Desperate Times, Desperate Measures.

in #fiction4 years ago (edited)






Today we're doing a 3 step freewrite, and my ass is dragging, but I need to knock this one out of the way before someone takes off for a few weeks.

A deal is a deal after all.

So let's take a little trip inside my head, and see what pops in shall we?


Desperate Times, Desperate Measures.

Her Mother knew what she could do. But Karen was not like her Mother. Sheila always had the answers, and knew what to do in any given situation. Karen doubted her Mother would know how to handle this mess.

The first time Karen realized that her daughter was a killer, was the day she died inside.

She was desperate to find answers to her daughter's disease, if that is what it can be called. What kind of label do you attach to a child that kills by sucking the life force out of someone?

Alissa is up to 5 kills, and she is only 11 years old! Karen thought to herself.

How did this become her reality? She knew deep down what was going on, but didn't want to face the ugly truth. Her husband Gary is no help in this situation, he goes out and drinks at the bars until the sun comes up, and then comes home to crash and burn. Talk about wedded bliss.

When Alissa killed that first time, it was a shock to all. The playground was filled with spectators that had a hard time holding their mouths shut, when they saw what happened. Alissa grabbed the boy by the neck and locked eyes with him, drawing this blue mist from him, that can only be described as a kind of swirling electricity.

It only took a few seconds for him to die.

Karen grabbed Allisa by the arm and started running to the car, making a quick escape. She did not know what to do, as she tried to calm her down. She decided on running, and she convinced Gary and Alissa that this was the best option.

Gary was not pleased with the situation at all. This wasn't even his kid after all, so why should he care?

There were too many compromises to be made. He even had to change his name and Gary hated that. They had to pretend to be another family, and a happy family at that.

"This is a royal pain in the ass Karen. Something has got to give. She's not even mine!" Gary shouted with his usual nasty attitude.

"You agreed to be her father since before she was born. And now you want to cut and run?"

"I don't think so!" Karen stated with absolute authority.

"What the hell Karen. This child is an abomination to human kind. Who exactly is the father?"

"I don't know who the father is Gary. You keep asking me that like the answer is going to change."

"I became pregnant right before we met, and you know the rest. And don't even begin to question me on this Gary! Or... you can just leave, and then explain to the cops what the hell happened when they catch up with you."

This is an impossible situation, and how the hell do I get out of this mess? Gary thought to himself, as he tried to use his limited imagination for a solution.

Gary suddenly began to smell the sweet scent of tangerines, and he knew what that meant! Alissa is up to her tricks again.

"What the hell is happening to me?" Gary shouted, as he began to fall to the ground.

Alissa locked eyes with him, and she began to draw the life force out of him. He could see the faint blue glow and he knew he was toast.

"Oh well, I'm glad this ride is over for me... so have fun... bitches!"

Those were the last words Gary ever spoke.

"What the hell Alissa! What were you thinking? We needed Gary to at least try to earn a living for us, while we are on the run. This is not good."

"Now we gotta get rid of the body!" Karen shouted, with a look of horror on her face.

"I'm sorry Mom. I just got tired of listening to him say he was not my father, and he could care less. He didn't love me at all."

"Sometimes I just can't help myself when I feel that way. I don't know how to control it! I don't want to be this way!" Alissa screamed, with tears in her eyes.

"Okay, okay! Let's take a minute and get back to reality here. We gotta take care of business, and take care of Gary. Then we need to head south, maybe to Mexico. How does the beach sound baby?" Karen asked, trying to hide her true feelings.

"Okay... but will you promise to find out why I am like this? I can't live like this anymore!"

I hope to find a solution soon, before I have to tell Alissa the truth! Karen thought to herself, as she looked at Gary with slight smile on her face.

Karen was oblivious to the future that awaits her.


That's my fifteen minutes worth... I hope you enjoyed this freewrite, catch ya on the next one. Have an awesome day. :D

Weekend Prompt - The 1st Sentence - Click Here For Info
Original Image Link
Sort:  

What??????? You have to tell us more!! Now!!!!! 😂

:D Yeah sorry bout that, I ran out of time. I will bolo for a choice freewrite to perhaps continue it down the line. Thanks!

you CAN NOT stop the story there :'(

They may make a return in the future. ;-) Glad you liked it!

@inthenow what happened? I need to know. lol You left me hanging. Good story, wish it was longer.

Thank you. :D That shall remain a mystery to us all for the time being. Why I ended it with a cliff hanger. Have a great evening.

Should almost add this to the micro fiction bit they doin. Great start to what could be quite the gripping take man.

Thanks! :D I will def have to check that out and see wassup. :-)

Nice Topic. Carry on man.

Thanks! Have a great evening. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared, appreciate it! :D Have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89