The Night Gods III- IX: The Doctor's Warning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

11b.jpg
Fantastic artwork by @marty-art on Steemit... With many thanks!

They arrived in Virginia early the next morning having driven through the night. The Doctor's country home was a palatial old antebellum plantation house with a long drive winding through willow trees on both sides... The name of the plantation was, in fact, Willowbrook. A liveried butler served coffee from a silver service, after which they followed him, ascending the winding double staircase to the Doctor's room. He looked small and frail in his large canopied bed.

"Ah Prz, I see Yuri and Vanessa convinced you to come," he said feebly.

"Yes," Przybysz replied trying his best to smile, "they can be most persuasive."

"Especially the lovely Vanessa," the Doctor smiled and then coughed leaving a red stain on his handkerchief.

"What's wrong Doctor," Przybysz asked, voice filled with concern. He genuinely liked and respected the Doctor... He had served him for many years with the Council.

"Cancer," the Doctor said, his voice weak.

"Is there something I can do?" Przybysz asked.

The Doctor waved his hand dismissively: "There's nothing anyone can do. I'm afraid I don't have much time left and there's some things you need to know."

"Of course," Przybysz said grimly, "I just hate to see you like this though."

"I'm old," the Doctor smiled again. "It's my time... it happens to everybody... your time will come too- someday."

"What's all this about?" Przybysz asked, Something with the Council?"

"Vanessa's cousin," the Doctor told him, "Lord Penrose."

"3rd cousin," Vanessa added, "and that's not far enough removed."

There's been a split in the Councils," the Doctor began, "that you know... What you don't know is that since the war, the faction run by Beck and Penrose have pretty much taken over. The moderates, shall we say, still have a voice, but it's all but ignored."

"What can I do to help?" Przybysz asked.

"Nothing right now," The Doctor coughed again, wiping away the bloody spittle. "We're reaching out- that is the moderates in the Councils- we need assistance and we;re reaching out to the resistance movements around the world... That's why I sent for you."

"I appreciate your confidence," Przybysz told his aging friend.

"I'm not done yet," the Doctor went on, "Lockhart and his friends were fools, they never saw your potential. They treated you like a hired thug- nothing but muscle... But I saw something much deeper. You're a good man Prz- and I realized when I began to hear Mr. Shoemaker's broadcasts that you were behind them.

"I'm not alnoe..." Przybysz began.

"I know," the Doctor waved his hand feebly, "let me go on. Your friends and you need to reach out more- to the other groups- organize them. Yuri has a list of people both here and abroad... people you can trust. He will represent the governmental faction of the moderate Council members- some of them you already know- some you don't."

"What are you saying?" Przybysz asked, confused. "What are you asking me to do?"

"I... We need you to take over the resistance- at least as far as the Councils are concerned. Both you and Yuri will be liaisons- catalysts between the resistance and the moderates on the Councils. The Council members obviously can't be involved directly, but will provode support in other ways," the Doctor stopped to sip some water.

Vanessa leaned over and wiped the Doctor's brow. "You need to rest Dear," she said tenderly.

"I don't have time to rest- none of us do," the Doctor replied with a weak smile. "This is too important... the survival of the world- at least what's left of it- may hinge on what happens next."

"What do you mean?" Przybysz asked.

"Penrose and his people are plotting something... something big. There's someone they've been grooming to take over for Oliveira- his term is almost up and they never planned to keep him in power for long anyway. He was just a stop-gap... the right man for the job at the time.

"Do you have any idea who the new guy is?"" Przybysz didn't like where this was going.

"No idea- I'm hoping that maybe Vanessa can find that out," he said looking at Vanessa. "This may involve you getting closer to your cousin, my dear."

"I'll do whatever's necessary," Vanessa put in. "This is too important to fail."

"It could get dangerous,"the Doctor looked at her, concern in his eyes.

"I don't care," she said firmly, "I'll do whatever it takes."

"Yuri's list has a number of people you can trust- like I said- some here, some abroad. There's a woman in Italy- very dedicated... The UN killed her husband. She and her brother have been a thorn in the side of the UN there. They have a man with them- a former priest, father Tony, he's called. Used to be an Airborne Ranger here- he may prove very useful."

"The people on the list- are they Council, or resistance?" Przybysz asked.

"Both," the Doctor replied. "Some of the Councils are still loyal to the old moderate wing. A few members have relocated to Geneva after the war to be safe... some stayed here in the States."

The Doctor looked up at Przybysz before going on: "you know some of them Prz, from when you worked for Lockhart and me- their names are on Yuri's list... He'll give you a copy. Others are with the resistance- like Alessandra in Italy. There's a big push for liberty in China as well."

