[Fiction] Adventures of Mark Johnson: Chapter- 1 | @vinyprop OriginalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

The "Ancestral" Village


ANCESTRALVILLAGE.jpg


“The time just flies, doesn’t it? The only constant thing in this world is change, and look how we have changed. I still remember our summer holiday times, when all we wanted to do was to play hide and seek from morning to evening, while taking small resting breaks under that big banyan tree every now and then. No need to fret for anything, not even for food. Play the whole day and get back home before the night fall. It almost feels a feeble dream to me, as before we could realize, all of us headed out towards our own very ways in the pursuit of attainment. Weren’t those some days Mark?” Catechized my friend Adam. “Oh yes Adam, I truly cherish those golden days of our lives.” I affirmatively responded.

“Adam, how many years it has been since I returned to this place again? I have been away for so long that now I have lost count of it.” I inquisitively asked. “Man, it feels like eternity to me, but yeah it must have been two decades, at least, if not more.” Adam replies.

I had returned to my ancestral village “Kashi” after nearly two decades. My village has traditionally been a peaceful and fun loving place, situated on the banks of river Sabari which flows along the root of a mountain, in the far flung jungles of Jharkhand, and close to a 100 miles away from the nearest city, which happens to be Raipur. This village of mine was and even today, continues to be stuck in the past. This must have been the primary reason which would have triggered the need for my families migration to Delhi, leaving all our ancestral property behind to rot and decay.

My father was the first son of this village who had got an opportunity to have formal education, all thanks to my grandfather, who never saw face of a school himself, but had the open minded outlook towards education. Back in the days, attaining a formal education was deemed pointless, as being the landlords of the area that we were, we already had enough wealth and lands to support a lavish lifestyle, ”lavish” being subjective of course, was a breeze. But my father fought with the village community and sent my father abroad to get himself literate.

When my father returned to his village, after finishing his education of a barrister, he only had one objective on his mind and that was to bring his village out of the darkness of illiteracy and free the residents of the village from the clutches of superstition and mythical doctrine, they were taught to believe since childhood. This was the time when India was still under the ruling of theBritish and a barristers degree could have fetched big emolument. If my father wanted, he could have accepted the countless number of offers that went pouring in, on his way. But, for the greater good of his people, he constructed a school in the village itself and settled there as a teacher.

He would go to each and every house, asking and explaining residents to send their children to school. He would spend several hours every single day, only trying to spread awareness amongst the villagers for the importance of literacy. I was only 5 back then when Adam, my friend & neighbour, myself would spend our whole day playing in the fields. Despite all the unyielding & relentless efforts from my father, people of this village were too backwards & adamant to any changes and the results weren’t too promising. The poor tribal population, of the village, wanted their kids to start earning bread for the family, right from the tenuous age of 5. They were reluctant to take a look at anything beyond the meagre short term gains. And the blindfolds of superstition, draped around their eyes, weren’t letting them accept any changes to their ancestral beliefs.

While my father was fighting for the betterment of the society, I on the other hand, was having a gala time. Playing the whole day, jumping from one tree to another and generally wreaking havoc in the village was my routine for most of the days. As they say, “the area right underneath a lamp happens to be the darkest” and something similar was happening with me and my father. Where my father was trying, everything he could, to literate the entire village, and on the contrary, I was drifting away in an opposite direction.


End of Chapter- 1

Would you please follow me @vinyprop & upvote this post, if I tell you that I publish a new post every single day?


@vinyprop.jpg


Sort:  

We should be thankful for our motherland and try to serve her in any form. Some times a person with a broad vision also can skip some important thing close to him .

I cent percent agree with you on that front. Thanks for the insightful advice. ☺️

hello @vinyprop ..loved this article ..I can see you and your father are very attached to your native ...which is very rare nowadays ..I believe we all should never forget from where we came on the name of progress ..great work..👌🏻👌🏻

Yes @nehachauhan, we all should remain attached to our roots, no matter how far we might have travelled from it.

@vinyprop, quite an interesting setup. Loved the quote "the area under the light is the darkest". Intriguing writeup. Watching for more.

Thank you so much @vidyabanjan for your persistent support and readership.. ☺️😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vinyprop from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @vinyprop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85