Gentle Look (An original short story)

in #fiction6 years ago

"Cute, but not my type!" This evil definition, which had been branded to me by a popular girl, haunted me through high school and college. And although later in life many women didn't find me cute, I never met one whose type I actually was. Don't take me wrong, I did all right, but ifs and buts were always attached.

My wife? I wasn't her type at all. She married me because I was a good person, had a bright future, was pretty good in bed (she even expressed it in more flattering terms) and, honestly, because it was the right time for her to get married. We had a decent life together for a while but then she met a man who was actually her type and..., well I don't blame her too much, in fact, I understand her if you know what I mean. So, I was going to settle into my life path until SHE came along.

She was a receptionist in the company I flew to for a couple of weeks of consulting work. I approached her with the request to page my contact person, and there it was - she looked at me. What color were her eyes? I guess they were brown if noticing the color made it any more descriptive.

source

I love it when single's ads say, "I am 135 lb., 5'7", brown hair, brown eyes, I love to have fun and travel." There are millions of women with brown hair and brown eyes who love those things. How does that help to describe her shade of brown? How does it explain what her look did to me?

It went right through me, making an incision in the layer of my protective cynicism, like an oyster knife thrust between shells of the mollusk. But this penetration wasn't painful. I felt her touching my head, my heart, my stomach, and yes, she did touch me there too, and yes, it was very pleasant. I experienced such a meltdown I couldn't even think straight.

I made a banal comment about her working here when she could have been an actress. She told me I was silly, she was a biology major and work here only temporary while planning to make a career in a company like this one doing some blood-related research. She was quite knowledgeable on the subject, which I was completely unfamiliar with; i didn't even know my own blood type. Presumably, I was saying something funny or stupid because she kept smiling and looking into my eyes, and I kept melting.

My contact had already arrived and I went along to get familiar with the system I was supposed to work on.  But her eyes followed me through database schemas, tables, and stored procedures; they looked at me during meetings, overlaying the eyes of other people.

***

My time with this company was surreal. On one side, the workdays were usual, filled with phone calls, meetings, going through labyrinths of spaghetti code, arguments, deadlines, and demonstrations. On the other hand, there was the constant presence of her look, above, below, behind, and all over me. We’ve met several times every day. I made sure that happened. And each time, I couldn't remember what we said, for words didn't matter. They were only particles of the dotted line that connected our auras.

I constantly argued with myself. One part of me, the voice of reason, said, "You're an old fool. What are you doing? She is at least twenty years your junior. And even if we were the same age, she’s not cut out for you.  Where do you think it's going to get you?"

Another part, the child who never got the candy was saying: "She is the ONE, given by God or Providence. She is the part that cracked away from your mold when it was thrown into the boiler of destiny. She is the one whose type you are." Neither one was able to pin down the other. So it was decided to do nothing proactive and just accept destiny.

***

As the week came to an end, so did my participation with this company. At five o'clock on Friday, I stopped by the front desk to talk to her for the last time.

"Is it really your last day, Mr. Ross?"

"Yes."

"I bet you miss your family."

"Not really. I don't have any family. Not anyone close anyway. Not someone who'd miss me."

"So you're flying home today?"

"No, tomorrow."

"Really? And where are you staying?"

I told her the name of the hotel.

"I've heard so much about it," she said, looking straight into my eyes with a meaning that I couldn't interpret.

"I am not sure?" I confessed. "It's a nice hotel, but I wouldn't say it's anything special."

"Which side does your window look out on?"

"Eastern"

"Which floor? I just want to know if you have a nice view."

"Twelve."

"So you can see a lot of the city."

"Yes, I guess I can, huh."

And then she asked it. "What is your room number?"

I told her. And we kept on looking at each other for a long time. I was trying to think of some pretext to ask her out, but my wits had left me. All I could do was to say goodbye and leave.

***

I was lying down on my bed, frustrated and blaming myself for being indecisive, when I heard a light knock on the door. Thinking that it was room service, I opened it and then gasped for air. It was she. She looked at me and broke into laughter.

