50 WORD FICTION | Home For the Holidays

in #fiction6 years ago

This is my entry for @jayna's 50 word writing competition. The prompt this week is forest.



enter image description here



Home For the Holidays

Holidays, finally. Christopher grabbed his packed bag and rushed out the door. Down main street, past the cinema, the games parlour, the normal world for twelve year old boys. But he continued, out of town, to the forest.

The trees and animals all gathered around him. "Welcome back home, Christopher."



Image sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Links to earlier works

Poetry
My Steemit Poetry Collection

Book Reviews
My Steemit Book Review Collection



Sort:  

What a wonderful outlier of a tale! Nice to see your stories after quite some time, brother. It seems that when you're back, it's my turn to go away. I do hope we find a stretch where we're mutually here.

Hey, welcome back, hope married life is treating you well :)
These short stories are my connection to fiction writing at the moment, although I haven't done too many of them. Still on the poetry kick. Just gotta keep writing, in one form or another.

Married life is treating me well. In fact, it's treating me so well that it has been taking me away from Steemit haha! I'll try to catch up with what you have up when you can, mate!

Take your time with catching up, if you can even get there. Let me sum it up: lots of poetry, and weekly curation posts. Not too much on the fiction side of things. That part of my brain seems to be sleeping.

Christopher Robin! The live action movie. Not sure if it was intentional or not but it's what came to my mind. I imagine it as the opening scene to a fun summer movie.

It also reminded me of when I was a kid. We were always waiting for the summer holiday with great anticipation. And when it finally came, we could just bust out and let our imaginations run wild.

I really like this one!

I thought of Christopher Robin as well. @naquoya will have to tell us if he was thinking of that particular 12-year old boy who befriends animals. :-)

The name was definitely inspired by the that character. He played a pivotal role in my early reading experiences.

Yes, the name was inspired by Christopher Robbins. Not so much the story, although it shows clear parallels. Like you, this was more an expression of my own childhood experiences mixed with a large dose of imagination. Thanks for your comment :)

Simple yet very comprehensive. So many can be told from the simple writings. Bravo! 👏🏼👏🏼

Thank you, glad it felt comprehensive, given it's short nature.

I love the forest, we often go hiking, I find it so peaceful. I really do need to start entering these awesome writing challenges. Have you tried that app yet? The Most Dangerous Writing App. I am scared as I often get distracted and would hate to lose my work but on the other hand it may keep me more focused lol.

I just had a look at that app, and yes the work disappears quickly. I was just writing anything to see what it was all about. It's an interesting concept. It's a good idea to get you writing constantly. From that perspective I can see value in it. But losing your work sucks!

How simple and sweet! To me, this reminded of the Winnie the Pooh Tales. Were you thinking of Christopher Robbin when writing this too?

Yes, that's the inspiration for the name. Probably inspiration for the story also, in a sense. Glad you noticed :)

Should we be worried? How are they talking to him? Why? We want to know more.

Nothing to worry about. They're able to talk to him because that's what happens in this magical forest, where Christopher has spent a lot of time previously. That's why they are welcoming him home. The rest is up to your imagination :)

When I read this, I imagined a trailer for a movie. I don't know why but this short story has a feel of a real adventure unfolding :)

An adventure story is good, glad you got that sense. An adventure serial in 50 word chapters, perhaps.

That sounds like a lot of posts, I've never seen anyone do it. Who knows? Maybe that is the next big thing :)

Too many posts for my liking. I'll stick to the script I think :)

Love your whimsical take on the prompt :)

Thank you :)

Oh, this is wonderful and full of imagery, @naquoya. Well done!

Thanks for reading @jayna :)

This is what I thought reading your 50 word tale. lol

"Welcome back home, Christopher," they said. "Have you brought the sacrifice?"

Lol, the Black Mirror version. I may hold onto that for an appropriate prompt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71