[Fiction] Adventures of Mark Johnson: Chapter- 5 | @vinyprop OriginalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

The Banyan Tree


BanyanTree.jpg


I shut my eyes in disbelief almost as if I just wanted to disembark from believing in them, so I stood there envisaging, “Is this the same banyan tree, it once used to? This gigantic structure and a home to a number of birds, decorated with green leaves and thousands of shoots, embedded deep into the ground.” Only ruins of a tree were left in it now. A bald comatose skeleton of stem and branches. I had so many fond memories associated with this very tree, and it felt as if someone just wiped out the most cherished part of my childhood.

“Let me take a look around”, I said to myself, as by now, more than just a “want”, it had become a “need” for me to apprehend the real reason behind sullying of one of my most favourite things in this village.

Only a few minutes of looking around and something unusual caught my eyes. I took my wallet dairy out and scribbled my findings on it, before keeping in back into where it belonged. While I was busy with my investigations, an apparently old female voice drew my attention towards it.

“What a shame! Isn’t it?” Said this old woman, who stood right behind me, only at a hands distance to where I was. “I feel too bad of what happened to this tree.” She said.

“It’s quite so!” I replied. “Hello ma’am! Any idea what might possibly be the reason for it to be in a state, that it is right now?”
“What else could it be? It’s a work of the satanic power- the same one which killed Bethany, about 5 years ago and turned her husband its slave. Do you know, she was found dead, hanging from this very tree? Ever since that incident, this tree has kept dying, one-day at a time.” The old lady speaks with shuddering voice of hers.

“Oh, is that so?” I questioned her back with astonishment in my stride. “You said there is a link between Bethany’s death and this tree’s current state!” Seldom had I showed my desperation for something, to anyone, but here I could not hide it from the lady. While I was still trying to balance the matter in my mind, the old lady spoke. “Do not get into these muddy waters, it might turn out to be detrimental for you.” And this time her tone had a hidden message for me. Almost akin to a threat.

“Thank you for your suggestion, ma’am, but I am fine. I can handle any situation, which may arise.” I responded to her, although her threat has risen a lot of questions in my head, for her.

“How impolite of me, to have not given you my introduction. Also, before I do, may I please ask for yours?” I probed her.

“Son, I am Jean Turpin, mother of Dave Turpin - the spice merchant. Your life must be quite too precious for your loved one, hence I suggest you to leave this place and go back to where you have come from, as early as possible.” Said Jean.
“I shall be on my way soon, ma’am.” I replied to her and started back for my haveli.


End of Chapter- 5


Previous Chapters:

1- Chapter- 1: The "Ancestral" Village
2- Chapter- 2: The Haveli
3- Chapter- 3: Legend of the Village
4- Chapter- 4: The Local Bazaar


Would you consider to please follow me @vinyprop & upvote this post, if I tell you that I publish a new post every single day?


@vinyprop.jpg


Sort:  

Very interesting story,when we visit a place after so long it gives us so many surpprises .Curious to know more about the next one

Hello @vinyprop ..fantastic writing ...loved the investigating part ..making it more interesting ..looking forward to the next chapter ...👌🏻👌🏻

@vinyprop, the more I read, the more I am captivated by the turn of events in your track. There is always something intriguing coming up which keeps me glued to your tracks. Wondering what's coming next. 😃

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vinyprop from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64444.96
ETH 3506.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58