"You're such an idiot!" she said, between the gusts.  "At least, you could have pretended your hotel was something special, let me save the face."

I couldn't believe this was actually happening. I felt like a boy who had just gotten lots and lots of presents.

***

I felt light-headed and sleepy; so sleepy everything that followed seemed half-real. She came out of the bathroom walking lightly and quickly as if sliding through the air, then, jumped on the bed, sat on top of me. At that moment, I was surprised to notice that the color of her eyes seemed changed. They sparkled in the dim of the room like Christman LEDs. She bent towards my neck as if to kiss it. Instead, she poked my neck in two places.

source

It wasn't very painful. I felt as if a very experienced nurse was handling my case, doing her job as well as it could be done. At that moment, I understood the nature of my young and beautiful soul mate, but I didn't resist. I didn't mind what she was doing, at least, not at the moment. I knew there was no such thing as a free lunch and a moment of happiness is worth a lot. This was the way I paid back in currency that she accepted.

Suddenly, her body shook with revulsion. She rose away from me, sprung up and landed on the floor standing upright. A bit of pink that was left after her tongue licked the edge of her upper lip could have been applied with an artist's brush. 

"Cute," she looked at me very gently and condescendingly, "very cute indeed, just not my blood type."

 

 

 

Sort:  

Good

Thank you!

Oh no, hell no! I cant believe the ending! Unbelievable, the luck of this damn guy. Very nice story!

Thank you! Glad you liked it. :)

The story is very touched friend, did not feel my tears fell to hear his wife's story mgaft1

Thank you! I am glad you liked it.

In this materialistic world the face is the real reflector and sometimes in life some faces can become so special for us no matter they are known or unknown and we always tend to admire and we explore their facial expression which tells new story in every moment and we try to read those expressive expressions with our own perception.

No matter what, in life love is important and the next thing is love can born any time with anyone because we don't know how do define love for someone attraction and infatuation is love and for some true understanding is love, but no one can give definite explanation of love and every individual have their own unique explanation for love.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Hi,

I have some more questions based on your answers...


  1. Why do you think taking a responsibility should be a willful act? Let’s say you work for a marketing company. Your boss comes to your desk and says:
    “You need to handle this or that account. Get familiar with the project and start doing it.”
    Do you feel that rather than waiting for your boss to assign you a project you should come to his office and tell him what you, which project you need to do?
    Or imagine you are an investigator. Your boss assigns you to investigate a murder case that happened in some slum sector of the town. You tell him “Boss, I don’t want that. Please give me the high profile case in the uptown.”
  2. My guess is that you are inconsistent because you didn’t like what you were doing. I bet you once you find something that you will really like to do, you will do it very consistently. Thus, my question is… what do you really like to do?
    Did you read the book “Catcher in the rye”? If you did, what do you think about the character and would you be interested in doing something similar?
    Did you ever want to become a preacher?
  3. Let me ask you a question. Let’s say you are working in a company and next to you works a guy by the name Steve. Your boss approaches you and tells you “Listen, we will fire Steve on Friday. But don’t tell anyone about it. Especially, don’t tell Steve. We feel he can be dangerous as he can plant a bomb in the building.”
    Would you tell Steve?
  4. Let’s say your girlfriend betrayed you. You caught her in bed with another guy. In anger you tell her to get lost. But you loved her and keep thinking about her and miss her. In 6 months, she comes back and begs you to take her back, as she realized over this time that she didn’t love another guy, but only loved you. Would you take her back?

Thank you for more questions, you will see my reply anytime under 24 hours from point of this reply. Stay blessed. 🙂

