Nunca Te Olvidare -- FICTION (An Original Story)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)
Image Source


I met Jamie at a local coffee shop where I usually go before heading home after work. It all started with occasional nods that turned to smiles until eventually, we started sharing tables.


He was always quiet, always lost in deep thought. I always wanted to know what he was thinking of. 


I felt like I needed to know what he was thinking of.


Days and months went by, I grew a little attached to him. I never knew where he lived or where he came from. All I know is that he has become an integral part of my somewhat boring existence. We didn't talk much, we just spent the afternoons sitting there, staring at the nothingness. 


He held on to his cup. I held on to him.


I think we spoke through our silence. It's a kind of understanding that didn't need words. 

I felt it. We both felt it, I guess.


Until one day, he didn't show up.


I went on with our usual routine, although it felt different. I sat across an empty chair, staring at nothing. 


Holding on to nothing.


He showed up a few weeks later in the same spot where I first saw him, right where we spent countless afternoons together. His smile was different, I smiled back anyway.


We did the same thing, though it felt a little weird. He was staring at me, as if I was that void space he was admiring before.


I got up and excused myself. He got up and offered to walk me home.


When we reached my door, he sighed and held my hand.

He was cold. I didn't mind.


"Honey, I won't be able to look after you anymore."


I looked at him in confusion.


"I know you won't understand what I'm saying. And believe me, I never wanted to put you through this."


His voice cracked as if a sob was trying to escape from his throat. I could only stare at him.


"Listen," he whispered as he held my face with both hands, "You may not remember me, but please remember that I love you. I have always loved you. And I will never forget you... Nunca te olvidaré."


As he whispered the last words, I felt a numbing pain in my head.  Jamie vanished before my eyes, just as memories started to flash in the back of my mind. 


Crawling to see the light.

Pleading to be set free.

Asking me to remember.


Memories of me and Jamie from a long time ago. When we were younger, when we got married...


How could I even forget?


I slumped on the floor, screaming in pain. Pain that I could no longer recognize because of the overwhelming fact that I have lost my husband.


"Nunca te olvidaré."


My own voice echoed in my mind. Repeatedly.


Mocking me.

Haunting me.

Until now --


now that it's too late to remember.



Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the emotional piece, and I like the photo that you have choosen. Nice balance of colors.

Thanks for dropping by! :)

@ering has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lalaii (lyxng) 😘👌 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77