FAITH, HOPE AND LOVE.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

FAITH'S HOPE

bridge.jpg
Photo credit

“You broke our vows?” I guess it was a stupid thing to ask but it was the only thing my fractured mind could think of. I should scream, throw something in his face…This was definitely my moment to do something empowering. But I swear, something kept me rooted in that sofa.

“Faith, I… it was a…”

“Don’t you dare say that.” Good, I managed to work up some anger that I did not really feel.

“What do you want me to say…”

“I-I don’t know? I wish you said nothing at all.”

“I am sorry.”

“No. You are not.”

Silence

“If I was able to give you that child, would you have stayed?” I asked suddenly. It was an afterthought, really. I did not think I would even ask. But I just wanted to know. I needed to know…

“It is not about that.” His voice cracked. His voice always cracked when he was lying. He looked at me then. He did not look at me once during his confession, but his eyes searched for mine then.

We were both thinking the same thing.

I should have stopped the tears but they had a mind of their own. When one tear landed on my cheek, the whole avalanche followed.

“You liar.” It was quiet, almost as though I was talking to myself. “You damn liar!” I screamed at him. I screamed at myself.

“You told me it was not my fault.I could have at least apologised if you had just admitted it. But you wouldn’t even…let me… talk.about.it.” I couldn’t breath. I needed to breath.

“No…” He was about to say more but then he stood. Was he coming at me?

“No!” I was terrified. I feared that if he came any closer I-what was left of me since our baby died- would break into a thousand million pieces.

He was rooted in place. Then he started at me again. I quickly stood to my feet, rushing for the safety of one corner in the hall. “No!” I screamed again, but he joined me there and he held me. Her scent immediately assaulted my nose.

The night before, when he did not come home, he was with her, holding her like he held me, loving her instead of loving me…

“Aargh!” A raw and broken yell escaped from my belly. I collapsed to the ground and he came with me. Then I felt him tremble with me. His breath became one audible sigh after another.

We wept like babies.

I suddenly tore out of his arms and run into the cold winter dawn. I almost turned back when the cold winter bite went straight to my heart. But I could not return to the colder house I used to call home.

I ran, a broken woman from a broken home.

I got to the bridge and stopped. This month alone the local newspapers had reported five suicides at the same spot. I now understood why. The river had brought nothing but despair. Ever since that factory moved uphill and poisoned the river the town had gone downhill.

In this once great fishing town, jobs had been lost, lives had been lost and families had been broken. And although the factory was shut down five years ago, the reverberating effect of its canker was still being felt. The countless number of suicides, divorces, cancers...

I am just as soon going to join the statistics.

I hoped that it would be quick and painless. But from the little I knew about drowning, it sure was the worse way to go. I drew near the bridge, trembling not from the cold but from an inner chill that had taken over my heart and mind.

“Nice weather isn’t it!” A male voice said. I jumped. I turned to face the voice. A small town like mine had no strangers in it but it was dawn and still dark. A big and beardy guy stared back at me. I drew back.

"Faith?" The scary silhouette said.

I recognized the voice immediately. It was Grant. He was always one of the last people to leave the diner where I worked.

“Grant, you startled me.”

He smiled or at least his eyes did. It was hard to tell in the dark, with all the hair he had on his face.

“Sorry ma’am,” He said, somewhat self-consciously, “looking to take a dip?”

“Yes, but I can’t swim.” I said ominously. I did not know why I said that, maybe it was a cry for help.

“Oo.” He said simply as his blue eyes registered the meaning of my words.

“I hope one more isn’t too much of a crowd for ya!” He came closer.

Maybe he did not understand me after all.

Wait, what?

“What did you say?” He asked. The last bit of my thoughts must have escaped. And why won’t it? I looked at Grant and slowly began to comprehend the demons that must have driven him to the bridge.

Before the factory, he owned a fishing boat that caught enough fishes to feed the entire town and the next. He also had a son and a lovely wife.

