LOVE LIKE HIS - Chapter 19 - GUN, AND A PARKING LOT - An Original Story by @papa-pepper

in #fiction8 years ago

CHAPTER 19 - GUN, AND A PARKING LOT



“Were the suspects tricked or forced into confessing out of fear because of Cromwell?” Gary repeats the question thoughtfully.

The idea puts an entirely different spin on the whole situation. Based on the behavior of Cromwell that Gary has been able to observe, this certainly seems like a plausible explanation. Such activity would not be a stretch of character for the vigilante detective.


Still, could this really be what is going on?


Gary is thinking hard and running scenarios in his mind. Ray has gone back to looking on the computer, clicking away with the mouse and frantically punching the keys. Ray is nervous and beginning to sweat.

The thoughts in Gary’s mind are racing.

If Cromwell has been a loose cannon this whole time terrorizing suspects until they confess, this situation may be a whole lot worse than they had realized. The newspaper articles had pretty much concluded that once Cromwell was on the case, the case was basically over, and that it would only be a matter of time.


If people were pushed hard enough and persistently enough, they might cave in.


Especially, with an insane and desperate detective breathing down their necks…

“Gary!” Ray gasps, “Look at this!”

Ray has pulled up an article about another murder that Cromwell had investigated. The article features a picture and name of the man who was convicted of the murder. However, he did not plead “Guilty.”

“I know this guy,” Ray begins. “We met in prison, and talked quite a few times before he was transferred. Gary, he told me he was innocent.

Gary glances at Ray, with a furrowed brow.

“Isn’t that what they all say, Ray?”

“Sure, a lot of them do, but this guy said that he was set up.”

“Cromwell was the detective on that case, Ray, but the guy didn’t even confess. Did he say anything about Cromwell to you?”

“It was years ago, and I can’t really remember. I do remember his face and name, though, and that he persistently proclaimed his own innocence.”

“Did you see anything about any accusations being made against the detective?”

“Not yet. None of the articles or reports I saw that mentioned Cromwell said anything like that.”

“I think that we might need to think about this for a bit, and try to law low for now, Ray.”


“Gary! He put a GUN to your head! We have been laying low! He just keeps showing up!”


Ray’s words were spoken a little too loudly for library etiquette, and several patrons are now taking notice of the pair. Saying “gun” loudly and excitedly in a quiet room has that certain way of grabbing peoples’ attention.

Gary has to get back to work anyway, so the two take this as their cue to leave.

In the parking lot, Gary and Ray discuss a few last things before Gary departs.

“I’ll get through these last few hours of work as quickly as I can, and then I’ll head to your place. Monday you’ll start your job, but we’ve got all weekend to try to sort this out.”

“I’m not sure I want to head back to my place alone. He’s found me there before, Gary.”

“I understand that, and it’s not like he’s beyond making his rounds searching for us.”

“Gary?”

Ray pauses prior to continuing, making absolutely that he has his companions full attention.

Gary’s eyes are rolling back in forth in their sockets as he tries piece together memories and possibilities. Ray’s stare and the silence snap him out of it, and he faces his young friend again.

“What?”

“Umm, do you have a gun?”

“Ray, no. That’s not the way that we are called to operate in this world.”

“No,” Ray cuts in, “Not like that, just to level the playing field. To let Cromwell know that he can’t push us around and that he won’t be able to get away with anything.”

“What?!?!? Ray, you need to settle…”


“GARY!!!


Ray lunges into Gary and grabs his shoulders, knocking the both of them into the side of Gary’s car.

A black sedan has just crept into the far side of the library parking lot, and conveniently hides itself besides a large van.

Ray’s eyes are large and his nostrils have flared. Fear and panic have overtaken him, and Gary still doesn’t realize what has happened.


SLAM!


The door of the black car slams shut, and the driver begins to round the corner of van.

It’s fight or flight time for Ray, and he freezes.
Gary wonders at the frozen terror of his companion and follows the frightened gaze.

He pushes off of his car, righting himself, and looks towards the far end of the parking lot just in time to see the man emerge from behind the van and come towards them.



THE END OF CHAPTER 19



TO READ THE PREVIOUS CHAPTERS, CLICK BELOW:


MY NAME IN PEPPERS

(I didn't have any lights....)


Thank you, and stay tuned for LOVE, LIKE HIS : Chapter 20 - Coming soon to a steemit near you

Also, if you enjoyed this chapter, let me know by leaving a comment! Thanks


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!

Sort:  

Versão em português desse post:

LOVE LIKE HIS - Capítulo 19

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.73 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

No comment has been made as of yet, I checked, which is a surprise cause you're the comment man lol

Must have mentioned something to you in chat then, because there was no comment , like you said..

Got it now!

I plan to read this soon, Upvoted for now.

Finally read it, nice chapter bro, ray finally caved in to the pressure, and such wrong timing and place too! I wonder who will walk up. Looking forward to the next one. Did you get a chance to read my final chapter?

Yeah, I finally gave in and finished yours.

Fantastic ending!

Thank you very much, that's great to hear, make sure to please leave a comment for it then! My story wouldn't be complete without feedback from you, my number one reader! Not sure how I would continue the story, if I made a sequel but I'm brainstorming :)

I think I did leave a comment the other day... Maybe...

Indeed... Thanks for following! (All this time)

The man of endless talents strikes again!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

LOL!

I'm not the only one OLD DOG!

I'm giving you a vote bc you worked so hard on this.....I didn't read the previous chapters so I can't comment properly. When I have a few moments of time to myself, I will check it out and try to catch up.

Recently, @verbal-d went all the way back and read all the chapters, I think would recommend that others do so if they enjoy a good story!

Thanks for the vote (of confidence).

I'm taking a plane ride in the next day....this will give me some reading material while I wait the 90 minutes - ugh....worst part right? So I'm looking forward to reading what you've concocted in that brain of yours.

Haha, the opportunity presents itself!

Yes please read it, it is worth the time invested. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44