The sound moved closer. Then the sound moved farther away from me. FREEWRITE

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

The first time I remember it happening was when I was close to 4 years old. I was at my grandparents in bed and I woke up. I heard a sound. it was around 3 am.

Heard is not the best way of describing it. I felt a sound, is a more appropriate way of describing it.

Off in the distance, I felt a sound and is something there is no word for. Bummm Bummmp is as close as I can come.
It was not like a Bump in the night sound but more like something approaching, vibrating, humming coming toward ME specifically.

I listened closely...

Bummm Bummmp

The sound was both exciting and terrifying at the same time. I felt great power with it and expectation. I knew it was coming for me......to gaze at me.

I knew I better pretend I was asleep and have my eyes closed when it got to the room.

Bummm Bummmp closer

I knew, whatever it was, it would know if I was asleep or pretending but that part did not matter as much as me not looking at it. Either the magic would be broken forever or I would be scared by the sheer power of the thing that approached.

Closer and closer it came and the vibration sound became stronger and louder. I knew it wasn't a monster or I would have hidden under the covers. The sound that came to me felt protective and wise but scary powerful.

Bummm Bummmp

It was in the room now. I felt warmed by the presence...not a heat type of warm but a comforting type.

Everyone in the house was asleep of this I am sure.

The presence lingered for a minute maybe more then it retreated from me into the night.

BUMMM BUMMMP

Bumm Bummp

bumm bummp

until it was gone.....

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnDgABQphHv6a67LA.png

I have never told anyone about this event before. I knew even as a youngin that people would think I was weird or crazy for mentioning this. It happened a handful of times growing up and as the sound receded I always felt blessed in some way for the visit. I always fell right asleep afterward.

I was getting older maybe 12 or 13 when kids start losing the magic in them and start disbelieving in unseen things. It had been many years since I had been visited (or that I knew of anyway). One night my mind was racing and I could not fall asleep.

Off in the distance, I heard the familiar Bummm Bummp. I smiled and closed my eyes.

EEEoA8oLaAxsTkPYAARp78o5cJA1o6Chv9x98TzCFT6v5G1gPZjvFohjv5NP93wC5ff3Uvm4kDdCQ7hUqCiAYr5xwkFrFgdKfSJ81TaVi3gXdSfrPVUuymhzDwSQwnKppajReA923iMV7aH7y5pnz.png

Art by: @loliboofae

This was written in response to @mariannewest freewrite prompt "the sound moved farther away from him".

@veryspider
@freewritehouse
@dreemsteem
@saffisara
@thesilverdoll

Sort:  

You were watching the Monsters Inc Movie Marathon wern't you?
"Pssst Sully, there's a sock on your back."

No my friend this was a century and change before there was a monsters inc. Lol i love the way you look at things

Thank you naltedtirt! You've just received an upvote of 70% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

@naltedtirt I believe you have an angel watching over you, that is why you do not fear it. You are blessed. very good free write.

Yes maam, I believe the same. When I was younger for sure. If now I do not hear it but it may very well be there.

@naltedtirt one of my granddaughters could see colors around people when she was younger, at the age of 12 or 13 she did not see it anymore. She would say to me, grandma that is a bad man or that man is nice by the color around them. Somehow she knew what the colors meant. I asked her what color was around me and she said blue because you are good. So I totally believe in children having a second sense, if that is what it is called. I just remembered she called it her power eye, I do not know why she called it that.

That is a great story.
I believe it entirely.
I have a story to share with you about angels.

@naltedtirt please do tell. My Mother says she has seen an angel. She met a woman on the side of the road by her house and gave her some food and a little money she went back to her house, she looked back and the woman was gone.

I will write a post about it tomorrow?


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so very much!!!

Love your story completely. As children it is easier to perceive the love of God, because we are innocent and have a willing heart.

If we pray as adults we can feel that presence again, even for a few moments.

I agree with you completely. Prayer is powerful

Hi @naltedtirt, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @priyanarc!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

This post has been selected for curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

I do this post each week and choose some of the best under-rewarded content I can find on the blockchain. You might be featured next! Help me give you GREAT rewards, make sure you post with the #palnet tag or use the PALnet.io front end. If you do, you'll earn PALcoin AND Steem from @msp-curation, and will probably hit trending on PALnet.io. What are you waiting for? Get creating!

Thank you so very much!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61