A Fiction // Flash Fiction// Short Story // 250 Words

in #fiction7 years ago

A Fiction

He told his wife he had quit smoking--one fiction among many--and when she knew that he hadn't she merely kept quiet about it, though he could tell that she sensed it, even if she could not always smell it. He told his children this, too, or at least that he was trying, when he would come back inside from the house and he smelled of it, their little faces wrinkling, noses twitching, exaggerated sneezing. But it was clinging to him, this time worse than before, worse than the other times that he had quit.
Ashtrayfull
The guilt made him feel ashamed. After he smoked, he would go to his room, stay away from the children and his wife. He didn't want to be around them, didn't want to disappoint them. But it wasn't just about smoking. It was about something else, something deep inside of him that ached when he was around them, especially his wife, whom he had grown more and more distant from. The fact that she couldn't stand his smell only hastened the movement away. But in many ways it made it easier, for her and for him. At least there was a reason for the distance.

Later that night in their bed, he told his wife that things felt different.

“Did you expect them to always feel the same?” She asked.

“I don’t know what I expected,” he said.

“Different is okay,” She said. “I never expected things to stay the same.”

Sort:  

This post recieved a vote from @minnowpond. For more information click https://steemit.com/steemit/@minnowpond/boost-your-rewards-with-minnowpond

Hey this is great, really well written. Definitely feels like it's going somewhere. Believable situation, people finding reasons to distance themselves, esp in a marriage. Would love to read more.

Thanks, I hadn't considered it for a longer piece, but I will consider it.

I can relate to this as a former smoker. My ex and I quit on agreement and o discovered he was sneaking out for a smoke. I then began smoking in my room with a window open, but neither of us fooled the children. Nice flash fiction.

Hard habit to break. I have been vaping some, which helps a bit, but not much. Thanks for the comment.

So accurate, I've been trying to quit for months, my family thinks I have, but it's just too hard. Awesome post, followed you! Please follow back!

One of the most challenging vices I've wrestled with. Good luck to you.

Thanks! Good luck to you!

This post has received a 4.25 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lilrut. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87