The Love Of Writing

in #fiction7 years ago

fountain-pen-on-papersmall.jpg


About 7 years ago I started to write a story. The genre of the story was Vampire/Romance. I have always loved the romantic idea of vampires and the story just flowed.

 At the start it was just a hobby; something to pass the hour while my kids were asleep in bed and my husband was away.  

However as the months turned into years and this 'hobby' was now 100's of pages long, I decided I needed to take a leap of faith in myself and see if it was good enough to publish. 

After a number of rejection letters from some big publishing houses I decided to self-publish through Amazon, get the story out there.

Those years writing while my children slept, turned into a Trilogy. I am proud of the books, although since then I feel my writing style has changed and improved, they still stand in their own right as a cracking story. 

The books really are the love story and life journey of Darla Letalis, her story is now documented. It's published on Amazon and seems legally that is where they have to stay.

 However along her journey she met some rather interesting characters and I have written about them. It is their story I plan to share here. I have already started sharing Ben and Darcy's tale. Start Part 1 Part 2 Part 3

The Trilogy is the roots of my fictional world and these other stories are the branches. )

Some are novella others are just short stories. I plan to share them with you and I hope you will enjoy them as much as I did creating them. 

I am also at the moment writing my next novel, a historical supernatural romance. Which combines English history with my love of wolves. Once finish I plan to try again at getting published by a big publishing house. But if again I get no joy I am sure I will also share that tale with you here in a few years time. 

Telling stories has always been a passion of mine. As I child my dyslexia was a double edged sword. With one edge it gave me an amazing imagination that created fantastic games to play with my friends in the school yard. Yet when I tried to put pen to paper I ended up giving up before, I had even written a page. 

The age of computers has been a god send and now the magic spellcheck helps me get passed those annoying words that would normally have stumped me. Now my imagination flows onto the screen, faster than my fingers can move. I still make errors in my writing, silly things like missing words out or getting the tense wrong. It's not because I am stupid or illiterate, it just because I am dyslexic. 

But I refuse to let that hold me back, writing is now my love and if I could make a career of it I would be very happy. After only a week here on Steemit I am optimistic, that I have finally found my window to shine through and make my dream reality. Yes it might not be beautifully edited and a bit raw in places, but I hope you will be forgiving and enjoy the stories. 



Thank you for reading this and hope you will enjoy following me and entering into my fictional world.

Kathie xxx

Sort:  

You sound like a very interesting person. I am new to steemit and have found steemers to be very warm and welcoming. Good luck with your writing carrer.

I have only been here just over a week and agree, everyone seems very kind. :)

Best of luck Kathie! This is exactly the type of creativity we need here on Steemit! Show the community what you can do and you will for sure be rewarded. Just resteemed as well. :)
Please follow my curation trail!

Thank you for that :) Following.

Congratulations on the self publishing, that is a very big milestone! I look forward to more posts, it is great to see more writers on here.

Welcome on Steemit, Kathie! Looking forward to reading your stories and articles :)

Just checked your blog. Seems you have taken some interesting/beautiful photos. Following :)

Love your posts Kathie ...(waves)... its me Donna finally got made it!.... I really enjoy the tag team story writing we do to get out creative juices flowing looking forward to doing more don't know if we can do that on here given how its set up or not... I have posted a few small writings when you get a chance check them out ... hugs!...Donna

I love writing too. Keep up the good work.
You are cordially welcome to the steemit community where you'll connect with many amazing people from all round the world.
Please feel free to check out and follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK

Welcome to Steemit. Wishing you the best of sucess!

Writing for 7 years, man that must be epic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51