You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fiction Comp - All Writers Welcome - #3 Week 1

in #fiction7 years ago

Here is my entry! Thank you so much for hosting these writing competitions :) This one really got my creative flow going again! I hope you guys like my story.

I continued to walk around, looking for any signs of life, but no one was around. I was accompanied by nothing but the light of the full moon shining brightly above. Then, I heard a very faint noise in the distance. At first, I couldn't tell what it was, because it just sounded like a low, dull buzzing. Then, I started to hear it clearly as it got closer.
SI...RE...NA...
SI...RE...NA...
I froze in place. I think that was the moment my skeptical mind finally put two and two together. I was hearing people chanting sirena. My hostel was mermaid-themed and called the Sirena's Sanctuary. The whole trip had seemed off from the start. Why was it only then, upon hearing the chanting, that I finally accepted that the whole trip was weird?

https://steemit.com/talesofkaoz/@rodeo670/saipan-sucks-an-entry-for-the-kyrios-fiction-competition

Sort:  

Awesome sauce! :P Good story there mate. Well thought out and the plot kept me on the edge of my seat for the most part...I even got goosebumps while reading it :) Good luck with the competition and keep writing :)

Thank you so much, I'm so glad you liked it and came along for the ride! :P
I definitely plan to keep on writing! Contests like this help to keep me motivated haha

You've got my vote! 🙌💛💛💛💛💛

Thank you! Hopefully I make it to the next round because that's when the votes will actually determine if I win :P

I'm so glad I had a chance to read this story! I liked the mermaid theme. Please add a vote for me too! This is a great prompt. I will be following @kyrios to read more!

Thank you so much for checking it out! I'm glad you liked it. :) The Sirena really does have its place in our local history/lore, so I guess that's why my mind naturally gravitated towards using it as the antagonistic force in the story :P

I hope to catch the next one! I do a freewrite 5 minute prompt too. They are fun.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 1.05$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66917.83
ETH 3499.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89