How Zombies were created in a basement (Zombie Chronicles, Part 1)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Zombie

Zombies had always been a topic of special interest for Professor Smith. For years, he had done research on different parasites that affected animals. He couldn’t help but wonder what would happen if one of these parasites one day decided that humans were their preferred host after all.

His lectures had always been full, but people didn’t really take him seriously. He had offered his research to the military, but all he got were calls from writers who needed new ideas for movies and video games. He never wasted his time with them.
In the end, he realized that he needed to deliver proof of his theories, or else nobody would ever believe him.

It had become clear pretty soon that a complicated organism like a human would need more than one parasite to make them into a good, usable zombie. And the combination shouldn’t be too deadly, because that would just make the creation useless.

Nature was full of pretty deadly parasites that turn their hosts into zombie-like creatures. The probably most famous ones were the fungus Ophiocordyceps, which hijacked the central nervous system of ants and made them climb up leaves, and the flatworm Leucochloridium paradoxum, which forced snails bring themselves into situation where birds could eat them more easily.

But both of these parasites were utterly useless for Smith’s goals. He didn’t want to change one single kind of behavior and then kill the host. He needed to change a human being into a half-dead killing machine that followed orders.

For some time, Smith had done some experiments with the venom of the emerald cockroach wasp. The unique mix of neurotransmitters this insect produced was able to render a cockroach totally passive even when it was eaten alive. But that kind behavior was more useful in a victim than in a soldier.

He had finally decided to work with those parasites that were already known to cause changes in humans they infected. Toxoplasma gondii, a single cell organism that originally caused mice and rats to lose their fear of cats, had long been suspected to induce personality changes. It had been relatively easy for Professor Smith to infect some of his students to test if it would actually change anything.

After a short period of time, he had been able to observe that the students he treated with Toxoplasma became more extroverted but also more aggressive towards their peers.

Satisfied, Smith had continued to carefully craft his zombification drug.

The final result was a piece of art. Toxoplasma got company from the Rabies virus, which caused an even higher aggression and made it difficult to swallow, inducing an always growing hunger. To direct this hunger, Smith added the nectar of the acacia tree. This nectar possessed the ability to change the biochemistry of the patient in a way that made it impossible to digest anything but the nectar itself.

Professor Smith was proud of himself. It wasn’t quite the kind of rotting zombie the media liked to portray, but in his eyes, his invention was better. Those who got infected by his drug would kill whoever their superior pointed at, without question, without remorse, without mercy. And they would never turn against their master, because without the precious nectar, they wouldn’t be able to survive.

The vial with the zombie drug was carefully placed in Professor Smith’s briefcase. He wondered which of his students would be the one he’d present to the military as the first perfect soldier.

Footnote: While this is a fictional story, the parasites mentioned do actually exist. And they're not the only ones.

Sources + Read more:
https://www.livescience.com/47751-zombie-fungus-picky-about-ant-brains.html
https://parasiteecology.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/zombie-snails/
http://animaldiversity.org/accounts/Leucochloridium_paradoxum/
http://mentalfloss.com/article/56018/8-parasites-create-zombie-animals
http://www.bbc.com/earth/story/20150316-ten-parasites-that-control-minds
http://rspb.royalsocietypublishing.org/content/273/1602/2749 (Effect of Toxoplasma gondii on humans)

Picture taken from pixabay.com

Sort:  

A refreshing look on the old zombie mythos, this was a really fun piece to read!

I particularly enjoyed your scientific approach to the subject matter, science has a way of making horror way more chilling. I read some of your other stories too, and I really like your style, Suesa, it’s rather uncommon to see science and narrative be put together to such a good use!

On that line, I would honestly love to see the flair of your prose in other genres. At the moment, my partner and I are hosting “Cryptails”, a digital narrative contest. This week’s theme is “technological-horror”, so I can only imagine the power of the story you could write on that topic. We would be thrilled to read an entry from you. This is a personal invitation.

All best,
Jean

Hey Jean,

Thank you so much for the invitation! I will look into the contest but I'm not absolutely sure if I can participate. You see, biology is something I actually study, I'm not sure if I could write a good technological horror story.

But maybe I'll try, it sounds really fun!

Again, thanks for the invitation and your kind words,

Sue

Hi, Sue! Oh, biology can be a thing of horror from the pen of a good writer. Biotech is also tech, so your expertise could certainly be used to create something chilling!

Hope you decide to jump in, I'm really looking forward to reading one of your stories in our contest = )

Just posted my entry :)

Amazing news, Sue. I'm really happy you decided to hop in!

Nice. I enjoy the little science drops in there. I think this could be a much larger story, though!

The science is what it's all about! It is much more pleasant to learn about stuff with a story, in my opinion. And thank you, maybe I'll continue this story at a later point.

I am huge fan of everyting zombie related :)

Then I'm glad to add some more content related to your interests! :)

Time to re view some zombie movies :P

Congratulations @suesa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm surprised you really wrote this and I'm surprised it's this good. Not that I didn't trust your writing skills, but I'm proud of you. Nice job.

Thanks xD ask and I might deliver :P

On other topic, is steemit chat working? I'm having trouble with connecting and I'm not sure if it's my connection or the chat. :(

I got in again 5 minutes ago

Congratulations @suesa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yipes and wonderful! I write about werewolves. You got any theories about how they're made?

Those are a bit more tricky to explain with our knowledge of science, if I think of something, I'll write it!

Excellent. I admit, my werewolf-y explanations are just make-em-ups, with woo-woo.

While this is a fictional story, the parasites mentioned do actually exist. And they're not the only ones.

Damn nature, you scary!!

PS. Finally got around to reading this, apologize for voting before reading on this one. :p

How dare you :'D

Hope you enjoyed it!

I did, I think you might have to skip your "1 post a day" thing and continue writing on this story as well. :D

Would be great if the next parts flow a bit slower and we can learn more about the characters involved! Maybe just quit your job and write full-time? xP

I might think about doing this full-time, but only if I can get a 50 to 100% upvote on a regular basis. A girl has to eat ;P

Sure! 50% pre-hardfork upvote from now on it is!

;p

sigh it was worth a try

Holy shit, I'm so glad I found you <3

ⓐⓒⓘⓓ ⓖⓞⓓ ⓒⓐⓣ™

Happy to entertain :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42