The Regent's Maid. (A 2 sided story Part 3 )

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Part 1

Part 2

The Regent looked over the banister down into the hive of activity in the hall below. “Are they all safely within the castle?”

Rose checked her tablet and nodded. “The last villager arrived about 20 minutes ago.” Rose smiled. “I love when we have these lock downs. “ She met the Regent gaze. “Ainsley has even supplied some fresh meat for the feast. It’s going to be a fabulous party all the villagers are very excited for the honour to be invited to stay with you.” The Regent nodded, but didn’t share her maids jubilation.

“Are all the clan now housed in the old part of the castle?”

Rose’s smile widened as she remembered how reluctantly the vampires had given up their central heated bedrooms and moved to the draughty fire lit suites. “Yes and safely sleeping waiting for sunset… wait one is missing.” Rose fanatically started swiping through the data on her tablet.

“Moon...” The Regent whispered. “… Moon is the one missing.” Rose nodded.

“It appears she gone off to warn her werewolf friend not to cross your lands.” The Regents hand tightened around the rail the wood began to splinter under the rage within her grip.

“Am I so unapproachable, that my clan can’t ask me for leniency? “She looked across at Rose. “The danger this werewolf faces is not trespassing on my lands, it the wolves of the south land’s he needs to avoid.” The Regent released her grip on the wood and brushed the sawdust off her palms upon her skirt. 

Rose tried to ease her Regents temper. “She does not know of your past my Regent, I am sure if she knew of your tolerance towards her friends kind, she would have come to you.”  The Regent nodded.

“Maybe, you are right.” The Regent close her eyes and opened up a connection within her mind.

“My love I need to ask for your aid and your mercy. There is a young werewolf, comrade of one of my descendants; I fear he will soon wonder into forbidden territories. Please could you intercept him and guide him through the minefield of treaties.” 

There was silence for a moment and then the smooth heavily accent of her husband came through. 

“I will intercept, and then consider if I wish to be lenient and offer my aid. That is the best I can offer at this point, I do find these new blood forget their manners and you know how disrespect enrages me.” 

“Thank you… I think.”

The Regent opened her eyes. “How is he, still as grumpy as ever?” Rose muttered through a smirk.

Dawn didn’t arrive that day; night seemed not to want to leave the Scottish valley. In dawns absence a storm began to rise. Thunder clouds, dense and black rolled across the sky. While the humans began to settle into their new lodgings, safe and warm from the storm outside the other half of the household were getting ready to brave the storms wrath.

In the north tower the Regent sat alone, calling upon her ancestors for the power to keep the storm raging throughout the daylight hours. As the power flowed up her spine a smile crept across her lips. She raised a hand to the heavens and then snapped it down against her thigh. At her command a bolt of lightning came crashing to earth from the blackened sky and striking a tree setting it upon fire. 

She opened her eyes and gazed with glee at the glowing silhouette of the burning oak. She opened the window and called out a crossed the valley, her voice rumbling with the same power and force of the thunder within the veils above. “These lands belong to The House Of Letalis, all who trespass will be slaughtered. The sun will not be your alley this day and will not return until we have slain you all.” She then turned and swinging her sword across her back but before running down to meet the rest the hunting party she stopped at her daughter’s room.

Suzanne was just packing the last of her clothes for her trip. Suzanne was surprise to see her mother dressed from head to toe in leather. The Regent saw her surprise and answered.
“If it was practical to wear velvet I would, but alas it is not, so I had to concede.” The Regent smiled and Suzanne saw an uncharacteristic sparkle within her mother’s eye.
“Afraid my dear you will have to delay your journey by a day, seems a very nasty storm has moved in.” She extended her hand to her daughter. “It seem one shall go to the hunt after all.” She winked at her daughter and pulled her down the staircase to join the rest of the hunting party who were waiting in the great hall.

She held her sword above her head and shout. “Let the hunt begin.” 



This is just a part of a little short story I wrote, when I wondered how my character Darla from my book series The Letalis Chronicles  would adapt to the modern world.

I decided that although she would have accepted the new world and sometime embraced technology when it served her agenda. When you are a vampire who has lived for many centuries, maybe a certain era held a special fondness, which feels more comfortable. 

So I explored the idea of her living in a little pocket of the past and her annoyance of when the modern world tries to drag her away from it.

This is just a part of a little short story I wrote, when I wondered how my character Darla from my book series The Letalis Chronicles  would adapt to the modern world.

 


Sort:  

Just for fun.

This is an invitation to other writers to join in. A story is always better if you get the other side of it.
So maybe you are you a member of The Regent's annoying vampire clan. Why have you brought this trouble to your Queen's door?
Or are you one of the slayers who have broken the pact and now crossed over into forbidden land. Who within the Regent's walls has wronged you, that you would risk death to hunt down?
Or are you just someone else...

If you would like to join in, here is how it works.
Write your side of the story on your own blog, include the link to my stories and leave the link to yours in the comments below.
Include 'A 2 sided story' in your title and use the tag 'a-2sidedstory'. That way all the stories will be kept together.
If you like someone else's addition continue on from theirs. ( add their link to your story and leave the link to your in their comments)
My hope the story will grow like a tree. It may end up going in many different directions and we might end up writing parallel stories. That is actually interesting and exciting. (Sliding Doors).
Anyway have fun and look forward to reading your 'side' of the story.

My small contribution, I thought that it might be nice to look at the little people that make up wallpaper of the story.
https://steemit.com/a-2sidedstory/@scottish01/the-regents-maid-a-2-sided-story

@kathieletalis, great idea I've been busy for the last few weeks, proud father of baby Freddie James :-)

I might have a shot of doing a small story later today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52