  1. For your first question i want say that, i will add here one spiritual aspect and that is, it's not about the work load, i always enjoy doing work and new challenges because that expand my life but, for example, A and B are my work and i will take the responsibility but if somebody gives me work C, D and E with complete responsibility then it's an issue for me because i always hear my inner self and i faced some situations like for example, i am doing work A, B, C, D and E with complete responsibility. But the case is, all these work and responsibilities went like chain means one after one and my inner self guided me that you are becoming slave. So it's not about the comfortable work, instead in my whole life I've never done any work comfortably because most of the life I've lived an isolated life so in all work i got the panic attacks but i never ran away, i faced every stage, every humiliation and step by step I've went towards growth, growth in aspect of my satisfaction level. So my innerself feel the suppression when i get multiple responsibility and as per my analysis I want to explain this concept in simple words. When it's come to work, then i cannot betray my work and at least twice a week i take 2 hours sleep and approx 20 hours spend my time on work to accomplish it, so in my opinion it's not about me it's about my innerself, means the greater self of mine is advising me that you are becoming slave of the particular work and my inner self never interrupt me but when it do then that always create great battle of thoughts in life and whenever i took the side of inner self I've always got the peace in life.

  2. Good to hear that, means you correctly analysed about my inconsistency, i am not inconsistent with actions and doings of work, but i am inconsistent with particular work. And no matter what i always follow my inner self because literally speaking, it's an battle of my choice and the true destination of my life, for example, in my journey i walked for many paths means, initially i started as an Footballer and also joined the Club but I've leaved the path of professional way because there is something which always guided me not to continue which for that moment i didn't understand but after every few years i got the hints for the change of last path, so i wanted to become the army man, i wanted to become the professional cricketer and played cricket for around 8 years along with Athletics, i played athletics for around 15 years collectively in all levels, and so on. But I've never got the path for my soul and i cannot throw myself where my soul is not fitting and i never follow the high materialistic life means, for me simple is greatness and less is more. No, i am not an preacher and i will not be because whatever i say, those words are for me, for example, if i say spread love and spread kindness, i am saying it over and over because i want to follow it, means whatever i do i want to motivate myself and if in that path if anybody finds 1 percentage of positive then it will inturn motivate me to continue what i am doing. So, i am not an preacher and i will not preach but if anyone thinks that my words are giving one percent of value, then i will continue that.

  3. If manager is coming to me and saying that they will fire Steve and he is making sure that i am not sharing this news with Steve. First of all, in this scenario it's reflects as manager is talking about the future perception means, if they fire Steve and if Steve get to know that then he could commit something serious, so here the point of firing Steve is not clear means, manager just shared the news of firing Steve and future perspective means what action possibly Steve can take, and if Steve will be fired because he is involved in some seriously criminal activities then there is no point of communication by manager with with me or any other individual because that would be related to security aspect and in this matter, the Company Security Personnel's, Senior Human Resource Managers, Local Security Personnel's and defence officials will look into it if it's related to something serious criminal activities. But in this case manager came to me and he told me one aspect without telling the complete story and also saying me to keep those words secretly. If Steve is my colleague then i will not approach him directly about the subject in question mark, instead i will or with our group of colleagues will have an conversation with him and then we will try to analyse if everything is sounding good from side of Steve because if something seriously wrong then the person never stay the same so at least we will approach him for the different topic to analyse his body language because at last he is our colleague and at least we want to understand him before judging him.

  4. As i said early i cannot forget the betrayal or cheating, so if my girlfriend in question mark cheats me then i can forgive her as an human being but i cannot give the same position to her ever because for me love is more spiritual aspect and if my spirituality got hurt then that will give pain to my soul, so as an human being i will forgive her but as an soul mate she will lose her position, because it's not about the forgiveness, it's about the concept of love which i follow and for me love is spirituality.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

You've kind of avoided answering the 3rd questions, but this is important and I will restate it. You cannot discuss the intent with your coworkers. If you will do this you will be fired yourself. It's a matter of loyalty preference. Will you be more loyal to a company and be silent about it or you will consider this act of hiding your knowledge as betrayal and will tell Steve, so he could undertake some protection measures, for example, look for another job.

Oh. don't worry I won't use this case in my description. I just need to understand better your reaction and motivation.