The Doctor began to cough and a nurse entered placing an oxygen mask on him... He lifted it briefly" I need a few minutes. Get the list from Yuri and come back in about 30 minutes."

Przybysz put his hand gently on his old friend's cheek: "i'll be back- you rest."

In the hallway outside the Doctor's room Yuri handed Przybysz a copy of the list- it proved more lengthy than he had expected... just as the Doctor had told hin, some of the names were familiar... many more were not.

"What do you suppose Penrose has up his sleeve?" Przybysz asked Yuri after reading the list.

"I wish I knew," Yuri replied. "Whatever it is, it isn't good. I don't know about you, but I think I could do with a drink before we go back in."

"Now that, darling," Vanessa smiled, "is the best suggestion you've had all day."

"Yuri," Przybysz said sipping his drink, "how much do you know about what the Doc is talking about? I don't want to wear him out anymore than necessary."

"At this point," Yuri replied, "not a whole lot more than you. He just asked me to act as a go between- for you, as the rep of the resistance, and the Council members in government. I can travel more freely with my diplomatic credentials and get around in circles where you can't."

"I'm to keep the channels with Lord Penrose open," Vanessa said, a disgusted look on her beautiful face, "and funnel information to you through Yuri."

"Whatever they have planned," Yuri said, "we have to try and stop it. Like the Doctor said, there's something big afoot... On both sides- I hear through back channels that the Chinese resistance is planning something... some kind of coup maybe- and they have the tongs involved."

"If the tongs are willing to go that far out on a limb- it must be big," Przybysz mused aloud.

"Well," Vanessa said, "let's go check in on the Doctor."

The Doctor motioned the protesting nurse away when they entered, removing his oxygen mask. She rtied to replace it, but the Doctor would have none of it.

"What are you trying to do," he smiled, "buy me one more day?" The nurse shrugged and left saying:

"Maybe you'll have better luck than me... he needs his oxygen. Please try to keep his mask on."

"She's right Dear," Vanessa said tenderly, "you need to conserve your strength."

"For what," the Doctor smiled, "the marathon?" He coughed. "I'm finished- I know it. I'm ready to meet those whom I serve."

"What can I do Doctor?" Przybysz asked.

"Penrose and his ilk want total destruction... like it says on those Georgia Guidestones- 95% population reduction, it's insane. Those stones are the work of man, not the Ancient Ones. It was never the intention of the Night Gods to see mass deaths- certainly not like that. They only want sacrifice- a few deaths in exchange for blessing our endeavours." He coughed again, bloody spittle staining his handkerchief and unshaven chin.

"Stop for a while, Doctor," Przybysz pleaded reaching down to wipe the blood away.

"No, let me go on," he said a firm edge to his weak voice. Penrose, Beck and the rest are sick... like Denning. He was a sick, sadistic, power mad maniac. So is Penrose, so is Beck- they're maniacs. They hold themselves above the Ancient Ones while pretending to serve them. I'm not sure what they're trying to do, but whatever it is will involve massive death and destruction- something of Biblical proportions. I may be wrong here, but I see an antichrist on the horizon... One that they'll sell to the people as a peacemaker- just before he wipes them out. It will be the downfall of mankind- the end of the world as we know it. I pray I'm wrong... but my many years of experience tell me I'm not."

"Oh my God," Vanessa gasped.

"Not hardly," the Doctor smiled, "quite the opposite in fact. There's still time for you to reconsider."

"No," she said shaking her head, "that's not what I meant. I think I may know..."

"What?" Yuri cut in. "You know who it is?"

"I'm not sure," she said uncertainly, "but there was a man... I met him once- at one of Penrose's gatherings..."

"And you think it could be him, Dear?" The Doctor asked.

"I don't know," she said, "not for sure... but there was something about him- something in the way he acted... in the way everyone acted toward him."

"Do you know his name?" Przybysz asked.

"No. But I'm going to find out," she said deliberately. "It shouldn't be that difficult."

"Vanessa," the Doctor reached out his frail hand to grasp her forearm, "be careful... You may be a realtive, but those people will sacrifice you without thinking twice about it. The god that Penrose worships isn't the Night Gods that I know and serve... they're a creation of his own sick mind. He serves no one but himself."

"What are you getting at?" Przybysz was afraid the Doctor was wandering.