Then the factory took the fishes and his son- leukemia, the doctors had called it. Then his wife, unable to handle the bleak despair of her empty nest, died of a broken heart.

“Are you cold?” He asked as he threw his coat over my shoulders. I was grateful for its warmth. The kind gesture also thawed my heart a bit and with that thaw came a whole flood of pain washing over me. I buried my face in my cold palms and wept. Bitter tears stained my face.

“There, there… It’s just a coat.” He coaxed my hair then held me in and awkard half-sided hug. I could not hold back my scoff at his misconceived comment.

“I am not crying because of the coat, Grant.”

“I know.” He said quietly.

I looked up at him. Knowing blue eyes stared back in return.

“Whatever it is, you should stay with us a while, Faith.” He said in earnest.

“I thought you came to take a dip with me.”

“I can swim.”

“So why are you here, then?”

“Same reason as you… but I wasn’t here to end it all. I wanted to punish myself I guess.”

“It wasn’t your fault, Grant.”

“Neither was it yours.”

Silence.

“Now, let’s take you home before you freeze to death.”

A smile spread on both our faces as we walked away from the bridge, “Not a good way to go!” I said.

His smile widened as he said, “Thank God I brought a coat!”

“It wasn’t your coat!”

“It sure was, ma’am” We both burst out laughing. It was not hearty. It was almost...rusty. But it was definitely our first good laugh in a long time.


DEDICATED TO YOU. Just hold on a little longer.

Sort:  

wow

I really enjoyed this. The entire first half felt really emotionally accurate - it is a believable scene and dialogue, which I do not mean as faint praise. It is spot on.

My only constructive criticism would be that the exposition about the river and pollution felt a little forced - your story had been doing a marvelous job of showing us what was happening and then it kind of took a break to tell us what was happening, and it felt disjointed. There are ways to work in exposition a little more subtly. But this is a minor thing - I am only even saying this to you because I think your writing is terrific and you show true promise as an author here. Keep it up.

Much love - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original and truly creative work of the post author.

Learn more:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original and creative content creator! You rock!

2 months later, I get a curie. Thanks @carlgnash. This helped and your talk on promo-mentors also gave me a great boost. It helped me know what curators look out for... and I heard the last bits of your singing too. haha.

Thanks at @carlgnash. I really appreciate this. I will continue working hard at it!

ah ha ha that is awesome I was cracking myself up with the singing :) Congrats on the curie! :)

Thank you. :)

Hey. I am done with school (for now) and I'm back to the writing board. Here's something I wrote recently. Maybe you could take a peak and let me know if you like it.

https://steemit.com/writing/@ronyxoxo/banding-minnow-science-fiction-chapter-one

Thanks.

You're a decent writer yourself - and I get the message. I guess, my talking about it, like you're doing here, is in lieu of "doing it" - and it buys me time to find my wind again. This is good work.

You inspired this. Find that wind and who knows what next you could inspire...
Be safe @Codemonkeyindy 😄

I learned to sail, many years ago - and the one point of sail that finds us, eventually, are the "irons". To be trapped, with no veering to port or starboard, no obvious escape, and the mere hope that some cross wind will take the foresail and direct the ship onward again. I've been in the "irons" ... and I am seeking a means to breakout.

Don't stop writing.

As long as you promise to hold on
....
:)

I can promise I'll STEEMIT to you first, for conversation. I promise I won't without having a conversation, even if via threads, first. The best I can do today. But I don't want to do it today - so that's progress.

I hope it never comes to that. :)

I had kind of an ok day yesterday. I probably have a few in person interviews set up for next week, my nephew is convinced I'm "cool" (uncle dan doesn't feel cool, but he was convincing). I see some glimmers of hope, maybe more than I expected given how much I loathe Seattle at times. So, today? - today I see "the other plan" as being more distant. Nowhere near good yet, but I'm not just ruminating. Thought you deserved an update.

Thanks. My day was awful. This made it a whole lot better. I see the kid is looking up to you. Uncle Dan is cool. :)

Congratulations @ronyxoxo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57856.68
ETH 2352.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43