For that first of all i want to know one thing why Steve is going fired up because in this question i can see an presumption of future means, what Steve will do if he got to know the news of firing him from the job but i am not clear what Steve have done and why he is going to fired up from his job. If i would know why Steve going to be fired up then i can give straight answer but hear actually i don't know what's the case that's why i said if it's related to Serious Crime then for sure at first place it should not come to any employee until he is the right person to be contacted, so in this case as per hierarchy will go to all personnel's which mentioned above. But, Steve is my colleague so i will approach him in a casual way to understand his state of mind and in my opinion there is no question of betrayal from my side because i got an sensitive information which is unclear to me so i cannot take any drastic steps because i don't know what Steve have committed and why Company is firing him and why the manager is presuming such an actions from the Steve. So, neither i am sharing the information which is shared by the manager and nor i am betraying anyone, as an colleague i will understand the state of mind of person and will analyse the actions. If you want more clarity in this then i want to know what Steve have done so that company is taking this action. Thank you. 🙂

You don't know why. Your boss is not telling you this. It's company's secret that you need to keep for one week. This, by the way, isn't something hypothetical, Things like this happen.

It might happen at a meeting. Your boss will tell you. "Take this assignment. It used to be Steve's but Steve will be gone on Friday. But you don't know it, all right! You understand what I mean?"

"Sure, sir, but what did Steve do? Why is he getting fired?"

"You are asking too many questions, pal. Just be silent. GOT IT? Am I making myself clear?"

:)

Then i am ready with my answer, i got the hint that it's related to something really serious and related to criminal activity so i will not approach Steve and in my opinion it's not betrayal because I've never hold any responsibility of actions of others and if i will say one thing and do one thing behind the scenes then that is cheating and betrayal, so it's an sensitive case so i will not approach Steve. 🙂

Cool. I got it. Or it could be a simple layoff. In the company they afraid that he could for example to destroy some company's equipment or a software or data. Once man simply took a shit in a company's elevator.

Thank you, my friend. This is the story about a not very lucky in love guy. Even a vampire didn't want to drink his blood because it was of the wrong type. :)

By the way, I'd like to interview you sometime. Are you up for a challenge?

Stay blessed!

I am up but in which form, means you are saying like podcast or what?

I am up but in
Which form, means you are saying
Like podcast or what?

                 - chireerocks


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

While cute, this @haikubot comment is considered to be spam, harms the blockchain, and is the reason why we will soon have to pay for comments like this with Resource Credits. The servers that maintain the blockchain are extremely expensive because of comments like this seeking low effort upvotes, so please do not reward this behavior.

Please consider using this link to give a small downvote of 15% or so to discourage these comments.

Any bot like this should respect the community by providing a whitelist to prevent the post in the first place and then provide a way to delete the comment for those who find this intrusive.

Sorry to barge in... but whom are you going to downvote?

I apologize, my comment was replying to @haikubot and does not reflect on your account in any way!

No problem, pal.

I will send you some questions and would want you to answer them. Then based on them I will write a little essay about you and you will tell me how true my estimate or not.

I am up for it. Thanks for your consideration and stay blessed. 🙂

Here they are...

  1. What is your main character trait?
  2. What character trait you don't like in yourself the most?
  3. What is your main weakness?
  4. What character trait you don't like in others the most?
  5. What virtue do you value the most?
  6. What virtue do you value in man the most?
  7. What virtue do you value in woman the most?
  8. What character defect you can for forgive the easiest?
  9. What character defect you never forgive?
  10. What do you regret the most?
  11. What is your main achievement?
  12. When do you lie?
  13. Where and when were you the happiest in your life?
  14. If you could change something one in yourself what would it be?
  15. What is your favorite occupation (What do you like to do the most)?
  16. Out of what belongs to you what is the most valuable for you?
  17. If devil would offer you eternal life would you take it?
  18. When you will come in front of God what would you tell him?

Great, you will get my response in 24 hours or under from this point of reply. Thank you so much for these questions. 🙂

Great! No Rush. This will be the beginning. Together with these answers and studying your channel I will write the artickle. :)

Loading...

I'd like to ask for your email address because I'd like to send you the write up before I post it here. Just to make sure you like it yourself before other people will see it. Maybe we'd have to change something.

Ok, I send you the write-up. Cheers!

Just read that and those are really moving words. Thank you so much and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

I hope your parents will be happy for you. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32