"Honor, my son," the Doctor smiled. "I'm fine Prz... When the Councils began it was just a continuation of a natural progression that's been going on since the dawn of civilization. Using evil- man's natural state- for the benefit of the elites. I don't know when or where it began- the Aztecs did it... almost every culture has used sacrifice in one form or another. It was done 'to please the Gods' they were just unaware which gods they were honoring." The Doctor took a breath and another sip of water before continuing...

"We worship the Ancient Ones- the gods of this world. The Christian God is the god of the next world and despite claims to the contrary, they're not in conflict with each other... 'render unto Ceasar...' Somewhere along the way, the evil turned inward and men like Beck, Penrose and the others came about. The Night Gods only wanted sacrifice... not genocide- and an occasional war perhaps."

"what can we do, Darling?" Vanessa asked wiping the Doctor's brow with a cool cloth.

Stay vigilant," the Doctor sighed, "I don't have much time left, it's all up to you now... There's a man on the list Prz, named Collins, William Collins. He's an attorney and a Council member- he'll help. If you need money, go to him. I have no family, Prz and I left everything to you- you're the closest thing to a son. I made provisions for the people that work here of course... but the house is yours too."

"You didn't have to do that..." Przybysz began. The thought of owning a house like this was a bit overwhelming. Wait until Dick and the others heard.

The Doctor waved his hand dismissively: "You earned it- this and more. If I had left it directly to you, it would have brought you unwanted attention. I put it in a trust with Collins as executor. He can be trusted Prz."

"Thank you Sir," Przybysz said softly looking into the old man's eyes.

"I know you'll use it all wisely," the Doctor sighed. "Please be careful, vigilant- watch Penrose and Beck closely. Keep Vanessa safe, and Vanessa dear- be careful yourself when you try to find out who the mystery man is."

"I will honey," Vanessa bent and kissed his forehead.

The Doctor pulled a cord by the bed and the elderly butler entered carrying a portfolio: "I've done something else for you Prz. These papers will allow you to travel unimpeded under Council protection... It's the least I could do after all of your years of faithful service. As long as Penrose and Beck don't completely take over, you'll be safe."

"I don't know what to say..." Przybysz said meekly.

"Then don't say anything," the Doctor replied. "I wish I could appoint you to take my place on the Council, but that would place you in more danger. You'll be better served this way- you have access to my fortune. If the worst happens, gather up your closest people- that includes Yuri and Vanessa- and head for Australia. I have a place just outside of Melbourne and there's almost no UN presence there. Now it's time for me to sleep. It's my time and I'm ready... this isn't life. I have no regrets. So, go- go and save the world. Prz, you know what you have to do. I'm not going to wake up, so there's no need for any of you to stick around... Be safe- you're the future."

Vanessa kissed the Doctor's forehead once more and Przybysz placed his hand gemtly on the Doctor's chest... "Good bye my old friend," he said- there was a tear in his eye.

The funeral was small and against the Doctor's wishes, Przybysz, Yuri and Vanessa stayed for the services. he was buried on his plantation in Virginia... the plantation where his family had once been slaves. The only attendees were Przybysz, Yuri, Vanessa, Collins and a couple of loyal Council members, all of whom offered the three whatever assistance they needed in their endeavour. After the others had gone, Collins took Przybysz aside and gave him his contact information.

The ride back to Arkansas was somber- they spoke little. The usually loquacious Vanessa was particularly quiet, sobbing softly from time to time. The enormity of the task before them was beginning to sink in. Przybysz was wondering how he would divide his time between the resistance in Arkansas and his other duties. He called Dick to update him on recent events and to inform him that Yuri and Vanessa would accompany him back to the compound.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-forward-and-prologue
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-i-and-malice-toward-all-1
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-i-and-malice-toward-all-2
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-i-and-malice-toward-all-3
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-ii-the-gang-s-all-here
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-the-triumph-of-evil-iii-intercept
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-iv-the-power-of-the-press
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-v-forza-italia
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-v-kyle
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-vii-serendipity
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-iii-viii-yuri

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

Another great chapter, dear friend! In these days I'm always in later to read the NG, but it's always a pleasure to dedicate some time to rea an excellent story like yours ^_^

Very telling part Rich, war in China a couple issues back, the Tong, Italy, everyone getting ready, even the Really bad guys, time for the middle of the road bad guys to get started. Evil sure can be complicated, and the Night Gods, evil or just there. I guess it is in the eye of the beholder. Complicated, that is good.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on steemit. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

loved it!!!!!!

This is actually a long story... This is part three. The guy that does the artwork and I are doing parts 1 & 2 in a book that should come out next month. His art is incredible and it suits my stories perfectly.

a very interesting post. good post

This post received a 4.15% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @richq11! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73