need it. Great first attempt at fiftywords..

Thank you very much @ablaze! This is so true, I agree 100% with everything you said. Where did it all go wrong...

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

Ha ha ha ha ha
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
Ha ha ha ha ha

                 - tamiz


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54819.76
ETH 2295.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31