The Madness of the Gods (Fantasy/Mythic Short Story)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Breath taking
Wow

Cheers @hazem91. Glad you enjoyed it m8 :-)



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @f3nix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9940769004361372
This post was voted: 100%

This is excellent! Reminds me a little of Neil Gaiman with some J.R.R. Tolkien. I particularly like the Gaelic feel of this. Well done.

Cheers @blockurator Neil Gaiman and J.R.R. Tolkien are two of my literary heros so I am hugely happy that the story had even a smattering of the feel of either of those authors. I felt as I wrote it that it was getting dangerously close to Gaiman, and I'm always mindful of not trying to imitate any other writer, but when I read it back I thought the setting and more classical style was different enough from what Gaiman does that it had its own voice.

Glad you enjoyed it. I put quite a bit of research into this one :-)

Ditto that!!
I'd upovte but my "power"is under 90 again.
I don't know why, but I laughed at this (denim cutoffs being a forged in my brain aforehand):
Gunnr keeps leather off-cuts meant as tribute to Vidar
Oh dear. I only now see that you write "off cuts," not cutoffs. And only yesterday I saw that coffee mug meme, "I have a dig bick," and "You this read wrong," and the third line was also read wrong.... *sigh
The laugh is on me.
Well, I love the use he puts the leather off-cuts to - and love the idea of Vikings doing figure 8s on the ... yeah. No spoilers!

And only yesterday I saw that coffee mug meme, "I have a dig bick," and "You this read wrong," and the third line was also read wrong.... *sigh
The laugh is on me.

Ha ha, well the laugh is on both of us because I just spilled my coffee I laughed so hard. Thanks for the Lol's Carol, its been one of those days so a chuckle was just what I needed...

or was it dust what I jeeded?

Glad you enjoyed the story :-)

I stove all your lories, er, I love all your stories, Raj!

Absolutely epic @raj808

So much detail and a very cool ending. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Gaz

again, DITTO that!!!!

Thanks Gaz. I'm glad you enjoyed it and as someone who had previously read the Jorvik museum post I wonder; did you see the end/twist coming?

Not really too bothered if you did but just curious.

Thanks for reading :-)

Only right near the end. Had me guessing until then.

Hi @raj808!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.090 which ranks you at #3208 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 3201).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 376 contributions, your post is ranked at #327.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

At times, it gave me a taste of Silmarillion. I enjoyed the scene of Gunnr creating the shoes marked with sacred runes while the wife snores and the pigs fart.

Ha ha. That line was one of my favorites as I was writing it. I really wanted to get across the stink and filth they would have lived in those days... and how normal that would have been for them as well. Thanks for your comment mate. Glad you enjoyed the viking story :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33