Short Story - A Blue Glow

in #fiction7 years ago

I had a boring meeting to attend today. The rainy weather, the bad mood, the uninteresting topic of discussion just urged me to search for my pen and escape. I was there in that room, present...but only physically. My mind was travelling, my mind was giving birth to the lines below...


(Image source: pixabay.com)

The rain was falling on my window forming tunes that lead my mind on a journey. Far away on a droplet of water I wandered, outside my body, in a space here matter doesn't exist.

Exploring galaxies of grey and black I remember the twirl, a flying twirl as I dived in the abyss. The deeper the dive, the lighter I felt. The darker the shades, the cooler the breeze I could feel myself turning into. 

It was a breeze I could not explain. I could not feel my body, it was not there. I was something else, something lighter, like tiny molecules of air. These molecules started glowing all of a sudden! A bright, electric blue. Yes, I was turning into cold, blue, glowing air. I could feel it popping right out of my chest, only my chest wasn't there. 

Nothing was there. Just me. Just my mind, just my thoughts. Only they were numb too, my mind was too consumed by the flight and my peculiar transformation.

Turbulence. Now there is turbulence and the breeze starts warming up. The lights are yellow now, but they are not me. I am still blue, I like this blue. More turbulence now and the lights turn red. 

I feel pain on my chest. I hear things chattering. I feel my body again, but I feel the airy, blue glow within me too. The rainy tune has become a monotonous beeping sound in my ears. It smells like hospital in here. The bedsheets are cold and stiff under my palms. 

My eyes are staring at the grey ceiling, but I can now see far beyond it... 

I can see the blue glow.

I am the blue glow.

Thank you for sparing a moment of your time to read that story. I'd love to see your comments and feedback below. You can also visit my blog and check out my other short stories along with plenty of educational posts and of course my bizarre natural phenomena series.

Special thanks and mentions go to:

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!  

Sort:  

Been drawing all day and start seeing circles.. so this story seems like the perfect one to end the day :-)

I'm flattered! Thanks for reading!! :D

Nice piece! Beats falling asleep at the meeting like some of us (me).

Thanks for reading! Yes, it was a great distraction as I waited for the minutes to pass...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ruth-girl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nice story. Flying in a universe!
Resteemed...☺

Thank you very much! I'm happy you liked it! :)

oh come on, but meetings are so "terribly" fun lol
always glad to read the poet in you !

Yeah, they're fun to death! :P
Thanks for reading! :)

This post has received a 0.84 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @ruth-girl. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

good post
plise vote back for me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43