EXEGETICAL THESIS ON THE EVILS OF THE HEN 4

in #fiction6 years ago

"and for some unrevealed unfortunate reason, the hen, is held in high esteem" - Pixabay CCO

To deal with a problem as pandemic as a hen, my tool of choice would have to be cheap, very effective, easily accessible, and capable of reaching a large number of individuals in so little a moment of time. In other words, a poison. Something to be ingested would be best, as I was not eager to share the fate of the hens whom I was so intent on exterminating.

With this in mind, I went to the local agricultural store and bought rat poison. The label said it killed rodents, but I was expectant that it would work on chickens as well. Having secured enough portions of the rat killer, I began to ponder how I would persuade those evil hens to come and eat at my feast, the feast I had specially prepared for them.

As it turned out, I was simply over-agitating my brain. Those hens would eat anything. I had seen them eat things ranging from garri, to yam, to fish, to meat, pepper, onions, anything. As long as it could be digested, the hens ate it, and they cared not who was the owner of what they had for lunch.

You cannot imagine how glad this made me. I had been initially afraid that the hens would see me as their mortal enemy, which I was, and refuse to eat that which I supplied. But not these hens. While I was glad that they would show no discrimination to what they ate, a part of me felt irritated.

Even the average person was wary of taking things from an enemy. Maybe these hens were overconfident that nothing could work them woe. Their hubris, just like was the case of heroes of antiquity, would be their downfall.

Just to make sure that the hens ate the food, I made sure I bought some chicken feed. High quality and quite palatable, it was sure to tempt those greedy devils to come and eat. Then I went home and prepared the killer mixture for the chickens. I guess the major disappointment of my plan was that I would not be able to sink my teeth in the meat of those miniature monsters.

What mattered most anyway was that they would die. I went out armed with the poisoned food, and I saw them, watching me. I flung the food on the ground and watched with no small deal of joy as the hens, nine of them, walked up to the food like it was their crown right to be fed by the world, and gobbled up the food.

For the first time in a long time, I went home a happy man.

To be Continued..

Thanks for coming!

That little boy,

@pearlumie

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91