Old magician incoherent thoughts - Short story ( Part 3 )

in #fiction6 years ago

That letter domed me. I knew the first moment when I was going to open it that is going to change many things. Great war is going to happen in a year or so. It's not a first letter written on this language that I came across with. It was three years after second King established peace over the continent. I don't know who sent it and don't know how, but warriors took me to prison the next day after I delivered it to the King. I did not know what the word was, nor did I have a share in anything that it said, but the command of the magic contained in the letter made me do it as requested by the charity. The King understood this as cooperation with the enemy, because those were the ones who sent the letter, but he did not want to kill me. Soon after, they took me to the Frightful Mountains and left me there with only one bottle of water.

So, my long and hard exile began. There was not going back, not for me. I just had to go forward, and there was nothing at all for human kind. The demonic magic from there stretched thousands of miles in each direction. It was her empire and I knew that I might not be able to even have enough time to drink that little bottle of water with which they left me. Days after days, months after months and years after years passed. Each of these moments is marked by torture and torment, not only physical, but primarily mental. Although I guessed everything that could hit me, it does not mean that I was ready for everything. The magic in me was strong, stronger than in most, but that might not be enough.

It turned out that although I was afraid of the demons and their magic, it was not the biggest problem at the beginning. Seven months it was foggy in my mind, then I survived every known infection in the human and animal genus. I still wonder how I survived it almost without any consequences. Fever and blood, bites of toxic and deadly insects and reptiles. I remember badly, even then my mind could not perceive everything, now it's even more difficult.

A hell like no mind can understand. Abyss of pure evil and monstrous creatures... but I do not have time for crazy old-fashioned memories now.

The second letter, the thing that is in my hand, can bring something that the human race will not sustain. Destruction and revolt unknown to any living thing. It means a lot more things, that is, the magicians must fight, for the first time since our foundation as a community, we have to put our lives on the dice for everything that is alive under the light.

Through my mind passed one thought only... I'm too old for this. It's as if you can call someone old ones after the 21st century how long my life lasts, I'm more ancient than old. I turned down stupid thoughts and immediately searched my old relics, renewed my old magic around my room, and came out with an unread letter in my hand. I conveyed the news to all the magicians present in the village and headed towards the City of Light.

Stupid old wizard, I did not noticed the signs of an upcoming storm of destruction. Now that I watched the environment from the back of my horse, all the signs are present to the one who can see. For all of it, I am to blame, I dove my head into books, not noticing the changing world around me.

The impulse of power rises in me, as if my life approaches the peak together with my power. There is no living creature except myself who knows how much power lies in me. Very soon after the start of the Academy, I managed to hide my possibilities from my teachers. I harvested that power inside myself, forever hidden from others. Oh, everyone knew I was pretty strong, but they do not know how much.

Trouble in everything, I'm not sure if it will be sufficiently for what is waiting for us. Little traces of demonic magic dragged into our world, gave us prickle of evil and I'm not sure how to fight them.

It's time to see if all my life and research, all discovered magic is worth what it is intended for. Our army is not nearly capable of what follows, no one else is but me.

Image 1

Sort:  

Congratulations @stormlight24! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83