[Fiction] Adventures of Mark Johnson: Chapter- 7 | @vinyprop OriginalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Open The Door


OpenTheDoor.jpg


As decided the night before, I started early in the morning; on my hunt to acquire and assemble-as much as I possibly could-the required missing pieces of the story, which my fiction writer mind was weaving together.

On my way to meet up the “person”, I wanted to, a thought arose in my head: “Before I see him, why not spend a tiny bit more time on preparation? Getting another chance after today’s meet with him might not be as simple.”

After a minute of prudential thinking, I changed my course of action and settled upon to re-visit the same muddy path, I had accidentally landed upon, in the dark of the night. Having gotten a feeler of the place and the broad daylight to go along with it, were the differentials from yesterday to today.

“This was the turn which took me to that path, out of the village.” I said to myself. “And what is up with all of these houses here?” There were five houses, in totality, in the near vicinity to the approach road what goes out of the village and, towards the “muddy path”, I had seen last evening.

There was something peculiarly common amongst each one of those houses, which really got me curious. Off came my trusty dairy out and, an entry got logged in it.

With an intent to uncover this mystery, I knocked the door of the house which directly faced the approach road to the “muddy road”. I must have, tapped the metallic latch against the gate repeatedly and, waited for it to open up. But, there wasn’t any response from the house, as if, either it was deserted or no one was inside currently.

I tried my luck with the other three houses too, but the result was unchanged. All I was left with; was the last house in the vicinity. I repeated the process of knocking the gate again; the only difference being, this time around the gate I saw was a heavily reinforced piece of thick steel, instead of the wooden one, found on the other houses.

It was a lucky strike on my part, as finally, I had hit the bullseye. That was one moment in my life when the squeaking of that gate sounded like ragas (musical tunes) to my ear. “It was about time!” I said.

A florid-faced young but stout girl opened the door. “Hello ma’am! I was just passing by and got intrigued with your house. Would you mind, if I may, ask for a few minutes of your time I pleaded to her.


End of Chapter- 7


Previous Chapters:
1- Chapter- 1: The "Ancestral" Village
2- Chapter- 2: The Haveli
3- Chapter- 3: Legend of the Village
4- Chapter- 4: The Local Bazaar
5- Chapter- 5: The Banyan Tree
6- Chapter- 6: The Muddy Path


Would you consider to please follow me @vinyprop & upvote this post, if I tell you that I publish a new post every single day?


@vinyprop.jpg


Sort:  

Awsome writing ,thrilled with knocking doors as no one is there to respond.I want to see the girl.....through your eyes viny

Thank you so very much for all the encouraging words. Much appreciated. :)

@vinyprop, must say I am in awe of your write ups. Quite a synthesis of intellect and emotion present in your track with twists. Looking forward for the interesting relevations.

Good read, man! Upvoted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97